Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
PB4 1066 Paper Battles
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2019 03:26:15

Fantastic set of figures. A wide range of troop types is included for both the Norman and Saxon armies.

I have previously purchased the ECW and ACW set and was equally impressed by those.

How about some Vikings Mr Billy Bones? Complete the set for a full 1066 campaign!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PB4 1066 Paper Battles
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Late Anglo-Saxon Army
by John B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2015 15:09:55

They are nothing less than an old wargamer's dream. I no longer have time to paint and these beautifully drawn figures in great action poses ARE painted!!! The middle school kids in my wagames' club love the figures. I can't wait for the Normans!!! His ACW and ECW figures are also works of art! Way to go Alec!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Late Anglo-Saxon Army
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Norman Army
by Giorgio G. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2015 10:34:43

It is a good paper minis set. Again it has great colors. But I preferred the previous set ( Late Anglo-Saxon Army ). This contains some "front and rear" errors of previous but in this case also the figures' drawing is worst ( differences of the faces' drawing between the two sets, bodies' drawing of men and horses still like "unfinished blocks" ... ). A good set. But I hope for some improvement for the next ( and last ) set.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Norman Army
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Late Anglo-Saxon Army
by Giorgio G. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2015 01:55:08

Excellent wargaming figures. Colors, very good, makes them even more beautiful. Imho it would be useful to have a single figure option ( for skirmish and RPG ). However, there are some errors between front and back art in a few figures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Late Anglo-Saxon Army
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Late Anglo-Saxon Army
by Bob B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2015 03:13:51

I have been waiting for Billy Bones to produce more sets since buying his ECW figures. These are very good. I have bought sets of individual figures but don't like them for more than skirmish games. These "stands" of figures mean a real wargame can be played with little bother. That the figures are in colour is a huge bonus - I enjoyed ECW figures but they were in black and white - these are much better. Waiting for the opposition. Cost is negligible since you can print as many sheets as you want to make any size and composition you require. Well done Billy Bones -highly recommended



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PB1 ECW Paper Battles
by Philip D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2014 07:06:02

Excellent product! We used these paper miniatures to stage a very large ECW battle at a local con, and it attracted quite a number of spectators. We also won a trophy for the game from the game organizers, exactly because it has a total different visual appeal compared to the standard look of miniature wargames.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PB1 ECW Paper Battles
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

PB2 ECW Scottish Armies
by Bob B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2014 03:50:05

I bought these despite having large (several hundred) 28mm metal and plastic painted figures of the same period. My figures are based for certain rules and I bought these to use with Stephen Danes Bloody Kingdom and possibly Father Tiley rules. These are easy to cut out – I bought individual figures previously but it takes so long to cut out and assemble. These are blocks of figures and since the rules use blocks this is fine. I downloaded the free samples but prefer this set which has back views of the figures. Presently assembling an Irish Army and intend to use it shortly. Good product, very useful and inexpensive. If you wanted to try a set of rules or different period this is the way to do it. Figures can be coloured or printed on different coloured paper. I’m thinking of adding flags but want to get the army assembled rather than stop for individual units. Of course if you don’t like the feel or style after a sample game you have only wasted a few pounds and your time. I hope there are more sets to follow – especially those periods where large blocks of troops were used such as the Wars of the 18th century – Marlborough onwards. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PB2 ECW Scottish Armies
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

PB03 Set 1 Union Infantry Brigade
by Mark B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2013 15:50:26

I use paper minis extensively for wargaming and I have many different products from home drawn to relatively expensive sets. The American Civil War sets from Billy Bones Workshop stack up quite well and all-in-all are a very good product.

First of all the sets are done in a stylized manner that imitates mid-19th century photography and as such are sepia colored. The artist has done some pretty cool work such as giving flags a "blurred" look that imitates the limitations of photos in that period. The soldiers themselves are very detailed and look "authentic." The other benefit of the art style is that the figures do not use much in the way of colored ink, a real money saver for someone who prints a great deal. The only real problems with this stylized format is that on the gaming table it can be hard to distinguish one side from the other and the figures do not mix well with other paper minis. One other small niggle is that on a few of the 40X20 mm figures the "scoring" lines are hard to make out making figure preparation a bit trickier than necessary. To me the negatives do not warrant a deduction in the product rating but for some people they may be more problematic.

The Union Infantry brigade set comes with a wide variety of figure poses as per the product description and meets every need I have for infantry. My favorite part of the set is the ease of preparing the figures (despite the aforementioned scoring line issue). The figures are presented in a rectangular format that is very simple to cut out using scissors. No x-acto knife is necessary except for scoring the bends or "shaping' the figures if you prefer. I generally don't shape these minis because I use the smaller figures and they look good without it. The other big plus for me is the figures are "self-basing" in that all you have to do is score the "ground" part of the mini and fold them out to create a ready made stand. I wish more companies would do paper minis like this... I have cut out enough foam-core to fill up a small room (and getting that stuff to cut perfectly square is nigh on to impossible)...I much prefer the style used by Billy Bones.

The only real issue that I have with the product is a relatively (for me) minor one and that is base size. As sold the minis only come in two base sizes, 60X30 and 40X20mm. I use the 40X20 minis which for the infantry stands comes out to about 1 1/2 inches long and 2/3 of an inch wide whereas the 60X30 is going to be 2"x1". Many of the most popular ACW rules use a 1" long frontage base (notably Fire and Fury and Johnny Reb), so regardless of which basing you use it won't match some rules systems. The manufacturer addresses this issue on his web site and suggests that you simply use bases at a two for one ratio while using the "drummer boy" minis which are about 2/3" frontage to denote odd numbered units. It would also be relatively simple to trim the minis to your desired base size, they are paper after all. I use my own house rules that have flexible basing so it doesn't really affect me.

In the final assessment I am very pleased with these minis and I think the art and presentation are superb. Considering the price you can't really go wrong.

Pros

  • Minis are very well priced
  • Minis are presented in a unique and appealing "stylized" format
  • Minis have a wide variety of poses and troop types
  • Minis are low on ink usage
  • Minis are easy to cut out and are "self-basing"

Cons

  • Only two base sizes without altering the minis (60X30mm and 40X20mm)
  • (For some people) Minis are presented in a unique and appealing "stylized" format
  • On some figures the "scoring" lines are hard to make out


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PB03 Set 1 Union Infantry Brigade
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

PB03 Set 1 Union Infantry Brigade
by Jeff M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2013 16:25:27

I'm using these paper minis for several games. They fit in well with my Command Combat: Civil War rules. I use them especially when I'm on the road and it's hard for me to transport metal or plastic minis, and at conventions, people enjoy them because I'm able to give them the army they played with. I'll have them with me in July when I put on Gettysburg at Historicon. They really do look great as minis.

Oh, and one of the nice things also is that I can alter them, putting in whatever color code I want, writing the names of generals, what units they belong to, etc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Free Basic ACW Scenery
by Roy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2013 13:34:29

I got this download because it was free. I don't do ACW but I thought I might find something useful for wild west scenarios. I printed out one of the snake tree fences (which will make nice, rough and ready corralsfrom materials at hand sorta thing) and one of the stone walls (which can easily be used in a town setting). Both look very good and I will be using them both. Each fence/wall section comes in one of two different sizes so as to allow you to vary the size of your enclosure. A gate piece would have been nice, especially for the stone wall. Even an ACW scenario could use one or two. I didn't print out any of the trees because I already have that type of terrain covered. Definetly worth the price.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Free Basic ACW Scenery
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

PB1 ECW Paper Battles
by Andrew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2013 01:16:42

These are the best paper models I have ever found for wargaming. They work well with warlord games pike and shotte, victory without quarter, father tilly 4 and WECW (the nifty casualty markers mean you don't need figure removal with these two rulesets). You can fit a 1000 figure army into a 1" high A4 box and I have never met a gamer who poo poos them they look better than may painted ECW army. If you have ever wanted to try the thirty years war or the english civil buy this set, a bit of glue and board and you are away.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PB1 ECW Paper Battles
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

US Medium Field Artillery - PB3.31
by John B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2012 20:30:53

The whole line of American Civil War minis are works of art that give a vintage photograph feel to the gaming experience. For the price, it can't be beat!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
US Medium Field Artillery - PB3.31
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

PB2 ECW Scottish Armies
by peter j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2012 09:34:23

I HAVE RAVED ABOUT YOUR EXCELLENT ECW ARMIES BUT THESE SCOTS ARE SOMETHING ELSE! HAVING BACKS TO THEM HAS MADE THE BATTLEFIELD MORE REALISTIC . WELL DONE!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PB2 ECW Scottish Armies
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

PB1 ECW Paper Battles
by peter j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2012 09:28:46

THESE ECW PAPER FIGURES ARE SUPERB - ARMIES PRINTED IN MINUTES - I HAVE PRINTED THEM SMALLER TO ALLOW FOR LARGE BATTLES TO BE FOUGHT AND THE QUALITY OF PRINTING IS STILL THERE. JUST LIKE THE ENGRAVING OF THE BATTLE OF NASEBY. PLUS THE SCENERY AS WELL!.VERY VERY PLEASED. WORTH EVERY PENNY - I' M FROM ENGLAND.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PB1 ECW Paper Battles
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

PB1 ECW Paper Battles
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2011 20:55:04

These paper miniatures are stunning! The illustrations are gorgeous and invoke the feel of the period brilliantly. You really do get a lot for your money, especially when you take into account the ease of construction and the variety of troops included. If you want to play ECW battle inexpensively or just want to create a very striking ECW battlefield tableau then this set is for you. I can't recommend these miniatures highly enough!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates