Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/01/2020 10:28:43

IN CONCLUSION The general tone of the rules took a step back away from hard numbers and explanations and more towards "if it makes sense" or "you'll get the feel of it". I get that this is frustrating for some people. They need hard guidelines for anything that happens in a game. I appreciate that. I totally do not need that, so I appreciate the lean towards "rulings over rules" that the book stops just shy of adopting. The system can support investigative scenarios, tactical minis combat and social maneuvering, with mechanical support for all the above. It's the most diverse Savage Worlds yet. I still think a couple of the choices were oddly limiting given that everything else seemed to be about making the system more heroic, but if I every truly find those things too troublesome, I'll houserule it. Pinnacle has released a number of setting conversion sheets (1-2 pages) for everything that doesn't have a full blown revision planned (Savage Rifts has been revised, and new Deadlands books are coming), but don't stress out: For as much as they changed, it's still remarkably backwards compatible. The BIGGEST thing to watch for with old material is making sure that the skills line up (given that some have been removed/consolidated/so on). Man, I love Savage Worlds. I've never hidden this. I've bought the core rules three times now, this last time going all-in on the Essentials Box. I did that after having access to the PDF of this edition. I fully believe this is the best iteration of Savage Worlds yet, so yeah, I'm gonna give it a glowing endorsement...even more so after using it in play. Big time recommendation. And don't bother holding out. There ain't a $10 version coming, aside from the PDF. Buy now, get to playing.

For my full review, please visit https://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2020/01/tommys-take-on-savage-worlds-adventure.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2019 20:09:17

Great universal gaming system. Simple but versatile.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Expanded Wealth
by Cyril R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2019 17:34:44

As a GM I never liked the D&D feel of counting up every bit of treasure coin. Savage Worlds Wealth System is a great rule to still keep the interesting of fighting for money, without the numbers. However the rules are a bit short and are very abstract to put in place.

Expanded Wealth is a great addition to SWADE. Helps GMs and players to understand what can be bought, what can't, what is a good reward and what is a great one. Also the Lifestyle proposed here is a very nice addition to most settings. Your players can decide to use their treasure to raise their every day comfort.

The document is clear and well presented. Easy to read. Tables are clear. Good stuff!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Expanded Wealth
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Companions & Familiars
by Jan J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2019 06:38:06

A very nice addition to SW rules. A well thought-out subsystem for creating all kinds of beings that help characters. It is aimed at fantasy but is ceratainly usable for other genres as well. The sample characters and companions are cool.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Companions & Familiars
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
by ROBERT T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2019 10:17:01

A great system for any nearly any genre. You will find Savage Worlds Adventure edition is able to take on everything from the gritiest fantasy, to the the most over the top Post Post-Apacolypse settings like Rifts. Savage Worlds can do them all.

The only weakness of the system is to do powerful Super Heroes you will need experience with the system or to purchase the Super Powers Companion.

This is the system I go to by default when looking to translate something from fiction into an RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Companions & Familiars
by ROBERT T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2019 10:12:28

This book is really well done. Not only does it give some great ideas of how to build the companions and familiars. But it also goes on to the next step by offering several examples of companions, many of which I can simply drop into a game as NPCs.

If you are a Savage Worlds player this is an excellent resource.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Companions & Familiars
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Doomtown Reloaded: Revised Rulebook
by Cedric C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/10/2019 00:33:20

This rulebook is available in physical format with the Doomtown: Reloaded "There Comes a Reckoning" expansion. The rulebook is digest-sized and compiles the expansion rules added to the base game. It's all in on place -- almost! Some rules, like Harrowed Dudes, are missing, so you'll need to look them up on the Rules Compendium from the Doomtown Database (or the base game rulebook). The rulebook doesn't have an index, although the Table of Contents includes most of the terminology. If you don't already have this rulebook from the "There Comes a Reckoning" expansion, I would download it and the comprehensive, longer, rulebook from the Doomtown Database. : https://dtdb.co/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Doomtown Reloaded: Revised Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Doomtown Reloaded: RPG Conversion
by Cedric C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/09/2019 20:05:28

The Doomtown "Deadlands RPG Conversion" booklet is a 30-page digest, of fiction, map, and Savage World mechanics for key personalities and relics in Doomtown. It's also available in the dead tree Doomtown: Reloaded card game expansion, There Comes a Reckoning. The booklet's four-page story provides yet another a tantalizing glimpse of the developing Doomtown mythos. The tale suggests the return of the Guardian Angels and a certain Hooded figure, though possibly in a future expansion. My personal favorite of the book is the map, where Gomorra, located south of California's Sacramento, can be spotted. I like how, on the map, it and dozens of other places are small dots referred to as "Strange Locale". In other words, the goings on in Doomtown may not be unique to the city, and similar nightmarish shenanagens may be spread in otherwise overlooked areas throughout the map. The map is yet another hint of the Doomtown mythos of what may be going on. The major personalities of The Fourth Ring, Law Dogs, and Sloane Gang, as well as Drifters and Relics, are statted out. Most of the stats are printed a single page or on facing pages. The background of the personalities and relics provide more looks into the Doomtown mythos, beyond the quotes and flavor text on the cards. For more fiction, just search on "doomtown fiction". Finally, if you want more Doomtown Savage Worlds, pick up the Deadlands Savage World RPG!

The Fourth Ring: Ivor Hawley, Kevin Wainright, The Brute, Bobo, The Harvester, Tyxarglenak, Pagliaccio, Ken Wainwright, The Flying Popescus Law Dogs: Sheriff Dave Montreal, Xiong "Wendy" Cheng, Lucinda "Lucy" Clover The Sloane Gang: Sloane, Barton Everest, Pacho Castillo, Ulysses Marks Drifters: Clmentine Lepp, Genesse "Gina" Tailfeathers, Steven Wiles, Androcles Brokelhurst Relics: Legendary Holster, Tlaloc's Furies, De Annulos Mysteriis

Deadlands RPG : https://www.peginc.com/product-category/deadlands-reloaded/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Doomtown Reloaded: RPG Conversion
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Distant Journeys
by Edward L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2019 00:04:46

Savage Worlds is pretty great and this really helped me understand thetravel rules better! definitely worth getting!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Distant Journeys
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
by Felix B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2019 15:13:22

Savage Worlds is my go to system. I use it for sci-fi, supers, horror, fantasy... The flexibility, ease to learn and playability to me is the best of any system out there. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Deadlands Noir GM Screen Inserts
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2019 14:58:14

Exactly what you need as a GM. All the reference material, charts and tables right at hand to make things easy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Noir GM Screen Inserts
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Player's Guide Explorer's Edition
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2019 14:04:43

I've spent many hours playing in this campaign setting and have enjoyed all of it. The setting highlights the flexibility and best aspects of the Savage Worlds rule set in addition to being a distinct change of pace from the more conventional sword and sorcery RPG setting that are commercially available. Good fun and highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Player's Guide Explorer's Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2019 13:57:49

One of the most flexible game systems available in that it works for about any genre you could want. It's also one of the most affordable and easy to learn. I highly recommend it to new and old role-players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
by Mike D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2019 13:41:21

I bought the original Savage Worlds years ago and have been a fan ever since. This new Adventure Edition has honed what was already a near-perfect game system to a razor sharp game of absolute awesomeness. This is a game that, once you've read or played it, you'll find yourself watching movies or TV or even real-life events and mentally converting it all to Savage Worlds. It a game that is not only FUN, but it makes sense. Whether you're stalking the streets at night in search of a vampire, having a fistfight on the wing of a bi-plane, piloting a starfighter through an asteroid field or whatever else your imagination can come up with, Savage Worlds not only does it but does it incredibly well. Don't be surprised if, after playing in a Savage Worlds game, you suddenly find it not only shooting to the top of your list of favorite games, but becoming your go-to system for gaming in general.

Do yourself a favor and purchase the Savage Worlds Adventure Edition. You will not regret it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fast Lane Hacking
by Mark H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2019 13:33:55

I love this. Running a homebrew cyberpunk game and these rules keep the hacking fast and simple and not require the other players to take a pizza break while the netrun is handled. Some of the big games could take a queue from this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fast Lane Hacking
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 838 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates