Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Shuffler - Modern and Sci-Fi Map Creator
by Jim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2019 00:57:23

Very easy-to-use map maker, though it's more for sci-fi and modern maps than fantasy ones (as the title states). Of course, most map makers focus on fantasy, so it's good to have one that does something else (particularly with cyberpunk games becoming more popular thanks to the hype surrounding CP 2077). Besides the ease of use, what I like about Shuffler is that it's very no-frills and doesn't fuss about with too many things — which is a double-edged sword. On one hand, map sizes are limited. You won't be able to create a sci-fi megadungeon with this (not without a few workarounds). The limit for a single map is 10"x7"; you can join maps together (up to 4 segments) using the program, making the limit 20"x14", but that's the extent of it (again, unless you use workarounds like Photoshop to manually join more map segments). On the other hand, this also means the program is really straightforward and focused. It comes with quite a few tiles that you can use (though lacking in furniture, which you can purchase as addons or import using the paid plugin), and it's just a matter of dragging and dropping.

One thing that bugs me is that the hotkeys are tricky to use, and the program does glitch out at times with objects that refuse to be deleted or resized properly. It's thus important to save regularly. The interface is also extremely obtuse, and trial-and-error is not an option here since it lacks tooltips and info bars. You'll really have to go through the guides (in the program and the accompanying PDF) while experimenting with the hotkeys and buttons to properly understand what they do. Once you overcome this hurdle, however, you'll be able to start creating maps in under 10 minutes.

All that being said, I greatly enjoy the convenience that the program brings to the table, and with the lack of sci-fi maps out there (besides those from regular creators like Heroic Maps, Loke's Battlemats and Paths to Adventure), this program is a godsend. For that, it gets 4.5/5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shuffler - Modern and Sci-Fi Map Creator
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shuffler - Modern and Sci-Fi Map Creator
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2016 19:00:06

This an excellent sc fi/modern map maker. The interface appears daunting until you get stuck in. Then it all falls in to place quite quickly.

Support for the program is excellent. Claudio is a very amiable and helpful chap.

Be aware that if you see a catalogue number on the end of the program files they need to be removed or the program will only half work. Claudio is aware of this but the catalogue number is added by Drive thru. If they don't remove the numbers you must!!

Also, when loading a new map be sure to clear the screen first. If you don't it can get buggy due to old layers still present under the new map. Remember this rule and everything is fine.

Highly recommended.

I would love to see more content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City Map Bundle 01 - 04 [BUNDLE]
by Harland M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2015 04:41:57

I posted a detailed review on my Blog. Please check it out:

https://cloudcraftsite.wordpress.com/2015/09/12/product-review-paper-make-its-city-streets-bundle/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City Map Bundle 01 - 04 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

City Map 04
by Harland M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2015 04:41:48

I posted a detailed review on my Blog. Please check it out:

https://cloudcraftsite.wordpress.com/2015/09/12/product-review-paper-make-its-city-streets-bundle/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
City Map 04
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

City Map 03
by Harland M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2015 04:41:39

I posted a detailed review on my Blog. Please check it out:

https://cloudcraftsite.wordpress.com/2015/09/12/product-review-paper-make-its-city-streets-bundle/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City Map 03
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

City Map 01
by Harland M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2015 04:41:23

I posted a detailed review on my Blog. Please check it out:

https://cloudcraftsite.wordpress.com/2015/09/12/product-review-paper-make-its-city-streets-bundle/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
City Map 01
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

City Map 02
by Harland M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2015 04:41:09

I posted a detailed review on my Blog. Please check it out:

https://cloudcraftsite.wordpress.com/2015/09/12/product-review-paper-make-its-city-streets-bundle/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City Map 02
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Space Base Expanded (1inch Grid)
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2013 17:55:41

A great space themed map. Maybe because I'd already bought the original maps and the space maps bundle I wasn't quite blown away as much as I was with the earlier products. But it's still very good and ideal as a compliment to the original space maps, but great as a stand-alone product too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Base Expanded (1inch Grid)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Space Base (1inch Grid)
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2013 17:53:16

Excellent product for churning out map sections for a space based theme. There are plenty of rooms and corridors, and a nice mix of shapes for a skirmish type shoot-y game. The print quality is very good and the artwork - while a little repetitive once you've identified the main building blocks of the map - is very impressive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Base (1inch Grid)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shuffler - Modern and Sci-Fi Map Creator
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2013 17:49:57

The artwork and basic idea behind this is excellent. I made some really good maps with it and the print-quality is very good: at 300dpi it's not exactly photo quality, but is very good all the same.

For small/basic maps the editor works well, but there are a few bugs and the interface can be a little unresponsive if you make a large map with lots of wall/door sections.

I had issues with large maps - everything looks fine when saved, but when a large map is reloaded, some of the squares are in the wrong places, and wall sections are either in the wrong place or missing.

I liked using Shuffler and I'd consider it again for small interlocking space board sections, but for large, complex maps, it's just too unreliable - and the inability to reload some maps after saving makes it 4/5 instead of five.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shuffler - Modern and Sci-Fi Map Creator
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Space Base + Expansion (1inch Grid) [BUNDLE]
by Carl B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2013 13:35:56

Great Sci-Fi map making tools. I assemble them in MS Paint to create one big poster map. As soon as Paper-Make-It creates pre-assembled poster maps I'll buy every one of em.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Base + Expansion (1inch Grid) [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Space Base Expanded (1inch Grid)
by Carl B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2013 13:35:44

Great Sci-Fi map making tools. I assemble them in MS Paint to create one big poster map. As soon as Paper-Make-It creates pre-assembled poster maps I'll buy every one of em.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Base Expanded (1inch Grid)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Space Base (1inch Grid)
by Carl B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2013 13:34:20

I'm lookin to run a Sci Fi campaign and these maps will work great!!......Now I'm just waiting for Paper-Make-it to make fully created poster maps.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Base (1inch Grid)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shuffler - Modern and Sci-Fi Map Creator
by Alan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2012 15:28:23

Shuffler is really good stuff. If you need to crank out maps for a game, this is the product for you. It is set to print to 8.5x11 paper with 1 inch squares, so there is no guessing if the image will print on your printer. The elements can be sized to scale from 10 mm up 28mm+. Drag and drop the elements, print, and viola-instant adventure map. Not only is the product really awesome, the customer CANNOT BE BEAT. I discovered an bug in the Save to PNG function and emailed the developer. He wrote me back in a couple of hours, and had a fix for me to test within 12 hours of my first email! How cool is that? This is the Gold Standard for customer service. If you ever need to make maps for your adventures, this is the software. Buy it. For less than $16 it is an incredible bargain! Buy it now!

Did I mention you should buy this software?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shuffler - Modern and Sci-Fi Map Creator
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Cargo Containers
by Drew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2012 19:28:54

Delivers as promised, 1/58 scale ISO containers. Can be scaled smaller if you wish. Plus extra details to make temporary housing, Evac, C&C centers, etc. Slight learning curve, easy to handle once you get it to fit your desktop. Lots of options and plenty of examples. A modern container ship can carry up to 15,000 and the PMI container designer can make each one different. A ubiquitous bit of scenery from mid-20th century to near future. A great tool for modern crime games to urban military ops.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cargo Containers
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates