Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Blood Castle: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2021 08:12:14

Such an exciting game! Combat is engaging, and treasure drops are helpful. I Love creating rooms and the text descriptions, that accompany them. SUPERB PRODUCT



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Castle: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Neon City Overdrive
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2021 09:21:41

This is a fantastic game, even from people that comes from more traditional Games.Its simplicity coupled with its smoothness and non-binary results allows you to create interesting stories. I really recommend it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Neon City Overdrive
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Neon City Overdrive
by Marco R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2021 19:21:52

Best modern cyberpunk game, no doubts about it. Funny, easy, quick: it uses some of the well known storytelling game staples in a completely revamped "classic" style language. The book is nicely written and laid out, the PDF is perfect and the sheet is clean. Absolutely evocative and full of inspirational material, it stays on the lower end of the spectrum in terms of word / page count and that's an IMMENSE plus! Highly reccommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for this review - I really appreciate it!
Neon City Overdrive
by Andrea L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2021 04:28:05

For years i try to find a game that can give me the same feelins of the good and old CP2020 but without all the crunchyness and the systemic issues. NCO is the only game that really satisfied me after years of searches.

Is a fast game that you can set up potentially with zero prep, with a easy but great resolution system that trasmits the feel and the mood of a CP world.

This is a must have if you love the genre and TRPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
The Grid
by Gabriel L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2021 11:26:12

Finally received the printed copy and, as usual, it looks great. This supplement provides a default way to use The Grid, which is a common - ahem, essential - trope in cyberpunk media. It is fairly standard and well presented. If we want to alter the default setting, the book also provides us with key elements to toy with. As usual, there are also new threats, plot hooks and things to do, so we're not far from a ''toolbox'' supplement, like the other two supplements are.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Grid
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to review The Grid!
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2021 22:30:12

Fu is fast and elegant! Set up requires as little as some paper, pencils and one or more dice, and about five minutes to explain and jot down a character, but it can also expand on up to full page character sheets, worlds, settings, flavor text, minis, maps, and more as taste requires.

Fu is great for light gamers, kids, beginners, and beyond. It adapts to literally any setting from Star Wars to OSR dungeon crawling to any custom world I have thrown at it. It leans into narrative, and by relying on descriptors, it loses nothing in number translation. Actual traits are compared to a situation, which provide subtlety and often MORE accurate flexibility. Fu relies on comparison, so you can ignore all the pages of detail that are always the same and focus on your character's unique skills and flaws. The GM can zoom in and out on events such as battles as player interest or plot demands.

'Cons' and how I handle them These are noted by some as missing or weak: HP - I count major conditions (3 is a good base) before being taken out of the fight. Levels - I use unlockable sub-descriptors(meta-tags) that stack advantages.
Magic - RAW says just charge FU points, but if you want more scale, you can unlock levels of power for these too. The open format allows you to pick a magic system and go with how that works, whether it is spell slots, maintaining 'the balance', or just a common innate skill (edge).

The author's website and updates are filled with great ideas to add more resolution and features as well.

The common sense concepts, simple mechanics, and flexibility of Fu make it a fantastic system for anyone to quickly sit down, share some cool ideas, and get rolling. It is an absolute blast to run and play.

Mini Character sheets:https://docs.google.com/document/d/1JMLFCCdh1Qpt5Hn2n6SK1nK4AVzFrteSA9LX3AJ30cc/edit?usp=sharing

My page on running it:https://docs.google.com/document/d/1mNQTQIx0JGFnKDhhgioVElu-RC_CdVtrM-MlCRdEElc/edit?usp=sharing



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review - I really appreciate it!
Dungeon Crawlers
by Gabriel L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2021 17:03:45

This is a game where characters start with barely anything and delve in dangerous and unknown sites to find gods-know-what. It has only a handful of rules and helps to tell a low-power story where characters struggle at every turn, more or less.

Full disclosure: I haven't played it, but I have played plenty of Neon City Overdrive (NCO), its big brother. The essential is the same, but some mechanics are different. The biggest being the way gear is handled, but it's interesting enough that I'm thinking to transfer some form of the said mechanics in my NCO game.

Now, it's only a 2-pager, and while there some information to inspire you to create an adventure, there's isn't a whole lot help you flesh out a dungeon. But for the price, you get a really good game. I'd happily pay more for a setting book though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawlers
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Blood Castle: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game
by Charles L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2020 20:39:11

I enjoyed this solo game more than many other similar titles I have played. The rules were very tight. The game took about an hour. I felt engaged the entire time.

I look forward to future books by the author.

I highly recommend giving this a try, especially at this price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Castle: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for this review - I really appreciate it.
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
by Craig W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2020 16:57:42

I love FU. It is straightforward, simple, but powerful enough to let you do almost anything you can imagine.

I have been RPing for about 36 years now and while I started with the same game that almost everyone else did (you know, the one that has dungeons, as well as dragons) I find I just can't play it anymore and have turned instead to more narrative games. FU hits all the right buttons for me. Having recently discovered the world of solo RPGs, I also appreciate that FU seems like a perfect fit for solo adventures. It has also been a great system for teaching my kids about RPGs.

I highly recommend this system and look forward to any future iterations or supplements.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for this review! I really appreciate it. Keep an eye out for a "revised" version of FU in the near future, which will have a few more useful tools for solo play.
Psions
by Kevin D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2020 12:10:35

Great supplement for a great game! Can be used as a rules lite version of Shadowrun, or any other science fantasy RPG. A must have for any fan of the core rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Psions
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

GunFrame: Anime Mecha Battle Game
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 18:37:57

I have enjoyed reading and getting to know Gunframe better. It's a great buy and the Youtube demonstration video is much appreciated. Big thanks to the publisher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GunFrame: Anime Mecha Battle Game
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for this review! I really appreciate the comments.
Neon City Overdrive
by David F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2020 12:53:06

This is a great game and the print copy is perfect. Small, light, storytelling game with a dice pool mechanic that resolves conflict nicely.

Cyberpunk like Steampunk is more a "color palette" than an actual rule system; however, the rules in this game are tight and fun. This is a very minimalist crunch system with all objects in game having a “tag” that can be either good or bad. I relate these “tags” to “aspects” used in the Fate System. Each tag (both good and bad) add dice to a dice pool, but only the highest good dice counts toward a success.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Neon City Overdrive
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review - it is much appreciated!
Neon City Overdrive
by Phillip G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2020 07:48:14

The rules are so perfect for cyberpunk. My group loved it and we were up and running in no time. In a genre burdened with extreme crunch, this game is a refreshing change.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for this review!
Neon City Overdrive
by Judd G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2020 23:19:06

Fast, simple, and versitile! This game presents the world and the options with tremendous clarity and the system is fast and allows for creativity and improvisation at the table. The book is well presented as well, with good layput and excellent selection of evocative art. The GM is free to tailor the sandbox setting to fit the exact tone of cyberpunk they are trying to create or model. The die mechanic is very simple, but creates tension in play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for this review! It is appreciated. :)
Blood Castle: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game
by John T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2020 11:29:40

If you are looking for a game with well written rules and one that is engaging, then this is the book/game to get! This Is the perfect game to lose yourself in for an hour or so. You won’t be disappointed!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Castle: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Cheers!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 49 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates