Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
FU: The Freeform/Universal RPG
by John W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2019 05:23:10

This uses the basic (Yes-No + and-neutral-but) system to produce a viable solo oracle with a fairly freeform chargen system added. There are a few setting books for this now.

Better yet you can play this with either regular D6s and a conversion table. Or DIY your own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FU: The Freeform/Universal RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

GunFrame: Anime Mecha Battle Game
by philippe r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2019 16:07:23

I came across Gunframe by coincidence but I admit I discovered a very good surprise with it. a simple but not simplistic game to play short skirmishes (and even a little more) with any mecha figurine you have on hand (and maybe even more) if I had to make a comparison, I found it better realized than Mobile Frame Zero for example, especially with its Focus point system that allows to react to enemy actions and the upgrades that make it possible to make any unit unique by its driver, chassis or equipment. a big compliment to the author



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GunFrame: Anime Mecha Battle Game
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

GunFrame: Anime Mecha Battle Game
by Jordan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2019 02:12:47

If you are looking for quick, dynamic, mecha combat full of memorable pilots and swirling combat, this game delivers. Using simple but elegant mechanics, GUNFRAME, allows you to build your bots any way you like. There are three example builds from purly speculative anime. Once you know the rules, you can build anything from Transformers to Gundam or Evangelion.

This is not a "crunch" game. Torso twists, heat tracking, ammo fires, crit charts...those do not live here. If you have ever played a rules heavy game and tried to get it to feel like anime, you will understand why this is a good thing. Your "frame" determines movement, weapons loadout and armor (hit points). Weapons loadouts are not by weapon but a die pool by range band. No bullet counting here. You can then add a quality like "powerful" to a range band and improve your chances of dealing a nasty critical hit.

This game has flow to it. Positioning is important, you are going to want to move your "frame" Initiative wins keep the turn sequence from being predictable. Crits open up a number of cool options for the shooter to select. What seals the deal for me are the number of anime tropes you can play with to give your pilots personality. Maybe you have a pair of lovers in the squadron, maybe a pair of rivals, a berzerker pilot with "anger issues". Perhaps a young, heroic pilot will meet an enemy ace who becomes his nemesis...all this and more is in the game as part of your force building. You could do "historical refights" of favorite anime episodes with ease.

There are a few places where a minor edit could help but nothing that prevents me wanting to order a hard copy for the bookshelf. Love of the genre permeates these rules and if you want to bring anime style combat to the table, using any models you like, from any show or movie, your way, then this is going to deliver for you. If you need to know if your pilots have built up too much heat by firing missiles and making a latte using the onboard espresso maker in the same round, well, this is not going to work for you.

Give it a try. It's great fun and easy for kids and non grognards to learn and enjoy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for the review. I am really pleased you enjoy the game!
FU: The Freeform/Universal RPG
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2018 20:10:13

I wanted a light, story-driven ruleset for a Star Wars oneshot with some friends that had never done tabletop RPGs before. This worked wonderfully! The rules are the good kind of simple: easy to learn and remember, but leave a lot of room for creativity. The free Star Wars addendum worked out well too, and I'd love to try the others (Matrix, pirates, LEGO, etc.).

Pros:

  • Keeps the fun parts of RP'ing and story-telling, without the cumbersome rules, stats, and books.
  • Really easy to explain and play
  • Could easily be adapted to any story-driven genre
  • Great for one-shots and zero-prep stories
  • Easy to GM (no dice rolling or complicated rules), though you need to think on your feet
  • Pay-what-you-want business model

Cons (well, more like intentional limitations):

  • No leveling system for extended campaigns. Characters can gain/lose traits/skills/equipment, which is reasonable for story-telling, but may not be as satisfying as "hitting epic level". Just set expectations for your players.
  • The dice numbering is a little confusing, but you can easily play with "high is good, low is bad". You'll see what I mean.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FU: The Freeform/Universal RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

FU: The Freeform/Universal RPG
by Michał D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2017 17:28:14

Good and simple game :) I wrote my own game based on these rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FU: The Freeform/Universal RPG
by William v. d. K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2016 13:28:01

very good quality PDF, and I love the conciseness of the rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FU: The Freeform/Universal RPG
by Johann A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2015 13:42:35

This is an amazingly lightweight rpg! Played two adults and a kid and we had a blast. The system has no restrictions on creativity and doesn't brake the narrative flow by heavy rules. Yet it provides solid storytelling guidance implicitly in the dice rolls!

I highly recommend this gem of a rpg to all lovers of light/lite rpgs.

If you're looking for a system with hp tracking, initiative, long critical tables or other linds of heavy rules - this game isn't for you.

If you're into Fudge, Fate, Risus or other lightweight games, this one is right up your alley.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FU: The Freeform/Universal RPG
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2015 19:17:25

Very good. Very uncomplicated. No character advancement, but real life doesn't give the wild advances most games do. Damage is whatever the GM decides, as there are no points or wound tracking.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FU: The Freeform/Universal RPG
by Sophia B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2013 10:39:38

-----ursprünglich erschienen auf spacebeyondreality.de------ Heute möchte ich Euch FU vorstellen, ein einfaches Rollenspiel von Nathan Russell. Ich bin ja ein großer Freund von kleinen, feinen Systemen, die sich schnell spielen lassen.

FU beschreibt sich selbst als ein Spiel für Action, Spaß und Abenteuer. Es ist generisch und soll möglichst einfach zu spielen sein. Es ist ein freies System, allerdings liegt das Urheberrecht komplett beim Autor. Hacks und Mods sind jedoch willkommen. Der Autor selbst hat einen Matrix-Hack und einen Star-Wars-Hack bereitgestellt. Das Spiel bietet ehen narrativen Ansatz.

Präsentation Das Buch ist kostenlos als 23-seitiges PDF erhältlich. Das Layout ist ansprechend. Leider ist teilweise die Schrift ein wenig klein, aber dank Zoom sollte dies keine Hürde sein. Der Regelteil passt auf schlanke 14 Seiten. In dem Werk enthalten ist ein Beispielabenteuer mit vorgefertigten Charakteren.

Charaktererschaffung Die Charaktererstellung geht in 6 Schritten vor sich. Zuerst überlegt man sich ein Konzept, z.B. "Paranormaler Detektiv". Archetypen und Clichés sind gute Anhaltspunkte. Danach bekommt jeder Charakter vier Beschreibungen (im Englischen "Descriptors"), unterteilt nach Körper, Geist, Gabe und Makel. Die Beschreibungen sollen kurz und knackig sein, z.B. Körper: stark. Jeder Charakter erhält zudem zwei Teile Ausrüstung, welche Boni beim Würfelwurf geben. Man soll zudem seinen Charakter beschreiben (Aussehen, Hintergrund etc.) und ihm Antrieb ("Drives") und Beziehungen ("Relationships") geben. Diese Art der Charaktererstellung bietet den Vorteil, dass man einen guten Überblick über seinen Charakter hat; Stärken und Schwächen, Hintergrund etc. Gewisse Ähnlichkeiten mit z.B. FATE lassen sich hier erkennen. Russell hat eine optionale Regel zur Verfügung gestellt, bei der die Descriptors wie Fate-Aspekte beschrieben werden, also anstatt Körper: stark dann Körper: der stärkste Mann der Welt.

System Mechanik

Die Mechanik beruht auf einem Würfelpool-System mit sechsseitigen Würfeln und nennt sich "Beat the odds". Man stellt seinen Pool aus einem Standardwürfel und eventuellen Bonus- und Maluswürfeln zusammen und nimmt dann den besten Wurf (bei Bonuswürfeln) oder den schlechtesten Wurf (bei Maluswürfeln). Wenn ein Charakter agiert und das Resultat nicht absolut offensichtlich ist, erfolgt ein Wurf.

Mögliche Ergebnisse:

6 Yes, and... You get what you want, and something else. (Ja, und... du erreichst, was du willst und noch etwas dazu.) 4 Yes... You get what you want. (Ja,... du erreichst, was du willst.) 2 Yes, but... You get what you want, but at a cost. (Ja, aber... du erreichst, was du willst, aber es kostet dich etwas.) 5 No, but... You don’t get what you want, but it’s not a total loss. (Nein, aber... du erreichst nicht was du willst, aber es ist nicht ein totaler Verlust.) 3 No... You don’t get what you were after. (Nein,... du erreichst nicht, was du willst.) 1 No, and... You don’t get what you want, and things get worse. (Nein, und... du erreichst nicht, was du willst und es wird noch schlimmer.)

Wenn ein "... und" oder "... aber"-Ergebnis erfolgt, hat der Spielleiter die Möglichkeit, Details oder Konditionen einzuführen. Konditionen sind körperliche, geistige oder soziale Effekt wie wütend oder bewusstlos. Details sind Teile der Spielumgebung, die sich ändern, z.B. wenn ein Vorhang Feuer fängt.

Modifikationen

Jeder/s Descriptor, Ausrüstungsgegenstand, Detail oder Kondition, der einem Spieler einen Vorteil gewährt, gibt einen Bonuswürfel. Wenn ich versuche, eine Tür aufzustemmen, kann mir mein starker Körper dabei helfen. Ich nehme dann zwei Würfel und darf das beste Ergebnis behalten. Wenn ich aufgrund meiner Descriptors, Ausrüstung, Konditionen oder der Umgebung Maluswürfel erhalte, muss ich das schlechteste Ergebnis behalten.

FU Points

FU Points sind Bonuspunkte, von denen jeder Charakter am Anfang zwei Stück erhält. Diese erlauben es, einen Wurf zu wiederholen oder einen Bonuswürfel zu erhalten. FU Points sind im Prinzip wie Bennies bei Savage Worlds oder Fate Points.

Gutes und Schlechtes Das Rollenspielsystem ist schlicht und einfach zu erlernen. Es erfordert so gut wie keine Buchhaltung, da es keine Lebenspunkte, Wunden etc. gibt. Auf der anderen Seite ist jede (Kampf-)Situation stark vom Fokus abhängig. Es ist legitim, einen Kampf entweder detailliert zu gestalten ("Kann ich Bösewichts Attacke ausweichen? Schaffe ich es, Bösewicht mit meinem Gewehr zu treffen?") oder mit einem Würfelwurf abzuhandeln ("Besiege ich Bösewicht?"). Dies erfordert vom Spielleiter, dass er die Spieler geschickt in das an sich einfache Regelsystem einführt und Spieler, die das System nicht austricksen wollen. Harte Regeln für das Ausscheiden eines Charakters aus dem Kampf fehlen, hier wird an die Spieler und den Spielleiter appelliert. Das kann funktionieren, muss aber nicht. Des Weiteren ist man sehr von der Wahl seiner Descriptors abhängig. Sind diese breit gestreut, sind die Charaktere sehr kompetent und ein Fehlschlag kommt nicht häufig vor. Falls jedoch die Descriptors unglücklich gewählt wurden, kann das Ganze wiederum in eine Abwärtsspirale führen. Kurzum: ein "Sicherheitsnetz" durch eine zusätzliche Spielmechanik wie Fertigkeiten, Stunts o.ä. fehlt hier. Als Spielleiter muss man sich bei FU daran gewöhnen, nicht selbst zu würfeln. Mir kommt das entgegen, da ich mich dann darauf konzentrieren kann, die Szenerie zu gestalten, NPCs zu verkörpern oder mir Gedanken über die nächste Szene zu machen. Ich weiß allerdings, dass dies nicht jedermanns Sache ist.

Fazit FU hält, was es verspricht: Es handelt sich um ein schlankes, einfach zu erlerndes Regelsystem. Es ist ein abstraktes Spiel (keine Lebenspunkte, Rüstungswerte, Initiativereihenfolge etc.), welches kaum Vorbereitung benötigt und für ein "Schnelles-Spiel-für-zwischendurch" gut geeignet ist. Grundsätzlich ist es auch möglich, Kampagnen zu spielen, die meisten Spieler wird jedoch abschrecken, dass die Möglichkeiten zum Stufenaufstieg nicht vorhanden sind. Auf der anderen Seite sind die Charaktere bereits in der Grundausrichtung sehr kompetent, so dass es für mich kein Manko ist, dass ich nicht "aufleveln" kann.

FU erfüllt sicherlich die Nische der einfachen, regelarmen und erzählerischen Rollenspiele. Powergamer und Freunde des Simulationsrollenspiels, die realistische Regeln und ein komplexes Regelwerk mit vielen Talenten, Fertigkeiten etc. erwarten, werden keine Freude an FU finden.

Mir gefällt an dem System, dass die Geschichte immer ein Stück voran kommt, da das Würfelergebnis das Rollenspiel narrativ einfärbt.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
FU: The Freeform/Universal RPG
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2012 04:37:59

FU has a few things working for it. 1) You can't beat free for cost. 2) It's easy to read and understand quickly. 3) You truly can run any universe you like, if your imagination is broad and fluid.

There are a few things FU will need help with, if you play it. 4) It needs a lot of love and attention -- you will need more creativity than math skill, just like any other narrative rpg. 5) The rules need to have a little more "meat" on them, because they don't cover many instances of playing a game and sacrifice detail for efficiency. 6) FU basically has only one roll mechanic, which is only a good thing for experienced role-players who want to have less chance / game mechanics and more narrative / story-telling within their game sessions. 7) The artwork for the book is limited; it needs more "window dressing" - though the layout is functional and simply pleasant. The character sheet is a graphic design disaster; it's like driving an Edsel on the interstate. It needs to be redesigned to reflect the efficiency and simplicity of the game mechanics. (I am a professional graphic designer, so I designed my own sheets for my own game.)

The star rating pertains to providing broad information quickly to the general audience of how this game will appeal or not appeal; it should not only apply to narrative rpg players. It also reflects the cost (which helps immensely in this case). Unless you are entirely convinced that story-telling supersedes all game mechanics in rpgs, you will like this game system initially but later on, you will want the game to do more while remaining simple to play. If you like to "house rule" your games, and you are willing to take the time to do so with FU, then you will like this game for awhile longer.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Beast of Limfjord
by Michael C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2012 11:36:10

There is nothing really wrong with the product, but I found the description misleading. I was under the impression I was buying a rich adventure. Instead I got 17 pages of rules, 2 pages of adventure and 3 pages of appendix with extra monster write-ups, etc.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Beast of Limfjord
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

FU: The Freeform/Universal RPG
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2012 18:36:40

As a free system you expect that the rules will be a little light...

This is one of the best narrative systems I've ever encountered! The system is all but diceless and an entire character can be described in a few bullet points and a couple of sentences of descriptive text.

I think this is just the thing to get my group back into role-playing.

Excellent work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FU: The Freeform/Universal RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

HBG! Episode 25 - Women!
by Anton M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2011 00:37:05

Tabletop Role-Playing Games are not generally considered a "women's hobby;" I was really hoping this podcast would go into this issue in depth, because I very much enjoy discussions of feminist politics, and I long for ways to give my RPG hobby a wider appeal. Besides this, making RPGs appeal to women is a big marketing issue lots of game companies would love to solve. Surely this (roughly) 3-hour recording would provide ample insight into this topic, right?

I listened and listened, but halfway through this podcast, I gave up on it. It's basically a bunch of British people talking about their FRPG characters and what games they played since the previous podcast. Apparently, this is the "women" episode because a woman joined in the discussion. It might be interesting if I cared about these personalities, but I felt like I was eavesdropping on some random peoples' casual conversations at a cafe. The poor sound quality did not help endear me.

In contrast, please consider the "3.5 Private Sanctuary" podcast, or even "Fear the Boot," both of which are FREE and quite good at identifying a topic and clearly attempting to educate their audience regarding that topic.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
HBG! Episode 25 - Women!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

FU: The Freeform/Universal RPG
by Steven L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2011 11:52:06

Absolutely superb. Rules light, but what rules! This game really knows what works and applies it to the utmost.

The dice mechanic drives the games narrative and Conditions are simply sublime, they are applied tags to characters, scenery, NPCs, you name it! They work almost the same as Fate's Consequences but Conditions can be beneficial and are far more versatile without breaking the dice mechanic.

The dice mechanic gives out Yes and..., Ye,s and Yes but... results with corresponding No answers. This means that not only does my character suceed or fail but the margin of that success and a narrative push to embelish this. It is so simple and elegant I cannot praise it enough.

But the absolute best thing, is that as well as being superb it is also FREE!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FU: The Freeform/Universal RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Verge 24
by Ray W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2011 23:09:30

For a 14 page Fantasy Punk RPG that was written in 24 hour you couldn’t ask for much more. The first few pages give you a real sense for the world how it looks and feels. As I was reading the description of ‘The City’ where everyone lives, I had scene from Dark City and V for Vendetta flash through my mind which later on the Author recommends players watch for inspiration and it is clear that he has done the same.

From there the book describes how the day to day society is run and breaks down the social classes down in to groups explaining how they work together. This gives you as a GM or as a Play a solid but open idea of the setting and how you can build upon it.

The rules are simple roll a handful of D6’s equal to your stats + modifiers and look for successes. This enables both the player and the GM to shape the outcome of the challenge that was being faced. The author himself notes that he didn’t get to the magic section but to be honest with the rules the way that they are it is not hard to add in your own magic system.

Character creation is well laid out and easy to follow. There are a few examples given as well, not that they are really needed but it is always nice to see some included in any RPG. All in all it shouldn’t take more then 10 minutes to create a character and the hardest part of that will be picking a name for them.

Summing up, I highly recommend Verge 24. This is a well laid out, rules light RPG that could be brought to any table taught to the players, have them create a character and be ready to go in about half an hour. While it is missing a magic system it’s not the end of the worlds and the author does acknowledge this right at the front of the book. As it’s free you can’t really complain about the price either. Maybe with any luck in time the author will go back and complete a 2nd edition including a magic system but till then. Download it, Read It & Play it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Verge 24
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates