Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Song of Blades and Heroes
by Rafal S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2022 18:21:50

Simple but elegant shirmish wargame that you can play even with your kids!

I'm big fan of this system and all its expansions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Four Against Mars
by CHRISTOPHER R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2022 15:07:09
This is group this is great! My only complaints about the game itself is the layout of the book. Once you can wrap your head around where to find things and how things in a relate to each other that is great. Geek gamer's set it pretty well in her video about the issues with the game book itself. Once you get into the game and you understand the rules and you get familiar with it though the game is A-blast and I love that it is not a fantasy game! I just wish there were more modules and Adams for it. I want more! So now we're going to have to make a defen

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Mars
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
4AD Room dice STL files
by eric p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2022 18:56:03

Extremely bare bones product.

It is literally two dice, with a total of 12 rooms showing. I think maybe 3 of them are ones included In the 4AD booklet. For whatever reason, there are pips on some of the faces of these dice, but not all of them.

This looks like something you can create on Tinkercad in a few minutes, and is definitely not worth five dollars.

I'm fairly booty blistered that I spent money on this.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
4AD Room dice STL files
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
by christian h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2022 04:36:10

This is a real giggle of a game. First scenario is a bit hard but a whole lot of fun to get any of your old minis back on the table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Tales of Blades and Heroes Fantasy RPG rules
by Courtney D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2021 21:51:00

For those not familiar with Ganesha games's other series (such as "Song of Blades and Heroes" or "Flying Lead"), ToBaH is a tactical-skirmish-game-turned-rpg with tiny character sheets. Characters can be summed up as a few core stats, a short list of traits and maybe a magic word list for magic users. These simplified characters lend themselves to a lightweight system that is (generally) easy to pick up and play. Because this focuses on individual characters rather than a warband, the rules are a step more detailed and complex than its wargame relatives.

For those familiar with SoBaH and whatnot: this takes the current systems you would be familiar with and makes them more interesting by upping the complexity. Quality rolls are done differently, making use of multiple (potentially exploding) dice and traits boosting individual dice rather than the stat itself. Damage is taken a step further, with an additional roll applying additional effects on top of whether a character recoils or is wounded. For example, a character may drop their weapon or give opponents a free hack on a recoil. Also, characters roll for initiative, which determines when they get their chance to roll for activation, and rather than ending their turn outright, they risk a critical fumble.

Most of the traits supplied are tailored towards a stock medieval fantasy setting with some primitive firearms. The magic system is centralised around magic words: combine two or more to create a spell and describe its intended effects, with the ensuing roll determining its capabilities and strength. The flexibility is great but customising a spell on the fly will be a little rough on beginners.

I found the game to be pretty neat, but I found some rules as written to be convoluted or confusing. Also, I made the mistake of thinking this was the only book you'd need to play, finding it lacking at times: Some topics are touched upon but never elaborated and although example characters are supplied outisde the book, it is devoid of any example creatures or monsters. Turns out you will want Tales of Beasts and Perils (aka the GM guidebook) as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of Blades and Heroes Fantasy RPG rules
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Tales of Beasts and Perils GM's book for TBH
by Courtney D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2021 19:40:04

Pretty much a MUST-HAVE for GMs intending to handle Tales of Blades and Heroes games. The original ToBaH tells you how to play but skimps on a lot of core details (particularly experience), and this book picks up ALL the slack. The description clearly tells you everything it does, and it delivers on each of them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of Beasts and Perils GM's book for TBH
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Tales of Blades and Heroes Fantasy RPG rules
by William B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2021 08:16:37

Tales of Blades and Heroes is an RPG based on Andrea Sfiligoi's excellent Song of Blades and Heroes fantasy wargame.

This book adds a full suite of RPG flavored special rules to Song of Blades and Heroes. The result is what I will call an RPG wargame.

The RPG elements are well-thought-out, and I think they would play well.

Will I use it? If I were going to play an RPG with other people, this would be at the top of my list. It has integrated combat balance, which makes it far superior to most other RPG's I've tried. I mostly play solo RPG's, and I think it'll work just fine in that context using the Mythic GM Emulator to automate the RPG elements of the game, and Lone Blade to handle combat AI. I think I'll try it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of Blades and Heroes Fantasy RPG rules
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Four Against Darkness
by Radovan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2021 07:39:38

Pure fun. There are typos and small errors and... but it does not matter. This is pure fun, with beutiful artworks and it has more theme than all new games released. Besides autor is great person!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Digressions of the Devouring Dead
by Radovan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2021 07:21:03

What a beutiful old school book. What a beutiful artworks. My soul sings. We are playing in a group and we love this to bits. This will bring memories, beutiful memories of Conan and red Sonja of old school posters and life as it used to be, normal, natural, easy. Well done! Do not stray from this path. You are a shining example of how it should be done Ganesha games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Digressions of the Devouring Dead
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fiendish Foes
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2021 19:04:43

First supplement I added to 4AD after having a party survive a few adventures - characters are all around level 4 and I'm afraid of dying again! ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiendish Foes
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Four Against the Great Old Ones
by John K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2020 23:26:40

A lot of excellent content and potential here, but there are production issues and the game can easily beome a die-rolling exercise.

  • Can't search the formatted version (you get a plain text version without art as well)

  • No bookmarks or hyperlinks for either version (and this has so much content to refer to you really need it). And there's some special bullet character that isn't showing up properly.

  • The characters and encounters are very interesting - but they all just end up as a die rolling combat exercise, so this can easily get boring unless you are going to flesh out the narrative extensively and houserule the reactions of the NPCs - or run this with a GM (which would work extremely well).


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against the Great Old Ones
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Alone Against Fear
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2020 12:49:23

Quite good. It reminds me a lot of a roguelike moreso than a traditional pen and paper game. Yes, the events can get a tad repetitive over time, but there is a sort of "meta" going on underneath with specific items being able to unlock extra scenes. Fascinating and actually worth the $12 for a solo RPG player.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alone Against Fear
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
High Stakes - FREE storytelling and adventure rules
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2020 01:42:40

Interesting idea that had no support. Hackbooks mentioned to be coming out in 2017 did not appear. Probably because of 4AD's success.

I wouldn't mind seeing Andrea take this and revise it to work with 4AD as a narrative hybrid.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
High Stakes - FREE storytelling and adventure rules
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Four Against the Great Old Ones
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2020 22:04:21

I dare say, the best Cthulhu-based game since Call of Cthulhu and the Fantasy Flight line. The material is thoroughly researched and presented very well. Eight investigators to choose from, and you'll probably need all of them as the game does not hold your hand.

Repeat: There is no hand-holding in this game. You will lose, and lose terribly, until you learn how to win. It's not a theme park game designed to let you breeze through encounters to ensure you see all the beautiful things they put into it. It doesn't give you a 'been there, done that' t-shirt for showing up. It is very old school, as are all the 4AD books, in that they are meant to be challenging.

If you want a game you can play so you can say you did, roll a die. If it's a six, you won! Congratulations. Here's your shirt. If you want a game that will challenge you and keep you on your toes, 4AtGOO is one to beat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against the Great Old Ones
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Caves of the Kobold Slave-Masters
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2020 13:34:54

I just finished playing all three chapters of Caves of the Kobold Slave-Masters, and here's what I thought of it...

It's actually a really good sampler of applying the 4AD rules to different play styles. The first chapter uses a pregenerated map and introduces the idea of using the random charts with already created maps. After playing Chapter One, a player should have no problem dusting off old maps and using them with 4AD. The second chapter plays just like the default style presented in the Core Book. The third chapter goes a bit abstract, with almost no map at all and larger parties of characters.

The third chapter was actually the most challenging of the three, as keeping track of the four PCs, the eight NPCs and the eighteen demons was made more complex by the demons all having a poison attack. I made a tracking sheet before tackling the third chapter that listed cleric abilities, spells, holy water, scrolls and bandages, as well as hit points. It helped immensely.

I still made a few mistakes during play, but would catch them myself when transcribing the adventure to a log.

The adventure lost one star due to poor editing and some unclear rules that required me to go online to get answers. For the price, however, it's a great deal considering how much playtime is involved.

Overall, it is a nice adventure that expands ideas about playing 4AD. And we get some new monsters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Caves of the Kobold Slave-Masters
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 99 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates