Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
ColdWar: 1983
by Sam W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2019 06:38:53

Wow, really dissapointed. When they mean no illustrations they mean no illustrations, not even the iconic cover. "full TO&Es" is a few lines of mech infantry descriptions. Generic weapons ratings hmm..not the ruleset for me I guess. So stupid to spend US$6 on this, that's about AUD$50 these days. I might lose my home if I keep doing stupid shit like this.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
ColdWar: 1983
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Land Ironclads
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2019 14:52:45

Again with the VSF! Land Ironclads is the wealthier relative to Aeronef, with more involved and detailed rules, and much improved presentation and layout. The scale of the game is Grand Battles - vast armies of infantry, Land Iornclads and Contraptions all slowly crawling across the battlefields of the early 20th C - combat is quite simple (in tune with it's Aeronef relative) with only the huge Land Ironclads requiring detailed damage tracking (indeed - the damage tracking rules can be applied to Aeronef too, making that game slightly more detailed).

If I did have a complaint it's that the game takes huge amounts of material (miniatures) to play and the game itself can take a long time (low movement speeds across the recommended table size means it takes time to actually get to grips with the enemy) to play, yet with both army's havig a morale break point where they run away after a set number of unit losses the game can end rather suddenly despite your army being largely intact - losing Land Ironclads will quickly erode your armies morale causing them to flee (the morale of the story being use ONLY the largest Land Ironclads that can take a lot of hits!)

Nonetheless, Land Ironclads is a good game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Land Ironclads
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Voyages Extraordinaires
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2019 14:42:53

Again, I really like VSF and I was looking forwards to getting my hands on this. However, compared to other VSF offerings by Wessex this is very much the poor relation, despite the fact the rules are OK. Production values with my copy were very low - crude, black & white only, plain text no art/images - bland bland bland! An improved and better version was supposed to be in the pipeline but not yet it seems ... With a bit of fleshing out and some better (way way better) presentation this could be a really good little game, but as it stands it's only value lies in the fact it's not expensive.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Voyages Extraordinaires
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Aeronef Over The Aegean
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2019 14:37:02

I love Aeronef and it's VSF setting, and this supplement is a small mini-campaign which adds more to this. Although only short the campaign plays well and is a great deal of fun. However, due to the nature of the core Aeronef ruleset players of other systems might find this a bit lacking in granularity. Production values were good in my copy and once printed and spiral bound it makes a neat little booklet - it's a worthwhile purchase if you're an Aeronef player.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aeronef Over The Aegean
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Aeronef
by Bruce C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2016 23:35:09

The booklet starts with a few pages of background info that set the scene for the Aeronef universe. This is followed by just four pages of basic rules covering movement and elementaty weapons fire. There are then several pages of additional rules to cover topics such as modified ships, bombing, anti-aircraft, etc. Finally there are some basic scenarios, along with designer's notes and other appendices.

I like the relatively simple rules, but the book doesn't include any counters or sample ships. There is a web site that sells miniatures designed specifically to fit with this game, and of course you could really use miniatures from any Victoria airship game, such as Leviathans, Iron Stars, Dystopian Wars, etc.

I'm going to rate this as 3.5 stars out of 5, because I would really have liked to see some sample ships and/or scenery included.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aeronef
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

AirWar: C21 max
by Ward B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2015 21:16:02

These are a decent set of rules. I do like the system that is used to simulate radar and some of the more complex aspects of air to air combat. I do have to caution you that the game is run in two dimensions. There are allowances for special maneuvers that simulate operating in three dimensions, but this is only a simulation. You can download the basic game and take a look at if for yourself and decided if it is a deal breaker for you.

I have to admit that I missed this before I bought the full game, but I am glad I did make the purchase. It makes for a quick fun air to air game. So far I have done some Korean War conflicts where operating in the vertical doesn't make a huge difference between the combatants. Once I dish up Vietnam and do MiG-19s vs. Phantoms I will let you know if my perceived issue makes any difference.

Though, I may just have to figure out my own way of adding and tracking altitude.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
AirWar: C21 max
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

AirWar: C21 lite
by Peter J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2015 18:54:40

After a long search for an easy-to-use and fun aerial wargame I think I've finally found it. Can't wait for a WW2 version (I think one has been proposed, 'AirWar 1940' but seems not to have been developed as yet).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
AirWar: C21 lite
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Tusk
by Ronald B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2014 00:42:14

Tusk is a great game to introduce people to wargaming. The rules can be learned in five minutes. It offers a solo play for frumpy, solitaire gamers. I believe the game really shines when several people are playing. You can send a panicked mammoth smashing into a opposing players tribe on purpose. There is some luck involved but it would be a great time that is heavy on the fun and light on the rules.

I recommend Tusk to anyone who enjoys wargames that focus more on player interaction and less on memorizing rules for charge reactions. There are plenty of cheap plastic dinosaurs and elephant toys to use as critters. The game plays better if you put "100 million years B.C." or "Quest for fire" on in the background. If you enjoy hunting all day and going "Onga Bonga" with the cave females at night then Tusk is the game for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tusk
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

AirWar: C21 bomber annex
by Ian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2013 03:17:15

Excellent but omitted a few important aircraft - ie B47, B36......



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
AirWar: C21 bomber annex
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Geheimkrieg
by Craig A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2012 14:21:20

Over the last few years there have been a massive amount of different miniature rules released covering the period now widely known as Weird World War II (WWWII). Some come as board games, some boxed with mini's, some as rulesets supported by a specific miniatures range and a precious few as a rulebook allowing you to use minis from any of the many manufacturers out there. Wessex Games "Geheimkrieg" falls into the latter category. The ruleset, written by Steve Blease and Matthew Hartley, might seem somewhat late to the party but they were actually written some time ago. Steve was originally waiting for full miniatures support before releasing the game but now, with focus on a few other of his games at the moment (most notably Wessex Games excellent VSF series) he decided to go ahead and release the rules to allow people to play the game using any miniatures and I for one am glad he has.

Geheimkrieg is split into two main sections, one is the background section which tells us how the world differs to our own and the other is, of course, the rules section. I found both to set themselves apart from other WWWII games for a few reasons. I'll start off, as the book does, with the background section.

Wessex Games take on WWWII differs from many of the others out there being very closely tied to reality, focusing on extrapolations of actual real world events and not altering the flow of technology or history to modern day. The background in Geheimkrieg is extremely detailed, consisting of a series of reports on how each of the major powers 'special investigation' departments experienced, and in some cases manipulated, the stranger events witnessed in the run up to, during and after World War II. I did a bit of research and was surprsised at how many of them actually happened; For example I had not previously read about the German expedition to New Swabia in the Antarctic just before the war began or of the details of Nikolai Tesla's death alone in his hotel room in New York in 1943. Both did actually happen and Geheimkrieg's background expands on them in such a seemingly factual and accurate manner that the extra 'weird war' details do not sound too fantastical. He also remains intentionally vague on some specific points, as one would find in a 'real' report of this nature where no one agency would have all the facts, allowing gamers to interpret the finer details into the scenarios or styles of gaming they prefer to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Geheimkrieg
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Voyages Extraordinaires
by Craig A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2012 02:37:49

Sate your pulp gaming fix with this dynamic and versatile ruleset! As mentioned by another reviewer Voyages Extraordinaires seems, at first glance, to not be very detailed. However that is their key strength! Using a clever Archetype mechanic with individually designed skills you can play any skirmish scenario in a myriad of settings; from the streets of London to the dusty surface of Mars. They capture the feel of Saturday morning serials and Sunday afternoon black and white adventures perfectly. You can learn the rules and stat your existing miniatures and be playing one of the included scenarios within 10 minutes.

My only criticism, one shared by almost every PDF rulebook currently available, is that the contents page is not hyperlinked to the pages they refer to. However, as mentioned in the brief by Wessex Games this is the 'vanilla' easy print version and when the rules get updated I'm sure this is something they'll address.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Voyages Extraordinaires
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Scudbusters II: Back to Iraq
by Mike L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2012 16:30:09

I am impressed with the game system - it is simple without being simplistic and play seems realistic. The effort needed for solo play is not too high and the programmed opponent and generated scenarios are satisyingly challenging. You end up wanting to play again and try something different. The number of figures need to play is low which makes this an easy-to-get-into side period. The game covers the Iraq wars and Afganistan but would readily stretch to LRDG and SAS in the desert in WWII



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scudbusters II: Back to Iraq
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Iron Cow 2103AD
by David S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2012 21:51:28

Big fan of these rules. Fast, but technical enough to give an in depth game. I own a few 6mm rules -these are definitely rate as one of my favourites. My only wish is that order markers came with the pdf. Also that they were available in hard copy 8)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Iron Cow 2103AD
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Tusk
by john b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2012 13:22:43

This is a fun fun game, the rules are easy to learn and real enough. I got TUSK II for the expanded dino's.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tusk
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Strange Grogge
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2012 18:30:58

This is an interesting game system for pirate skirmishes and other black powder era confrontations, with the option of adding some magic and fantasy elements to the mix. Units have a "Salt" attribute that tends to degrade over the course of battle, making them less reliable (and modeling troop weariness and lost morale.) This does mean that one must track the "Salt" of each unit but that's pretty much all bookkeeping. The basic rules take sixteen pages. There are options to add a "light RPG" layer on top of that, which is great for campaigns. I only wish Wessex Games would release the color version to complement this nice game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Strange Grogge
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 30 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates