Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Shadowrun: Anarchy
by Larry F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2018 23:54:29

I was excited to see another game with the CUE system and this game being one of my favorite games/settings Shadowrun I was excited. However while it is an awesome streamlined version of Shadowrun it is not like other CUE system games. CUE system is a lot more streamlined than this game is and it has a different type of dice system altogether.

Shadowrun Anarchy offers a streamlined play version of Shadowrun as a fan since 1st edition I can say that this is an amazing addition to the Shadowrun family. I can not wait to see more come out for this version of Shadowrun. I wish they did this with Earthdawn as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Anarchy
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Toxic Alleys (Sixth World Adventure)
by Keith H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2018 10:23:15

well, it took 23 weeks to completely work through the book, and two of the internal events we missed. overall enjoyed it, but had to adjust a few things for our specific group of players ... but what GM doesnt?

enjoyed the book greatly otherwise, and the material gives players (and GMs) a serious case ... "didnt we take care of insert npc here>". it was about time we got some updates on DC and a flavor for what is going on there.

GMs should really polish up on their Shedim information before using those sections involving them, because you will learn a lot otherwise.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Toxic Alleys (Sixth World Adventure)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Anarchy
by Mr J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2018 04:52:14

Compact rules light version of Shadowrun rules that run very quickly. All special abilities are channeled through a universal Shadow Amp system that seems like a good idea. We made characters in under an hour and played during our first session.

Problems with the game

1) Could be organized better, you can flip all over to find all the rules for a particular subject that really could have been consolidated. 2) Mistakes, some pregens and amp designs violate the rule. 3) Drones and spirits are overpowered as written 4) This doesn't really need to be a round robin narrative game, it works great as a traditional GM run game. Not sure the Cues and Tags really have much use either way. 5) Most importantly, if you're interested in GMing this game, you have to know how Shadowrun is supposed to work already. There are whole subject areas that are just not explained in the rules aside from a quick mentions (Notably astral space, most of the Matrix, good luck if you don't know how technomancers and sprites work together)

I'm not familiar with Shadowrun 5th edition at all, so I'm actually adapting the structure of 2nd edition to create the framework for my Anarchy game. It's really not something that I should have to do, Catalyst should have provided a better built in framework so you didn't have to know how 5th edition is supposed to work. However, it has been a fun way of playing 2050s Shadowrun that doesn't require much player knowledge of crunch to play.
BTW, The systems are so close that once you figure out the way the old damage scale worked, you can rapidly convert NPCs and equipment from old supplements. I am working on converting spells and cyberware/bioware from my old 2nd edition supplements.

Also if you search around a bit a user called Gingivitis on multiple platforms has done excellent work revising some of the problem areas, finding cool uses for plot points, creaitng generic threats and a very good quick reference guide for running the game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Anarchy
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Anarchy
by Jonathan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2018 12:38:00

My party got into Shadowrun 5e, but ultimately did not enjoy the dense rules of the system. We gave Anarchy a try and were overall pleasanttly surprised by the system.

The rules are bit strange, though. They're very dense in some areas and vague in others, constantly requiring DM adjudication for even character creation. As such, I don't recommend it for novice DMs unless it has a major update.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Kill Code (Advanced Matrix Rules)
by Alexandre C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2018 10:02:01

Finally...

This book is everything we've been waiting for. A clear, simple and relatively precise presentation of what the matrix is and how it works.

You can find a lot of things inside: new hardware that can affect the matricial part of a run, like new deck, consumables or even special ammunition and new programs.

Technomancers also have their hour of glory with equipment concerning them, new echoes, complex form... making them finally viable without using hair-pulling processes.

Special mention to the additions on the PI-TAC allowing a beginner team to have one and making their possession much more useful, even for those of index one.

Only four stars nevertheless, because certain points deserve a small rebalancing (light, especially compared to the rest of the range), and that 25$ for 200 pages of which half should have been part of the basic book, it is expensive.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Kill Code (Advanced Matrix Rules)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Street Lethal (Advanced Combat Rules)
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/30/2018 16:51:11

Shadowrun: Street Lethal bills itself as the Advanced Combat Sourcebook for Shadowrun but it is not that, there are new toys, some crazy bleeding edge technology, and some excellent information on corporate security along with updates on mercenaries, pirates and militias in the Sixth World. But apart from one rule section with very narrow applicability, there is not really much to make it an “advanced combat sourcebook,” it is however a very useful sourcebook, especially for a Shadowrun GM, but it could have used a more accurate subtitle.

Shadowrun: Street Lethal, the Advanced Combat Sourcebook of the 5th edition of Shadowrun, while it does not actually add that much in the way of rules it provides new weaponry, for player characters and NPCs, information on how Corporation Security works, and studies the role of mercenaries, pirates and militia in the Sixth World.

The book begins with one of the ubiquitous fiction sections, then moves straight into new weapons, with a detour through the role of less lethal weapons and the current status of some of the major weapon producers. Normally the new toys are in the back, but here they are front and center ranging from various handguns and new melee weapons, for day to day use, to machine guns and grenade launchers with a variety of new less lethal options. Also, one modification for armor is provided so defense is not totally neglected. Some of the new weapons fill useful niches, other fun and a few silly, the new weapons from Krime! mostly being in the later category (a sledge hammer than fires shotgun shells?). Several charts collect all of the weapons from this section (and this section only) for quick reference.

The next section is Military and Future Weapons (or toys for the GM), mostly comprising interesting ongoing projects from the corps such as new planes (the Blood Hawk) from Aztechnology. But there is a twelve-page section supposedly on the tech being developed in a secret base in Africa which includes gravity manipulation technology . . . This is so out there and so game and world changing that I am surprised it was not just mentioned in a thowaway section rather than page after page of stat for things like anti-grav powered vehicles, gravity grenade (no, really) and gravity force fields. I just cannot see how this section is supposed to be used, not only is such tech tonally different from anything else in the game world and it is too big of a change to suddenly add to the setting. Sure, we have magic, but now we have technology that totally breaks the laws of physics too. Why? I cannot see how this makes the game world any more plausible or interesting, just more unreasonable. Equally, even if you decide to use this crazy tech in your game, how do you do so without turning into a whole different game? This tech is not cyberpunk, it is space opera. After that it settles down a bit to Ares working with memory-wiping technology (ala Men in Black), smart bullets and anti-magic armor. Then there are microwave, sonic, centrifugal force and genetic weapons, plasma shields, warframes and powered armor (which, for some reason, is just not allowed to exist in Shadowrun in a usable form), anti-dragon weaponry, comments on atomic weapons and new nanobot and matix weapon just to cover all the angles. Apart from the one odd section noted above, this part of the book is packed with inspiration for runs and problems to happen on runs making it quite useful for the GM.

Opposition Report: CorpSec may be the most useful section of the book from the GM’s perspective, and it is not bad for players either, it begins with discussion of both what CorpSec does and how they do it, discussing active and passive security and a whole range of interesting subjects to help the GM think about how to make things secure (and make runs interesting and challenging for the players). It moves on to how each of the Big Ten megacorps approach security with some supplemental information for smaller companies and specialized subgroups. This chapter is rounded out with CorpSec themed qualities, life path modules and yet more new toys. The weapons included here are not collected in a single page reference nor are they included in the one are the end of the first section.

Unconventional Warriors covers mercenaries, pirates(!) and militias of the Sixth World, starting with a brief overview of the International Mercenaries Association, the licensing organization for mercenaries who ensure a particular code of conduct and professionalism among its members and tries to clamp down on unlicensed mercenaries. A good organization to have around and it makes sense for the world. Several mercenary groups are covered, some of which have been reference before, some of which are new and two of which are outside of the IMA and definitely enemy groups. While this is good world background it is probably of limited usefulness in most campaigns. The pirate section covers both groups and locations which makes it easy to plot intersection with where your games take place, everyone needs a pirate themed game on occasion, right? The militias are organized armed groups with political agenda, not terrorists but they may work with such. Again, lots of good adventure ideas here and they go out of their way to show what sort of work runners could find with these groups. The section ends with new qualities, new life path modules and NPC stats than can be used for members from these various groups.

Lethal Arts New Techniques and Options is where the new rules are, building from the small unit tactics rules, this adds mixed unit tactics as a skill and a bunch of maneuvers that can be executed with it along with a set of new maneuvers for small unit tactics. These are pretty much the only rules introduced in the book and they are of marginal utility.

The book ends with a set of Adventure Seeds, which I approve of, and almost all of them hook into pieces of the book, also a good choice. A few needed a little more fleshing out, but still a good addition. What the book does not end with is an index or a compilation of the new qualities and life modules, which are split across two sections, as are the new weapons and equipment (setting aside the bleeding edge tech) making finding some things more difficult than needed. A chart of all the new weapons and separate ones integrating them into the existing equipment lists would be a useful PDF addition.

Street Lethal is an interesting resource providing new tools for the GM and players, but it lacks focus, covering a lot of ground in different directions. But, on the GM side, it is well worth it for the information on corporate security and new toys to dangle in front of the characters.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Street Lethal (Advanced Combat Rules)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Seattle Sprawl Digital Box Set
by William J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2018 21:22:22

This is a terrible product. You literally get more information from any other Seattle source book, and on top of that compared to something like the old Denver Boxset, this product is laughable.

The map is not only useless because it has no legend, its inaccurate. Things like the Renraku Arcology and Aztechnology Pyrimad are just in the wrong place or missing. Thankfully the German publishers have released their map on drivethru so you can pick that one up and it's in English, so you'll be able to actually use it.

There is just such a lack of detail on Seattle. It doesn't update on any of the movers and shakers. Like I'd like to know what the mafia, triads, or any organized crime are up to. Or even the location of mega corporate headquarters. But if you want those kinds of details, just look up literally any other Seattle sourcebook.

The only thing this product does half decently, is it advances the metaplot and allows players to be a part of Governor Brackhaven's downfall, which they've been setting up earlier in campain books like Splintered State. So if that's something you care about, it might be worth it for that. Else never, EVER touch this product.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Seattle Sprawl Digital Box Set
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Street Lethal (Advanced Combat Rules)
by Timothy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2018 20:42:25

So, after a series of books about mages or magical threats, we finally get something oriented towards non mages. But, unfortunately, its not really all that useful, though the fluff on mercenaries, corporate security, and such is well written. This book is basically a Gun Heaven + 10 Merc 2 smooshed together. About half the guns are 5e stats for stuff in earlier Gun Heaven books or other 4e products. A few interesting new pieces and a whole bunch of Warhammer-esque "Krime" brand weapons. Shotgun hammers, personal gatling guns, and that sort of thing.

A big section is on 'future tech' weapons in case you want to turn your Shadowrun game into Eclipse Phase with anti grav and personal shields and all that. But with it all being speculative and said to be not really working, so.... okay?

Unfortunately, there is nothing in this book that actually plays towards street samurai or does anything to address the fact that street samurai have real trouble with the hordes of magical threats (bug spirits, shedim, toxic spirits, etc) that are all the rage in the books over the last year. There's nothing in this book that doesn't work at least as well for the adepts and mages in the group. Though the few new mechanics are pretty much just more "small unit tactics" actions that are generally more trouble than they are worth, same as the originals in Run & Gun.

I enjoyed reading the material in the book, but I doubt there's much in it that will ever see a use in a campaign beyond the fluff of someone using an Ares Striker instead of the similar Colt Manhunter. Though if your gameplay style tends more towards the kinds of antics Krime encourages, you'll find more useful stuff than most.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Street Lethal (Advanced Combat Rules)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Street Lethal (Advanced Combat Rules)
by Alexandre C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2018 15:02:12

(Note: English is not my mother tongue. So I may have misunderstood some points in the book, misspoken some remarks, or left gross grammatical errors. If so, please let me know)

It is not useless content, far from it, but it is far from being really indispensable

We have a first part devoted to weapons and equipment in general. Not many, but it's mostly déjà vu. Even half a page of fluff each time (well written though), some weapons have the same statistics as already existing weapons or almost so that overall this part is just filling, except for some interesting ideas like daedalus, correction on gatlings or new narcojet weapons.

The second part is on experimental equipment. So experimental there's not even a price / avaibility. Certainly it makes laugh 5mn and it can inspire the game master, but as above it is a lot of space taken for not much.

Then a part on corporate social security and how it works, in action as in the head. Pretty cool, equipment level there's some interesting stuff in this part, even if it's not too oriented for PC. On the other hand, lore level, it is excellent, with a description of the functioning of the security of the largest corpos, of their differences... One can nevertheless reproach that all the equipment of the book is in three different parts, but let us admit.

Then full bg part on the military organizations of the 6th world: mercenaries, pirates, militias... quite nice, not necessarily useful depending on your settings, but always cool to have. I have a downside to the statblock given in this part, which seems to me... not diversified enough. It's nice to have "updated" IHR stats for example but things are presented as if these stats covered both IHR and a veteran mercenary a few years at most.

Finally last part on tactics, maneuvers, small unit tactics... which are well done, which answer problems of the game (like there is one for takedown to several a heavily armoured target, aka big spirit with to much hardened) but which requires... many test. Like a perception test of everyone, then an armory/other test of those who passed, then the small unit tactic test of the participants, then the one of the leader.

Same problem as usual in fact: a lot of interesting background in what the book talks about, but some parts numbers are... hazardous. There is a lot of interesting equipment, but most of it is not really for PC. It is more "experimental" equipment, or equipment intended for corporate needs (defending a position for example, which is rarely what runners do), or even equipment presented in terms of stat but more interesting by the lore that goes with it.

I think it's more of a book for MJ and players have little interest in getting it, except as part of a campaign in close corporatist or mercenary relationship.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Shadow Spells
by cs w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2018 16:37:59

While there are new spells and player options, where this book really shines is world building and fluff. It delves into some detail about new magic factions like gangers, political groups, militarty, cults and a few others. While I feel a lot of this content should have been included in street grimoire, it comes across more as afterthoughts that a malicious conspiracy to steal your nuyen. I would certainly reccomend picking it up, particularly if you are a GM looking for new plot hooks.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Shadow Spells
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Chrome Flesh
by cs w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2018 16:17:16

Chrome flesh is an excellent book in terms of new options. It has new bioware, genoware, nanoware, qualities, and life modules among other things players can choose. The fluff and world building are solid but a small bit of it, like cyber zombies, do not have rules. The pdf is a little bit pricey for the size but it is full of enough of content that you likely won't regret spending the nuyen.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Chrome Flesh
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook (Master Index Edition)
by Jeff P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2018 12:23:41

The setting is fantastic. But yikes, if this version is supposedly simpler than 4th edition.....I don't want to imagine what kind of a hot mess that edition must have been. I've looked at a fair number of systems, and compare to something "easy-ish" like 5th ed D&D this is a train wreck.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook (Master Index Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook (Master Index Edition)
by Josh W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2018 12:19:17

Good product. Works well on my tablet for when I'm travelling and don't want to lug aroung the massive paper copy I have.

As far as the rulebook itself, it suffers from poor editing and organization and occasionally, poorly explained rules.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech Legends: Prince of Havoc
by Paul E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2018 00:34:26

I have ever loved Stackpole's works, whether with BattleTech, Shadowrun, or Star Wars and, as always, this is an impressive entry to continue the story of the BattleTech universe.

It's too bad there are so many spelling and word errors in the novel.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech Legends: Prince of Havoc
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Rigger 5.0
by Martin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2018 18:54:49

Quick Hits: Good book, but has a lot of fluff

Overall, this is a good accessory. Its greatest quality is the amount of variant rides and such it offers, which is what I wanted out of the book. Readers will be happy with the ways you can customize your rigger; however, the volume of add-ons is more like a chapter or two in the core rulebook as much of the book is dedicated to "establishing the mindset" of a rigger.

That's my main criticism: it has a lot of fiction; “reviews” of the items from “real-life” shadowrunners; etc. Unfortunately, there was probably too much of it – at least half of the text was a setting piece, so it's not much of a real “rules crunch” supplement. I think readers would have been better served with a smaller book with less fluff (and a lower price).

Also, as others point out a lot in these Catalyst books, the editing could have been better, but it did not detract from the overall readability of the book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Rigger 5.0
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 985 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates