Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
BattleTech Touring the Stars: Jardine
by Simon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2020 06:54:29

So, as a person who loves the Battletech Jihad plot line, I was thrilled to get this PDF into my hands. To this days, Jardine - the prime example of the five hidden worlds - remains a world with which I associate much of the mystery and secrets surrounding the Word of Blake. Driven by fiction (The Hunt for Jardine) I was eager to know more about this secretive world where WOB obviously built and maintained an important asset for its plan to dominate the Inner Sphere and the Clans. Although the focus of the 'Touring the Stars' series of PDFs is definitely on the RPG side, there is enough RO(O)M to set up your own BattleMech action besides a running ATOW campaign. There are tables with maps selection, two maps of the planet surface (including one with the strategic invasion map which I like so much), and other details that come handy for Alpha Strike and Total Wardare sessions. In my opinion, every Jihad should get this to round up her/his collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech Touring the Stars: Jardine
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

BattleTech Touring the Stars: Jardine
by Simon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2020 05:54:05

Providing a little more in depth glimpse of the wob machinations it's focused primarily on a time of war

Would have been good to have seen a little more battlemechyness, maybe a single map battle armour/infantry vehicular action as Dr Stephens escapes from some Domini 52nd troops to escape the planet, maybe a corrisponding alpha strike version to bring the products into line



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: 30 Nights (Campaign Book)
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/25/2020 08:37:24

Shadowrun: 30 Nights is a Campaign Book for Shadowrun detailing Ottawa and setting 30 “Nights” worth of adventurers there. There is some good information and some interesting adventures, some of which can be adapted to other situations, but not a required book unless you want to play in Ottawa or need ideas for adventures set during the Blackout part of the metaplot.

Shadowrun: 30 Nights, is a Campaign Book for Shadowrun, Sixth World Edition, letting players experience the UCAS blackouts (as discussed in Shadowrun: Cutting Black) directly.

It begins with an introduction with describes the terrible things that happened in the 1977 New York Blackout and leads into a brief discussion of the layout of the nights/ adventures. Then there is one of the required fiction pieces. Next we get a description of Ottawa, UCAS, it is short (twelve pages) but useful including such things as talismongers and weird mana zones within the city but it is lacking a map of the city, which would be exceedingly helpful as places are continually referenced in the city description and the adventures that follow.

The meat of the book is the 30 Nights, each one a situation that must be coped with, overcome or avoided. The nights are divided into several chains of linked sequences if the GM wants to focus on particular themes.

The adventures are varied, starting with building up a safe haven followed by traditional shadowrunner missions, some mysteries, some magical threats, a mixed bag. Most are more adventure frameworks than full adventures requiring considerable work from the GM to make playable. Many of them look fun but a few have real issues. One of these is a mystery where you are trying to learn about a sinister group performing rituals, there are three points where to move to the next stage one particular clue need to be found and that right leap must be made to move forward, and two of those require getting information from people who are likely to be uncooperative if not hostile. This is poor design. Another in a jail break from a Lone Star containment facility that is covered in less than three pages and has no map (in fact, nothing has a map).

Also, there is some issue with the framing of the whole Blackout/30 Nights, it is predicated on something all mysterious knocking out all the functioning tech in multiple cities across the UCAS. So, for the entire adventure period, there is no way to reliably access the Matrix, no power, no vehicles, the GM is reminded not to screw over decker and rigger characters with this by directly trashing their stuff but they are still crippled as characters. There is a little discussion of this in the first few nights but not much about practical things such as how do you network with your contacts without the Matrix (no phone, no text) and no working vehicles?

There are a great number of NPCs, both named and generic, given stats in the back of the book along with a new creature and many new creature powers. Weirdly, there is an index to the NPCs right after the NPC section which is alphabetical, exactly as they are organized just a few pages before. Now, if this also noted which Nights the NPCs showed up in, this might actually be useful however, it does not and just seems like repetition (and, no, there is no other index).

There is fun to be had here but the GM should not be expecting to be able to pick the book up and use adventures, additional work will be needed. The GM should also make sure this kind of semi-apocalypse setting is what the players are interested in, as it is Shadowrun but maybe not the play experience everyone is looking for.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: 30 Nights (Campaign Book)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Sixth World Activity Book
by Haden H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2020 19:42:53

Fun little PDF coloring book from the makers of Shadwrun. Basicly old SR artwork in B&W to print out and color. Murders the black ink, but was fun to color everything in with the kids.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Sixth World Activity Book
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

BattleTech: Shell Games
by Trevor R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2020 10:44:03

Jason writes an excellent book as always, the ending was not what I was expecting. I particularly don't like the Dark Age, even less than the Jihad, however, the recent novels have been of particularly better calibre than the previous MWDA novel series.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Shell Games
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Dreamchipper
by Michael d. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2020 16:25:28

This is an underapreciated module. The structure is really well done, the plot is quite simple and not overly convoluted. The debugging sections offer enough tips and tricks to get the module back on the rails (in case your players throw a monkey wrench at you). The story can be easily lifted and ported to later editions of shadowrun and or other systems. The stat blocks are something else entirly. However, this is an absolute classic and is one of my go-to adventures when running one-offs and (re)introducting players to the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Dreamchipper
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

BattleTech: Activity Book
by Michael A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/10/2020 17:45:52

Dang, so I can learn reading, coloring, and the optimization of medium lasers at the same time!?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Activity Book
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Spy Games
by Barnaby S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2020 05:26:30

Great design and layout, consistent with the origins of Shadowrun. Easy to integrate Denver into my own ideas and experience in the setting. Questions already conceived answered quickly. Works in well with Denver story arc modules I already had. A consistent piece that is kind to an experienced GM that wants to do a lot of preparation though not wanting to waste time doing unnecessary prep.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Spy Games
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Quick-Start Rules (Free RPG Day 2012)
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2020 15:15:03

For the past few days I have soloed my way through Shadowrun Quick Start Rules Free RPG Day 2012. It is available for free at DriveThruRPG. There are 18 pages of rules, but it really does not contain everything you need. I used Black Hack to play it and the Mythic Game Master Emulator to solo it. The short adventure (6 pages) is for a Game Master and several player characters. Four characters are provided and I used them plus two more. During the first scene my hacker died. Scene two I hired another one. During scene three I was contacted to do another mission (Shadowrun Chasin' the Wind - 35 pages). Actually, it ends up being a total of three missions. My favorite scene was when my characters walked into a pizza joint to meet a contact. They saw two ghouls coming out with two pigs they had stolen from the back of the restaurant. My characters started a big battle, killed the ghouls, rescued the pigs, and trashed the restaurant. They were then banned from the restaurant. It was a nice place, a bit out of the way. During the evening was when I had the biggest surprise. We were sleeping in an office in a lab building. Someone bumped a trash can on the way to the washroom and out jumped an Amazonian Spider Beast. Yes, more gun fire and the nasty thing managed to escape. They did complete all of the missions. Your turn . . .



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Quick-Start Rules (Free RPG Day 2012)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

BattleTech: Classic BattleTech RPG
by Kalle P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2020 01:00:54

PDF without bookmarks. In our day and age, this should be a thing.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Classic BattleTech RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Cutting Black (Plot Sourcebook)
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/09/2020 14:14:57

Shadowrun: Cutting Black is a sourcebook for Shadowrun and lets you know how and where the metaplot is going with the Sixth World edition of the setting. It is mostly written in an engaging “what is happening?” style gathering fragmented information and shaping it into something coherent. It is almost all primary “in world” data with no authorial analysis, so you only get to see what the people involved can see with no explanations or looks behind the curtain. If you like that sort of sourcebook, it is a fun ride. I have some issues (placed at the end of the review to avoid spoilers) but I found it an engaging read.

Shadowrun: Cutting Black, is a Plot Sourcebook for Shadowrun, Sixth World Edition, this particular book provides an overview of what changed in the world as the editions rolled from 5th to 6th. Spoilers ahead so stop reading the review here if you want to experience them first hand

The material in this product is presented as an in game artefact of information, which is interesting, if disjointed, presented with information scattered and covering weeks of actual time as it was reported on the shadow boards. The information gathered from fragmentary news reports, first hand data being broadcast and other scraps of data that could be dug up.

Following an introduction, laying out the theme of the book, as is traditional, there is one of the ubiquitous fiction sections and then another, shorter one, leading into Ruptured Detroit. Long story short, Damien Knight and Ares brought all the toys to stomp a massive bug hive under Detroit and it did not go so well. Ares losses were huge, Knight is gone and Detroit turned into a battle ground between bugs and people and mixes of the two. This event is the catalyst for the rest of the events that follow.

Next section, Ghost Army, the UCAS mobilizes and sends a major force to intervene in Detroit and it just vanished. Roughly one hundred thousand soldiers and their equipment (and the area they were passing through) just gone. No explanation given but some very evocative stories from investigating where the army vanished from.

Next section, Blackout, which details the UCAS Government’s response, including abridging the Business Recognition Accords that gives the megacorporations such power. Then cities start going dark, all power and technological systems failing, the cause: unknown. But it causes havoc throughout the UCAS and only the UCAS.

A long fiction section leads to UchrASh which details further bad things happening to the UCAS, invasions from Quebec and some of the NAN states, which are not very successful by cause more troubles. Chaos erupting among the political classes in DeeCee and drumroll please St. Louis and Seattle breaking away from the UCAS to become free(ish) cities.

Detroit Now looks at what the current state of play is in Detroit, who has power, what kinds of opportunities are there to make money and what survived the bugs and the bombs. A great resource for Detroit after the disaster.

Next Atlanta, somewhere outside the UCAS!, gets an update in Atlanta Now! A short section bringing Atlanta up to date and its new status as the home to Ares Macrotechnology. But nice to see the CAS getting some time.

As the Dust Settles looks at some events outside of the UCAS even: the fall of the UK’s New Druidic Movement government and what replaced it, problems in the NAN and Quebec, and a little more.

The last page of the book is the only new game information with Sixth World stats for insect spirits. However, without support material, they are not very useful in and of themselves. No index.

Cutting Black is an interesting read but the lack of actual, well, information on what is happening (rather than just the in-game perspective on it) is deeply frustrating for a GM. Yes, it is a new edition, the Game Designers want to shake things up and tease new secrets to reveal later. I get it. But it makes it far less useful as a resource than it could be. Worse, from the perspective of me as a GM and my Shadowrun game (and I suspect for other long running SR campaigns), it makes a set of big, setting changing moves in the Metaplot . . . that cut across how my Shadowrun campaign has been developing the setting. I have a deep and abiding hatred of major changes made to the setting without involving the people who actually play and GM the game. And the changes here are significant enough that I either have to totally change my campaign or part ways with the new metaplot. As the new metaplot as presented in the book is rife with major actors taking stupid pills, unexplained choices, continued privileging of magic and dragons over megacorporations and technology and other sheer absurdities, I know which I am path I am following. So, while this book was an interesting read, it has almost no use to me as a Shadowrun sourcebook.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Cutting Black (Plot Sourcebook)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: First Edition
by Rion S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2020 14:34:17

Just so you don't get your hopes up, this is a physical scan of the original product, not a natively digital PDF. Not a particulary great one at that. Quite usable though.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: First Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Cutting Black (Plot Sourcebook)
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2020 02:08:31

I really like the shadowrun setting and eagerly devour everything from this product line but I was kinda dissapointed with this book. It backed away from doing anything new and interesting, the biggest plot point in this book is basically a rehash of Chicago's plot. Chicago's plot wasn't bad per se, but it has been part of the setting for a decade now and I was hoping for something new. They flirted with big changes in the UCAS section, but then backed off. rreally the only significant developments could be made in a bullet point list with maybe a page of explanation split between all of them. So while this book promises big changes to the SR world, the actuall changes are pretty minor.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Cutting Black (Plot Sourcebook)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Kill Code (Advanced Matrix Rules)
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2020 02:04:49

More Matirx options, and advanced rules. This book is well-written and useful, that's all I can ask for.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Kill Code (Advanced Matrix Rules)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun, Sixth World Core Rulebook
by William H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2020 01:21:43

Only had a layman's understanding of SR5, but SR6 feels like Catalyst overcomplicated what was already complicated and simplified/cut things that worked very well.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun, Sixth World Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1070 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates