Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Iron Gazetteer
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2020 12:45:10

Full Disclosure: I was a patron of this project for Halls of the Mountain King for PF 1E.

This is essentially the Player's Guide to the Halls of the Mountain King module. It adds depth to that campaign. It's not essential, but it is so very, very helpful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Iron Gazetteer
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Halls of the Mountain King for Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2020 12:19:32

Full Disclosure: I was a patron of this Open Design project for PF 1E.

A dwarven hold has opened for the first time in years. Get to the mine, save the miners, defeat the forces of Greed. I highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Halls of the Mountain King for Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Halls of the Mountain King 4E
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2020 12:18:19

Full Disclosure: I was a patron of this Open Design project for PF 1E.

A dwarven hold has opened for the first time in years. Get to the mine, save the miners, defeat the forces of Greed. I highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Halls of the Mountain King 4E
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creature Codex for 5th Edition
by Joseph C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2020 14:37:23

Essential for a DM whose players have seen it all or slain it all. Some of my favorite creatures:

  • New Dragons, including/especially the Light Dragon and the various drakes (Fey & Bathhouse drakes are awesome)
  • Lots of new golems, including the Altar Flame golem for temples, the Keg Golem for dwarves and other alcohol enthusiasts, and lesser golems for lower level characters (GREAT to have)
  • New fey, including archfey, which I feel is one of the biggest holes in the core Monster Manual
  • New Demon Lords and Archdevils that are evocative and interesting, regardless of your campaign setting
  • Angels, another area drastically unserved by the Monster Manual
  • Interesting statblocks for kobolds, derro and goblins

Like the Tome of Beasts, not every monster in this book will strike your fancy or fit well into your campaign--but I guarantee that many of them will, and your players will talk about them for years to come.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creature Codex for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Tome of Beasts for 5th Edition
by Joseph C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2020 14:09:21

Many of the monsters in this book may not fit your campaign setting--but some of them will. And those monsters will terrify and mystify your players. You will have fun running them, describing them. Tome of Beasts fills a lot of important gaps in the Monster Manual, with lots of interesting new dragons, fiends and fiendish lords, TONS of badly needed fey, interesting kobolds, a kingdom of ghouls, and a whole lot of weird stuff that will delight and inspire. The art is evocative and the monster design is inspired. Get this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tome of Beasts for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

KOBOLD Guide to Worldbuilding
by Dylan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2020 23:13:25

This is a really great resource. Rather than a how-to manual, just a collection of essays by authors with very different perspectives. There are many points I can take from here in my gaming (I GM a fantasy game in a custom setting) and the nature of the works means each time I read an essay again I get some new insight.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
KOBOLD Guide to Worldbuilding
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Complete KOBOLD Guide to Game Design
by MAR A. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2019 13:58:57

This guide has changed for the best how I design my adventures for D&D.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Complete KOBOLD Guide to Game Design
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Deep Magic: Void Magic
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2019 09:31:14

The void beckons you and welcomes you into its swirling embrace. Feel yourself fall ever further into the nothingness of nonexistence, and know that only by doing so can you truly become.

Does what it says on the tin.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deep Magic: Void Magic
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Tales of the Old Margreve for 5th Edition
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2019 00:43:05

This is the setting for your wilderness party. Rangers, Druids and other wilderness focused PCs have a chance to shine. A colorful environment that looms large and becomes, not only a feature but, a character unto itself. A must for Midgard fans.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of the Old Margreve for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Zobeck Gazetteer (Pathfinder RPG)
by Felicia H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2019 14:33:01

The write up for this book is deceiving. There is no Clockwork Domain in this book. There are cleric clockwork spells, but the write up for the domain is in the Midgard Campaign Setting. Also, there is no Gypsy magic. I have no idea where that is, I haven't been able to find it so far in any of the other Midgard books that I have. And last but not least, there are NO Feats in this book.

Besides the glaring omissions, this is a good book. It's mostly fluff with a great write up of the city's past and each district. There are SOME player options which include spells, magic items, and the lust domain. However, most, if not all of the spells appear in Deep Magic. If you want more player options, then pick up the Players Guide to the Crossroads.

Get this book if:

  • You love reading lore
  • If you’re looking to get into Midgard and Zobeck, but don't want to get Deep Magic
  • You want the lust domain
  • If you like potentially game breaking magic items. (looking at you Scoundrels Gambit)

Otherwise skip this one and get the Players Guide to the Crossroads, Deep Magic and the Midgard Campaign Setting.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Zobeck Gazetteer (Pathfinder RPG)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Tome of Beasts for 5th Edition
by Jeremie C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2019 21:22:06

Absolutely fantastic product, adding a swath of creatures that will sensibly fit in many settings, and will keep adventurers on their toes with unfamiliar foes. My favorites were the creatures of the fey.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tome of Beasts for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Midgard Heroes Handbook for 5th Edition
by Nick L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2019 08:37:49

We need more 5E supplements like this. Let's face it: D&D 5E is great, but it's a bit on the shallow side. It doesn't take long before all the classes become familiar, the backgrounds all look like old news, and you glaze over the list of feats looking for something original. Enter the Midgard Heroes Handbook. Wow, this is basically your Player's Handbook 2, with an insane selection of new races, subclasses, backgrounds, feats, new spellcasting rules and hundreds more spells & magic items.

The book of course shines if you play in Midgard, which is fast becoming my favorite fantasy campaign setting. This book is also one of the main reasons why I love Midgard. The Midgard Worldbook does a great job of describing an amazingly unique world based on the greatest pantheon ever (Norse mythology), but it's the Midgard Heroes Handbook that turns this unique feeling into unique gameplay. As a player, you'll find here cool options you can use in other campaign worlds, like a Circle of Stones druid, or the Seer background, and countless more. The new races and many backgrounds are of course tied to Midgard, so it would be DM's option to allow them in your other games. As a big druid fan I was hoping for more druid circles than just the one here, especially when there's 2 new sorcerous bloodlines, 3 new warlock pacts, 11 new wizard traditions and 17 new cleric domains! The martial and rogue characters get new subclasses too.

If you're not familiar with Kobold Press, you can basically expect quality content, writing and layout that rivals (and sometimes surpasses) material from Wizards of the Coast. As a DM, all Kobold Press content is automatically considered official, no question.

All in all, you can't go wrong with this book. I'm a HUGE Kobold Press fan, and this book will turn you into one too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Midgard Heroes Handbook for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Midgard Heroes Handbook for 5th Edition
by Paul S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2019 16:03:48

This book blew me away. The amount of work and detail that went into this book is monumental.

I started my game journey in 1979 playing d&d. I was hooked ever since. I have played most of the rpg out there in the past and can appreciate ones where there is so much attention to detail. Having worked in the games industry as a Canadian distributer I habe seen countless products. i have worked with many companies ans know what it takes to make a book like this.

Kobold Press is doing one of the best jobs I have seen!

This worldbook is a must have. The gm has access to so much detail to flesh out a very unique game world. The mashuP of Norse - Egyptian - scandanavian etc etc has something for everyone. There is no shortage of content to run in any directions your players take you!

I really like the races and cultures. It brings a new dimension to a gaming experience.

I am a former archaeologist and also studied mythologies. love love love what this book invokes. Our games are played out in our imagination. We need books like this to help paint the great stories we want to play out in the theatre of our imagination.

There are very few resources in one book that can cover such detail as this!

This is the perfect companion for the players books to flesh out more detail in your game.

I highly reocmmend running this campaign world for Pathfinder or Dungeons & Dragons.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Midgard Heroes Handbook for 5th Edition
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2019 15:06:45

A solid purchase containing alot of interesting ideas that will be able to faciliate play for a long time. The nation states within the book are very interesting and capable of being moulded into a short or long campaign depending.

Its also a book that suppports "lonely fun" when you don't have a gaming group on hand to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
KOBOLD Guide to Plots & Campaigns
by Ciaran O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2019 15:59:41

Clear, systematic advice. Lots of great examples of use in gamplay... the experience of the authors shows through throughout.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
KOBOLD Guide to Plots & Campaigns
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 473 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates