Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Heavy Gear Blitz! Swords of Pride
by Andrew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2010 20:33:44

Another great book for Heavy Gear Blitz! covers all of the standard army compositions, plus all of the lesser know factions within the AST. A must have for any Southern faction player.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Swords of Pride
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gear Up Issue 2
by Tom C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2010 19:55:11

Love this issue. I especially like how the infantry, Combat Lock and Projectile charts are laid out. It makes it really easy to understand how things are grouped and how they work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gear Up Issue 2
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gear Up Issue 1
by brandon o. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2010 01:57:38

its great! i loved it and love the heavy gear setting



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gear Up Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heavy Gear Blitz! Terra Nova Gambit - The War for Terra Nova Book 2
by Bob A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2010 07:57:05

The good:

Artwork is really nice, much better than previous books in the series.

Provides rules for Utopian armies, which are very unique.

Includes special characters for CEF/PAK and Utopia.

Advances the storyline.

The bad:

Not really a "something for everyone" book. Unless you're running a league or a CEF/Utopian army, there might very well be nothing rules-wise here for you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Terra Nova Gambit - The War for Terra Nova Book 2
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gear Up Issue 2
by Mark P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2010 23:36:12

Wow Look what we get to look forward to in up coming months. Heavy Gear AREANA!!!! SWEET!!!!! When is this great book going to be dlc?!?!? I love Gear up! You advertise your sweet merchandise. You give a great shout out to all of the community with showing off all of their paint skills. You have one great A+ of a magazine. It totally punks out White Dwarf! I look forward to your next issue!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gear Up Issue 2
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gear Up Issue 1
by Mark P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2010 17:32:15

Great read! Way to go POD! Can't wait till the next issue make sure you have more Koala picks :) and Dingos!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gear Up Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Operation: Drop Bears Dive!
by Mark P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2010 01:09:25

OMG guys I will tell you no lies I am a total noob when it comes to the game. I have only won 2 out of 25 or so games! Honestly I don't care the game is so fun and this book is cream of the crop! I love the art and the added story! The epic added missions or scenarios are as good as they get! It got me so excited to get down to my local hobby store Avatar Games here in Las Vegas shameless plug I know :). I had to get me some Koalas and I had to get a few boxes! Too bad they had only one and it was an employees personal box and he was kind enough to give me his box until the order comes in. You Heavy Gear Blitz Fans Get this book its well worth the $15.00 and help DP9 keep this great company pounding out great books for us! I know another shameless plug :). Seriously if you love the Heavy Gear art and paint you will love this book! I even had to buy the Drop Bear patches today to be exact. Thats how cool this book is! Just one mans opinion. Trust me you'll love yourself and hate yourself because you will go buy yourself some dingos, koalas, and dark kodiak!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Operation: Drop Bears Dive!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Operation: Drop Bears Dive!
by Patrick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2010 09:13:05

I was originally going to give Operation: Drop Bears Dive! a four star rating but then I thought better of it. Drop Bears is a book that doesn't quite know what kind of book it wants to be, but in this particular case that's actually a good thing. The book is built around a single regiment and does a very good job of developing its history and culture. It also introduces a few interesting character who all play an important role in the regiment, from it's commanding officer to it's engineers and technicians. Details such as equipment and generic NPC stats are also included. The book introduces a few new units, which are all beautifully painted and showcased. While it is mostly aimed at Northern players, Southerners will also find something to have fun with. A lot of new art is on display as well, and while some of it is a bit flat, the more painted pieces are great. As the previous reviewer noted, the presentation is top notch from beginning to end. There are a few scenarios included, which I personally don't care much for, but that's just a matter of taste. In a game as flexible as Heavy Gear Blitz!, scenarios are rather restrictive and seem unnecessary as it is very easy to give your standard game a certain narrative flair by simply putting some thought into the specific objectives that are chosen. For what it's worth, the scenarios offered here are neither better nor worse than those offered in previous campaign books, if you enjoy them. Where the book seems a bit schizoid is when it attempts to serve both as a roleplaying and as a wargaming supplement. While it does a good job at both, it might annoy some readers who are looking for one or the other. Stats are included for Blitz! as well as for 2nd and 3rd editions of the Heavy Gear RPG. Hopefully, if and when a 4th edition comes out, supplements such as this one will benefit from not having to cover multiple incarnations of the same game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gear Up Issue 1
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2010 17:23:34

DP9's Gear Up reminds me of what White Dwarf should have been. Not only does it have advertisements for new products and previews of upcoming supplemental books, but it has exclusive content like special characters, sample armies (complete with things like suggested strategies on how to best utilize each Combat Group and extra TV to use how you see fit), but the Pod has also seen fit to include step-by-step instructions (including photos) on how to utilize new tactics for new armies (like SIN Clusters).

The first issue even includes a Field Test section in which the Pod looks at changing Defense modifiers so that each Gear or Strider is more balanced, breathing life into long-time-iconic-yet-practically-under-performing machines like the Mammoth.

Oh, and I have to mention the art. DP9 has recently contracted a new artist (who did the cover among other pieces), and she's great. The art of Heavy Gear has always been awesome, but she's just upped the ante. The regular artists make their usual contributions as well, making this one of the best-looking supplements I've seen.

Oh, and speaking of art, there's a new one-page-per-issue comic included. If you've ever wondered about the Prime Knights and what they have to do with the history of Terra Nova, you might want to tune in. Revealing stuff.

Gear Up Issue 1 is probably the biggest clue as to the Pod's new direction under new management, as it shows a bigger focus on making Heavy Gear Blitz! more player-friendly. And that includes the fact that it's FREE.

(Beat THAT, Games Workshop!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gear Up Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Operation: Drop Bears Dive!
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2010 14:40:12

I recently re-engaged the Heavy Gear game after dropping out of it about 8 years ago. A friend in the business ran a demo of Blitz for me and sucked me back in. While I love the simplified ruleset that Heavy Gear Blitz represents, one of the things I missed from the "old days" was the richness and depth of detail that DP9 always put into the worlds they created. Sure, the RPG sourcebooks were still out there, and Blitz was targetted more at folks that wanted to have a very fast, very deadly, very playable miniatures experience. But as a gamer who at one time owned every yellow and black striped book they put out, I missed the detail.

I am happy to say that Operation: Drop Bears Dive has me fully re-engaged.

The storyline and development of the 08th Air Assault Regiment is up to par with any of the amazing storylines that the Pod assembled in the past. The unit has a rich history and a past that saw its share of action and its share of shame. The development of the Bear line of gears into the Koala is well written and plausible, even - no, especially - in the cash-strapped WFPA. The characters introduced are ready to drop into a roleplaying experience - fleshed out and anything but 2 dimensional.

For the Blitz player looking to get some new crunchies, there is plenty to be had here. In addiiton to the obvious addition of the 08th "Crazy Eights" and the Koala and Dingo series gears, there are scenarios, rules for playing with characters in Blitz (which while repeated from the Shattered Peace series are a must have for Blitz players), Legacy Unit rules for resetting the timeframe to the original CEF invasion during the War of the Alliance, plenty of great scenarios, and City Militia rules for the South. Some may complain that bits of this don't fit into the story of the Crazy Eights and the WFPA, but there is something for any player of Blitz with a Polar, PRDF, or CEF army.

I am a stickler for layout and design, and this book continues the trend we saw with Terra Nova Gambit - a move towards a slightly different art style that captures the essence of the world while paying homage to what came before.

All in all, a great buy and a great read. I expect to be painting a Crazy Eights force soon, and to enjoying a well written expansion to the HG 'verse for some time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Operation: Drop Bears Dive!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heavy Gear Rulebook 2nd Edition
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/15/2010 13:08:02

Heavy Gear 2nd Edition was one of the first tabletop games I bought. It's enjoyable and fun. It's also (or at least to my relatively novice skills when I got it) fairly obtuse.

The universe is well-detailed, and the gameplay is fun, but it took several hours worth of reading just to understand the functions.

However, you get a lot with this book. You get a combined RPG and tactical battle game, as well as a fair amount of flavor (still enough to allow them to publish a ton of sourcebooks, so not too much, but enough to satisfy). The art is top notch (it's no surprise that Dream Pod 9 sells the art in books as well).

It's good, it uses a lot of six-siders, but there's something missing in terms of plain examples and explanations.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Rulebook 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gear Up Issue 1
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2010 02:29:48

This is a good looking magazine. I hope Dream Pod 9 gives information for it's other games too, like Jovian Chronicles, Core Command, and event the Silhouette Core rules. QUALITY: Excellent VALUE: Excellent



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gear Up Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gear Up Issue 1
by Dimitri A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2010 09:01:23

About a dozen pages of actual content out of thirty, the rest being advertising material. The 3 star rating would be lower, but it's a free product, so...



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
by Gunther B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2010 20:27:05

I call this one Battletech with Chrome. Easy to play as miniatures and or role playing. Good unit histories and background on the equipment. Well illustrated. Definitely can burn out some ink cartridges, which limits my printing to the GEARs (battlemechs) and has me take my lap top to the gaming session. Well worth it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shattered Peace - The War for Terra Nova Book 1
by Patrick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2009 08:34:51

The new units in the book, the CEF's Stealth Frames and Eden's GOLEMS, are very nice additions and the scenarios seem to be one the whole very good. I wish there had been new models for other factions, but we'll have to wait until the next module for that. The campaign system is also interesting and adds a new dimension to the game, though I personally could have used some examples and more details. It must be said that the system(s) suggested allow for a large degree of freedom for player to personalize the campaign to fit their own tastes.

I have to say, however, that at $20 for 54 pages of material (including some blank forms at the end), this book is seriously overpriced.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shattered Peace - The War for Terra Nova Book 1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 162 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates