Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Gear Up Issue 3
by Jeff S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2012 06:45:19

Simple to download, and very good graphic quality. Written content could use more careful editing, but interesting material. Definitely promoted more interest in Heavy Gear.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gear Up Issue 3
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heavy Gear Blitz! Perfect Storm - NuCoal Field Guide
by Todd A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2012 16:24:53

I have been out of the HeavyGear scene for a while and WOW! this is awesome!! I'm getting in full tilt again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Perfect Storm - NuCoal Field Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gear Up Issue 2
by Edward M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2012 22:39:13

I enjoyed the content. Options were good to great. And you can't beat the price. Thank You for carrying this companies, Dream Pod 9, products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gear Up Issue 2
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gear Up Issue 5
by Jason R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2012 13:12:23

As usual, a fun and informative read. This game is great. If you aren't into it, you are missing out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gear Up Issue 5
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gear Up Issue 5
by Mark P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2012 16:30:53

How can anyone not love this game. Free e-magazines with constant rule changes for balance and the lovely art work is just amazing! Also the fluff additions and expansions to the game for free as well?!?!? Thank you Dream Pod 9 for constantly pushing the envelope and continuing to push out a great product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
by Christos S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2012 11:28:20

Very nice. As complicated as it should be (we are talking about HUGE Mechs).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heavy Gear Blitz! Field Manual - Core Rulebook Revised
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/28/2011 19:20:17

The Heavy Gear Blitz! Field Manual - Core Rulebook Revised is exactly what it says in the tin. Stripped of setting fluff, the pdf presents an updated set of rules for use with all current and upcoming Heavy Gear Blitz products.

The PDF is clear and easy to read, but does lack bookmarks, something that would improve the usability of the product. That said, the rules themselves are presented very clearly, and the addition of flowcharts to handle some of the more involved mechanics is very helpful, especially to players who are still getting into the Heavy Gear tabletop hobby.

Those who are looking to pick this up should be made aware however that while the book has all the rules, it doesn't contain the army lists. For those, you'll have to pick up Locked and Loaded, or any of the other Army Books.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Field Manual - Core Rulebook Revised
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heavy Gear Blitz! Perfect Storm - NuCoal Field Guide
by Brandon F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2011 16:59:06

For those who have been waiting for so long to get in on the action of Heavy Gear, this book provides an amazing background story for the coalition that is referenced as NuCoal. Heavy Gear has always had an amazing background, but this book provides amazing artwork as well as impressive statistics for new army groups and types that can be used both for fun as well as for official Heavy Gear tournaments.

The artwork is flowing and smooth, but made to look rough and rugged, just like the planet it is based on. On top of that, the guys at Dream Pod 9 finally indulged in the city-states that had for so long been in the background and rarely mentioned.

In combination with all this, the storyline that centralizes around some of the characters is given a jump start, filling in the blanks for those who enjoy the role-playing aspect of the game.

The scan itself from DriveThruRPG is also an excellent one, not marked or worn-down, and provides you with plenty to look at and drool over until you've saved up your pennies for future purchases.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Perfect Storm - NuCoal Field Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gamemaster Guide and Screen 2nd Edition
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2011 14:07:28

Normally, I'd give this 5/5, but, I've decided to give it 3/5 for ONE reason: SCAN QUALITY. Whereas the colour maps are quite good (to a degree); the black & white pages are POORLY scanned. They seem somewhat faint (especially the text). Don't get me wrong, I like Heavy Gear, I've collected most of the RPG books (1st & 2nd Edition) over the years.

I thought I'd get the GM screen (with GM guide), which I thought was good for £3.79 instead of £12.61. Now I see why; poorly scanned. The colour maps themselves are ok. Could be scanned at a higher resolution; but, as I said, the black & white screens are not well scanned. The text is somewhat faint (except the bold text).

DP9: get your act straight! I've seen other companies that have done some VERY nice scans of their products. This product is a poor scan. Could be better.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gamemaster Guide and Screen 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Art of Jovian Chronicles Volume 1
by Juan P. P. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2011 09:25:46

Jovian Chronicles is my favorite hard science fiction ever. The art from Ghislain Barbe and company is simply astonishing. Check for The Art of Heavy Gear, too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Art of Jovian Chronicles Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gear Up Issue 4
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2011 04:05:10

Great supplement. Being free only makes it better.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gear Up Issue 4
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Tribe 8 RPG 2nd Edition Player's Handbook
by Chris A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2011 12:51:42

Excellent update to the original Tribe 8 setting. I do recommend getting and reading Tribe 8 1st edition to get the full impact of the changes from one to the other, as this makes the world feel like an evolving one. The editing and spelling do need some work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tribe 8 RPG 2nd Edition Player's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gear Up Issue 4
by Rick v. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2011 00:25:32

My favourite issue so far! Every GU seems to try and outdo the previous ish. Over seventy pages of free reading material is every gamers utopia.

Lots of information on every aspect of the DP9-universe, RPG and tactical. Being a semi-loyal follower of the HGB portion of DP9's Gear driven universe, the highlight for me was definitely the MILICIA write-up. Though the Arena parts come a close second.

The printed version was great, as every aesthetic thingummy is there for a reason and really gives it a professional feel. Though some typos can detract from that, to be honest.

Yet, I cannot bring myself to give it any lower then a five-star rating as it is obvious that the entire publcation was made with lots of love and attention. Sales seem to take a backseat and the love of every writer in this e-magazine for the material he or she is writing about gushes from every page.

In a time of financial crises that is truly something to be treasured.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gear Up Issue 4
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gear Up Issue 4
by Hugh H B. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2011 08:02:53

Another great issue from the Pod folks, lots of good info in this issue



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gear Up Issue 4
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2011 21:54:14

Another great addition to the series. More fluff, more mechanics (test rules... err.. RULE!), more art! I've gotten a lot of good use out of these issues, and this one so far has been one of my favorites! I can't wait for the next issue! Dream pod's on the up and up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 61 to 75 (of 162 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates