Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
White Eagle. Generic U.S. regular cavalry 1865-1880
by Cameron F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2021 15:03:16

Batalov's usual excellent artwork, and very generous number of poses. I particularly appreciate the different uniforms provided for the cavalrymen.

This is another set perfectly crafted for Rebels and Patriots, or The Men Who Would be Kings.

The large number of poses, inclusion of dismounted troopers, and provision of support weapons in the form of Gatlings and light artillery, also mean this set can be used with any rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Eagle. Generic U.S. regular cavalry 1865-1880
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Battle for Eldorado [BUNDLE]
by Steven P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2021 14:03:04

This bundle is a great value: 177 individual images, making up just about any army you could want for playing the Conquest of Mexico , Peru, or an 'imagi-nation' of you choice. For the Spanish, there are cavalry, muskets, crossbows, sword and buckler men, polearms, cannons, cavalry, and war dogs. The sets of Aztek, Mayan, and Inca warriors contain special warrior societies, common warriors, skirmishers, and, for the Toltecs, my favorite: lads throwing gourds filled with live bees.

The artwork is stunnily beautiful, with mirror images for both sides of the figures. All are in profile. I printed mine two images to a page, on 28lb paper. I assemble mine with Scotch Wrinkle-free gluesticks, and get great results. After basing them, I apply a coat of matte Mod Podge.

These figures will be perfect for skirmish games, such as Osprey's "The Men Who Would Be Kings", or possibly "Rebels and Patriots". A little tweaking of the lists should be all it takes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle for Eldorado [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Siberian Bear. Generic Russian-style army in Middle Asia 1864-1880.
by Steven P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2020 15:03:21

This set is a ready to go army for games such as Sword and the Flame. 52 characters, making up Command, Infantry, Cavalry, and Artillery in the style of late 19th century Siberian troops. I printed mine at two pages per sheet of 8-1/2 x 11 inch paper, and the infantry is 25mm, from feet to eyes. I used 28 pound paper, and glue with Scotch winkle Free glue sticks. I find it easier to cut out both halves of the figures, THEN gk\lue them together to get the best allignment,

The artwork is very pleasing, with a great variety of faces, some bearded, some clean shaven, with different hair colors. Horses are if several poses, none 'static' except the ones being used to steady the fire of the dismounted cossacks. some os the cossacks have fur caps, some have the peaked cap. some have lances, some swords, some carbines.

The artillery includes a light field gun, a gatling machine gun, and a lin\mber with horse team. There is a good mix of crew members, including ammo carriers and seargents. There is also a pack donkey.

The infantry is in a good asoortment of poses, firing, defending and charging. These will be exceelent for skirmish games.

The figures are printed with the same art on both sides, simply 'mirrorred'. I have no problem with this, as it makes identifying figures easy from any side of the game table. Bases are NOT provided, but slotted bases are reccomended. I used some folding bases from One Monk miniatures, with good results.

I tuly hope that Vyacheslav Batalov will continue to grow this series, with the forces of Queen Victoria, and the soldiers of the 19th century Indian Army.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Siberian Bear. Generic Russian-style army in Middle Asia 1864-1880.
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

ECW Loyal Alliance. Cavalry 1640-1660.
by Cameron F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2020 10:10:30

The artist's style and attention to detail is wonderful. Batalov knows his subjects well, as shown by the nice differences between his early 30 Years War, and English Civil War period figures. He captures not only the look, but the feel of the era.

The figures are nicely aligned and easy to assemble. They make a lovely and economical alternative to metal miniatures. I plan to use them with The Pikeman's Lament rules.

I am so impressed with Batalov's work that I have bought nearly his entire line of figures.

Cameron Fairchild Texas



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ECW Loyal Alliance. Cavalry 1640-1660.
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for your review. I set as my main goal to convey the feeling of the era!
Firing Blood. European Conquistadors. 28mm paper soldiers.
by Jason P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2020 17:01:50

FANTASTIC companion to the AZTECS and MAYANS. This guy knows his subject, even having the correct type of wardogs the SPANISH used.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Firing Blood. European Conquistadors. 28mm paper soldiers.
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Forest Fury & Golden Roses. Maya & Toltec warriors. 28mm paper soldiers.
by Jason P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2020 16:47:27

BEAUTIFUL artwork. GREAT complement set to the Aztecs and Conquistadors. Bargain price



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forest Fury & Golden Roses. Maya & Toltec warriors. 28mm paper soldiers.
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Lions of Rock. Aztecs warriors. 28mm paper soldiers.
by Jason P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2020 16:44:04

SUPERB artwork. PERFECT mix of warrior types. BARGAIN price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lions of Rock. Aztecs warriors. 28mm paper soldiers.
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Flaming Spear 100BC-100AC. 28mm paper soldiers.
by Giorgio G. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2020 01:51:57

After many years of writing small personal reviews as Verified Purchaser, this is probably the first time I've written something about mirrored paper miniatures. But this is not an exception. This time it is "the exception". Such interesting figures, for many reasons, don't deserve to be overlooked or underestimated imho.

First of all it must be said that it isn't easy to draw historical figures. Unlike the other non-historical genres ( such as fantasy, sci-fi ... ) in this case each figure will be evaluated for its relevance to historical reality. A single color, the position of an object, a small object itself ... cannot be different from what it was. They cannot differ from reality.

And from this point of view these paper miniatures are perfect. All those that I have seen, from the 30-year war, to the English civil war, to the eighteenth-century ones (from the Spanish succession war to the seven-year war, perhaps) are. They are historically perfect. Even this new series about "Antiquity" doesn't disappoint at all.

Further the author's personal drawing style, linear and dynamic at the same time, and the appropriate colors make these pieces in gorgeous figures. Without needing any other words.

Finally, the measurement scale used makes these minis usable with most of the wargaming regulations of the period. Without forgetting that these paper figures, precisely because in digital format, can be resized. And used with other regulations.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flaming Spear 100BC-100AC. 28mm paper soldiers.
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates