Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Game Geek Issue #1
by Patricio C. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2021 00:28:19

As I browsed DTRPG site looking for some printable board games or mini-games I stumble upon this publication. Since I wanted to learn a more about games in general and considering the company behind the magazine was Avalon, a name I consistently see over and over again the games I browsed (including many of them in my wishlist), I decided to give the magazine a chance (it is one Dollar anyways).

There are two documents included in the product, one of the PDFs has 13 pages and the other one 52, I thought they were different but they (at least) start the same, the 13 page PDF looks lik a cut down version of he 52 page version but I do not know really the reason of such an attached document, perhaps a mistake in the moment of uploading the product.

In the first pages reading the magazine I learned about a company called Metagaming that dominated the niche of micro games in the late 80’s and early 90’s (something I totally ignored so the investment in the magazine started paying from the first pages). The Map of the Month section is a promising one, the map is reproduced for printing a the one seen in the section is unusable due to the prominent non related text over it.

Advancing the magazine I found some comics sponsored by ComStar games, probably from their own intelectual property I clicked on the link to see their games offer but the site is dead. I can see the magazine has a varied content up to these pages and after the comics I found a serialized novel.

Adding fiction to the formula is a great move to bring variety however I had rather prefered a stand alone story than a serialized novel and with two pages per issue, this novel probably will take long long time to fold, easy pass, not interested in starting something I could eventually never end to read.

Next comes a section called Multiverse that seems some sort of scenario for a game called S&G (what does S&G stands for?) which I deduce is a war game from the company but unless you are very interested in this game this seve-page game report looked as some sort of “fill in” pages. The publisher assumes the reader knows the game and plays it but as a newcomer I did not find any use of this section so I passed it. I think they could keep in mind that every magazine is first magazine for someone and at least have made a brief explanation about the game so the newcomers could catch up with what they are going to read in the section. Next there is a section called “Paper Make It” talking about some sort of mapping software.

The Review section talks about an obscure (at least to me) game system that is also available in DTRPG. The magazine does not review anything mainstream so after reading almost half of the publication I think the name is misleading, “Game Geek” is too ambitious for this magazine “Avalon Game Geek” or “DTRPG Game Geek” could have been a better choice to resemble the nature of the magazine.

In the other hand you can find some interesting information about things other mainstrain magazines does not cover as it is the Decoder Ring Theater podcast. Although the magazine is perhaps 80% promotion for the Avalon games the price $1 is more than fair if we take into consideration the large expansion (apparently exclusive from the magazine) for the Battle Axe game and the discount coupon for the Arcanum game.

All in all, the magazine feels more like a newsletter than an actual magazine but still is a nice reading for a low price and if you love, play and buy Avalon games, this magazine is a source for games you would want to consider.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Game Geek Issue #1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Avalon Magic, Vol 1, Issue #2, Magical Utility Gear and Spells
by James R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2021 17:50:15

This one isn't worth it. They make the pictures small enough that you can't see what you are getting and do not give a description, which is kind of shady. I bought a couple to see what they were before buying more and I'm glad I did. There isn't any usable content in this, and it is barely readable because of very broken English.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Magic, Vol 1, Issue #2, Magical Utility Gear and Spells
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Fantasy Ships 2
by Shane S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2020 15:24:03

Though its mechanics are a little outdated when compared with a modern RPG, the deckplans and narrative descriptors are helpful and cross-compatible with any system. At its current pricepoint, this item is certainly worth the purchase.

It's also worth mentioning that this is the only supplement I've encountered that includes the layout and stats for a schooner, which I needed for my campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Ships 2
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Fantasy Ships
by Shane S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2020 15:22:42

Though its mechanics are a little outdated when compared with a modern RPG, the deckplans and narrative descriptors are helpful and cross-compatible with any system. At its current pricepoint, this item is certainly worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Ships
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Markets and Merchandise, OpenD6 Version
by Aki S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2019 18:23:39

Overall this a well presented and useful addition to D6 Fantasy games with only a couple of small issues.

  1. No copy edit was done of the final product as there are a number of missing vales that only have the tag "_Value" instead.
  2. The odd layout of the book and lack of bookmarking in the pdf will make using it as a referrence more difficult than it should be.
  3. No combined price lists in the appendixes.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Markets and Merchandise, OpenD6 Version
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Fantasy House, Free Version
by Harry K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2018 19:33:10

As with all of Avalon's products, this has great graphics and easy assembly. Definitely a good way to introduce oneself to their product line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy House, Free Version
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Wizards and Gunslingers
by Jon M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2014 02:12:45

Custom system, but well organized. I haven't played it, but giving 5 stars because it's complete with rules, setting, maps, tools to quickly construct scenarios, put together NPCs and good tips for new GMs. Definitely leans towards creative role-playing and story telling and not for crunchy combat. Good for groups that want to have an adventure, rather than groups who want to compare how many hitpoints their weapon can dish out per round. (You can probably sense my own bias here)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wizards and Gunslingers
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Avalon Models, Skeletons
by Eric E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2014 20:20:57

A nice set. good artwork, and not too many fiddly edges to cut around. I like the bases but the 28mm size has 11 models on a sheet and only 6 bases. A sheet of just bases would be a nice addition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Models, Skeletons
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Fantasy House, Free Version
by Maria M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2013 15:00:38

Beware: this schematics lacks a few tabs that you're supposed to think to cut out yourself or add when you glue the print-out to cardboard. It's the only way to fix the roof on the walls and the door frame on the front wall, unless you use a foam core as a basis. The instructions mention this, but it's not clear why these tabs weren't just marked on the schematics like the other ones.

Also, the schematics mention the "ornate beam tab", but this piece is just not here. I guess it's a left-in reference from a bigger paper model which this house is originally a part of.

This is supposed to be an entry model. The way it is, it's rather confusing, and a poor display of publisher's superior quality.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy House, Free Version
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Avalon Counter Sets, Monsters Set #1
by Roger D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2013 11:32:09

certainly an unusual set of creatures and you can't beat the price. Art can be a tad stilted



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Counter Sets, Monsters Set #1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Avalon Design Elements, Sci-Fi Set 1
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2013 02:47:47

The Sci-Fi elements PDF is 6 pages long, with 3 pages being the actual product. Pages 3, 4 & 5, contain the graphic elements; page 5 (which looks like metal deck plating), could be used for a small battle map, especially if a few pages are printed off.

Pages 3 & 4, look like pieces of metal framing. Page 1 (the front cover), gives you an idea of how to use the product.

It's not bad, but it's not fantastic; but there could also have been some more included.

It looks like the kind of thing a person with decent graphic software and experience could do themselves.

At £0.64 pence you get what you pay for.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Design Elements, Sci-Fi Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Avalon Models Free Sample Jan 2012
by Ken B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2012 18:06:29

This is a very simple package providing 5 ea. figure flats and no other information on any game play. Children could achieve some activity with it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Models Free Sample Jan 2012
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Avalon Design Elements, Celtic Set #4
by Steffon W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2012 07:38:08

Delivered in PDF form. This means if you use Illustrator or InDesign like myself it's difficult to 'pick apart' the elements for use. These would be much more use as vectors or another format like svg. Avoid.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Design Elements, Celtic Set #4
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
The product also comes with a Tiff file of each design element, which can be used by any sort of software, or converted into sny format you like.
Avalon Design Elements, Celtic Set 12
by Steffon W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2012 07:37:16

Delivered in PDF form. This means if you use Illustrator or InDesign like myself it's difficult to 'pick apart' the elements for use. These would be much more use as vectors or another format like svg. Avoid.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Design Elements, Celtic Set 12
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Combat!
by Sc N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2012 07:42:21

Great to do things in modern era, but lacks enemies to fight or foreign forces, the book is all about playing USA Forces which would be fine if you had something to fight against, but it lacks even terrorists, I mean come on not even an AK-47 is listed or an RPG or how to create a non-American trooper for the GM to make NPC's, no Russian or Chinese or European weapons or vehicles, very lame!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Combat!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 59 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates