Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
4AD Game Board: a one-page play sheet for Four Against Darkness
by William B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2020 17:00:23

Edit: The designer of the sheet responded and asked if I had any suggestions for improving the sheet, the mark of a good designer. I do have some suggestions, but they are probably not aligned with selling assets. I'm from the "Howard Roark" school of thought. Utilitarian, functional, versatile, and durable. So I guess my personal preference would be a pre-made spreadsheet with some macros to speed things up, no art on it, and maybe even a VTT package.

Not a bad character sheet. I didn't really care for 4AD itself, and ultimately I wound up just making an excel spreadsheet for characters that was far easier to use since I could do everything on my computer. If you are one of those people who considers writing stuff on paper a part of gaming nostalgia, and that is a thing, this is a decent character sheet.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
4AD Game Board: a one-page play sheet for Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Hi William! Thanks for the rating and review! The game board is indeed geared for those of us who enjoy the "pen and paper" experience of gaming. I'm glad you were able to work out a spreadsheet that worked for your digital needs. If you have any ideas or suggestions for the paper game board, please let me know! Happy gaming!
Hero Kids Compatible Game Master Screen
by Ben T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2020 14:14:35

Good referance material text a little small when printing on to A4 but other than that thumbs up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids Compatible Game Master Screen
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the feedback! If I ever get around to revising this thing, I hope to improve the readability. In any case, I hope you find it useful!
The Wheel of Fate: a Mythic Fate Chart Alternative
by Philippa H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2020 04:13:56

This is a great tool, if you can spare the time and materials to assemble it.

Contrary to the instructions, I was able to construct a working one with very minimal tools; I printed on regular copy paper then stuck the paper to a cut-up cereal box with a regular glue stick. I used a paper clip - bent and clipped with wire cutters - as a spindle for the wheel itself, and sealed the device (and fixed the spindle) using electrical tape. I will seal it more firmly with a stapler when I can.

From a raw usability standpoint, it's quite good, but there are some issues:

  • Due to the material I used, the numbers are quite deep into the device, and may be hard to read in low light
  • The large numbers (%age "yes") are perfectly legible; however, when the background is dark, it can be difficult to read the small numbers. This is especially egregious at the "has to be" and "impossible" probabilities at chaos level 8, which are almost completely illegible. This could be fixed by using black-on-white universally (as at chaos level 1); or by adapting a better color scheme (such as white-on-red) for high chaos levels; or by using white when the background is black.
  • The small text looks a little smudged; I blame my inkjet printer, but it would be nice if the instructions were a few pt bigger as they would then not suffer as much from this issue.

The second issue prevents me from giving it a full 5 stars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Wheel of Fate: a Mythic Fate Chart Alternative
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the constructive feedback! This sounds like an interesting way of constructing the tool. The font sizes used are indeed small and I used alternating gradients to darken / lighten the display based on the Chaos score's "intensity". All the numbers are perfectly legible on my copies, but I'm sure this could vary from printer to printer, so perhaps it sounds better in theory than in practice. The next time I update the file I will consider adjusting the colors to a consistent scheme. I hope you still find the tool useful and thanks again for your input!
4AD Game Board: a one-page play sheet for Four Against Darkness
by Christopher M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2019 14:51:45

Love these sheets. So helpful since I'm just starting out. I'm going to print them out on ancient looking paper (double sided) and bind them together into a small book of adventures.

To that end, a small 1/4" gap between the grid and the character sheets might be helpful since it would allow folding or binding without ruining the grid or character sheets themselves.

(also left a comment on the author's site, and then figured out how to leave a review here!)

One game question I have regarding the grid: Does the entrance always start at the bottom of the short edge of the grid, or can you play it in the middle of the long edge?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
4AD Game Board: a one-page play sheet for Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the suggestion, Chris, that's a great idea! As to your question, p. 25 of the rulebook says to place an entrance room at the bottom center of the map. I don't see why you couldn't draw it on any side, or even in the middle (though you may be dealing with more "fudged" rooms as you reach the edges sooner) with "stairs" that terminate one end of the room, many old school D&D modules have maps like this. Try it out and see!
The Wheel of Fate: a Mythic Fate Chart Alternative
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2019 21:08:04

(Some assembly required)

A beautiful labor of love! As you may have guessed, this is an accessory for the Mythic GM Emulator, and it’s really slick and ingenious to make those oracle questions go quick and easy. If you create a nice wheel, you can even spin it to get a random likelihood for your fate questions if your stuck. Very, very cool.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Wheel of Fate: a Mythic Fate Chart Alternative
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the glowing review! I never even considered spinning it like a roulette wheel... interesting idea!
4AD Game Board: a one-page play sheet for Four Against Darkness
by Darrell C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2019 09:43:12

This is my "go-to" sheet for playing Four Against Darkness (4AD). Everything you need to conduct a 4AD adventure on one sheet. I use my print out sheets on a standard clipboard. Two different map sizes are included with the download. I prefer the 4AD Game Board sheet over the record sheets included in the original 4AD game. This is "Pay What You Want," and I did send some coin their way for this excellent product. Definitely worth it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
4AD Game Board: a one-page play sheet for Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for your glowing review (and the "coin" - haha)! I'm glad you are enjoying the 4AD Game Board and I appreciate your feedback. Happy adventuring!
4AD Game Board: a one-page play sheet for Four Against Darkness
by Ramiro Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 17:38:46

Very good sheet to keep everything on one page. I like the smaller ones for shorter runs and the bigger ones when I feel like spending more time on it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the feedback! I'm glad you found it useful.
The Wheel of Fate: a Mythic Fate Chart Alternative
by Ryan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2018 11:26:14

This has been a MAJOR help in streamlining my understanding and use of Mythic. I use it all the time now, and I find it works perfectly. Construction was very simple, and I just used staples for sealing the booklet. Actually, come to think of it, I also used a staple - precisely placed - to anchor the center hub to the booklet as well!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Wheel of Fate: a Mythic Fate Chart Alternative
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Glad to hear this, Ryan! I've come to use a product called Aleen's Tacky Glue for paper projects. It is essentially the same as your standard (PVA) Elmer's School Glue, wood glue, etc., with a slightly different formulation containing much less water. Of course, staples will do just fine, too, and as you say, an accurately placed one in the "hub" will secure the wheel quite well!
The Wheel of Fate: a Mythic Fate Chart Alternative
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2017 19:41:07

I've been a fan of the Mythic GM Emulator for several years now, and this is a great idea. I was skeptical at how hard it would be to put together, but after going to the local hobby store and picking up the few things I needed to get started, I printed off several sheets and got to work. I took me maybe all of 45 minutes to construct three of them. Not hard at all. And it works like a charm. If you use Mythic for solo roleplaying or for randomness in your regular games, this is well worth the effort to make. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks, Paul! I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates