Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Mutants of Ixx
by Stéphane W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2019 16:59:44

En 4 pages (2 pour le MJ et 2 pour le joueur) on a:

Un système complet; un mini bac à sable avec une carte hexagonale et même un mini "donjon".

De quoi jouer de nombreuses heures, avec un jeu qui tient dans la poche au sens littéral.

Le tout avec une mise en page et des ilustrations très réussies!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutants of Ixx
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Mutants of Ixx
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2019 11:33:21

This art-punk RPG harkens back to mini-comics and zines of the 90s – small and dense and DIY to the core. The entire game, which features a player’s guide and game master’s guide, fits on two sheets of paper, marked to fold into three-panel brochures. I can’t help but think this is a piss-take on bloated multi-volume games. If D&D 5e is Emerson, Lake and Palmer, then Mutants of Ixx is Stiff Little Fingers.

See the rest of my review here.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutants of Ixx
by Wayne R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2019 13:56:00

This game is a bloody gem!

Honestly I can see people getting so much play time out of this very tight ruleset/setting. It's laid out very cleanly and the rules (based on Into The Odd) are concise and to the point! Did I mention the art is very cool?!

The only reason it doesn't have 5 stars is that I think some of the repeated info in the GM pamphlet should have been replaced by a list of kick-ass Relics for players to discover!

Either way, if you don't spend 2 bucks on this, then may the Glowing Maw swallow you whole!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
It Tolls for Thee
by Karim G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2019 09:29:24

This adventure was perfect for running as a one shot for my Meetup group, I used it with Vieja Escuela (a minimalist OSR-ish D&D system) to experiment with.

I was already a fan of Karl's work in the Rad-Hack (soon to review after completing my mini campaign with it) so this one made no exception, it's packed with flavor and fun in one single page and is practically prep-free which is what I needed for this last minute event.

I'm not very experienced as a GM so this was easy to run, I'd recommend it to an aspiring GM in your group to break the ice and experienced ones can just plug it anywhere in their campaign.

Next time, I'll definitely use DCC RPG instead to get the most of the weirdness and gonzo this adventure holds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
It Tolls for Thee
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

OSR Character Sheet
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2018 21:57:32

Fun, functional, and free! This does the job as a character sheet, but what makes it worth downloading vs. other free character sheets is the nice introduction to Stjernberg art. You can almost hear the slime and blood and guts squirting and dripping. For more mayhem, check out Stjernberg's Spores of the Sad Shroom.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OSR Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Spores of the Sad Shroom
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2018 20:32:39

This was a lot of fun! Very theme coherent - blubbering sad fungi everywhere. Talking shrooms. Light-heartedly weird tone. Weird effects, mutations that can happen to characters who ingest shrooms. Treasure is often more interesting and twisted than a pile of coins- "Is this a 'potion of flying' or 'dying'? The label is hard to make out..." "Pickled, Evil Remains", "cracked wine glass which fills with sweet wine if repaired"

Guy Fullerton, who created deservedly well-reputed OSR-type adventure Many Gates of the Gann, and pretty much wrote the book on good design (or rather the chaotic henchmen blog posts) provided feedback (along with several other bloggers and other people) to Karl Stjernberg in making this.

The format is generally clear and the writing is brief but evocative. The OSR-friendly, easily-converted nature of the stats were no trouble, easy for someone with a 1e/S&W/Labyrinth Lord outlook to understand.

Minor quibbles: I wanted some of the monster stats closer to where the monsters are encountered in the text of the adventure, or at least referred to with (stats on page whatever). I was also disappointed not to find undead axolotl stats. I wish the "Black River" and "Where Does the River Go?" sections had not been left for GMs to flesh out like Keep on the Borderlands' "Clearing this tunnel out could lead all the way to Cave of the Unknown, which should be stocked..."

The art is great, and contributes greatly to the fun tone. You can almost smell the funk and feel the wet squish of the shrooms and hear the schlorp of the schleim! The adventure is formatting a very print-ready layout. I usually don't care about printing pdfs but this one I will. On paper, on your bookshelf, it'll look like a zine or underground comix thing.

I also like Karl Stjernberg's character sheet design, which is available for free download as a separate product. It provides a sort of preview of the style of art in Spores of the Sad Shroom.

Very much looking forward what oozes out of Stjernberg's brain and pen next!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spores of the Sad Shroom
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Rad-Hack
by Chris D. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2018 21:03:34

Everything just works. The art is mad. It's a cracking read to boot. Get it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Rad-Hack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Rad-Hack
by Gábor C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2017 05:05:29

So you watched A Boy and His Dog, Stalker, all of Mad Max, and some other movies like these, then played some Borderlands, Stalker, and Fallout, and so on, and now want the same in your tabletop gaming? Right now? Without having to read and memorize hundreds of pages? Look no further!

The Rad-Hack is a superb little game for all your post-apocalyptic roleplaying needs. Minimalist, versatile ruleset. Simple and great mechanics that you can learn and teach your players in about an hour. And lots of freedom for the GM. (Well, the latter can be a bit surprising to those coming from slightly more complex systems, but you'll likely get the feel of it, and will love it. I did.)

The crazy art is excellent. Not realistic at all, but it is inspiring, and sets the mood.

PS: Yes, if you ask me, it's totally worth its price, even if it's a bit higher than the other Hacks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Rad-Hack
by Charles V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2017 12:31:12

This is my favorite Black Hack hack. It just oozes character, and mutagenic glowing fluids. Seriously, the illustrations in this book are fantastic and really make it seem real, or at least, really fun!

The four classes have different ways of generating their stats, which seems very apt. Robots are a point-buy system, humans roll 4d6 and drop lowest, mutants really roll the dice - 1d20 per stat, reroll 1s and 20s. And then psychics get 4d6 drop lowest for mental attributes and 2d6+2 for physical stats. Each class has different added-on powers - humans have Professions where they can get advantages on relevant rolls, mutants have their mutations, robots have modules, psychics get their psionics. So there's random tables and 20 results for each class, which is great. Lets players rapidly differentiate themselves from other PCs with the same class, as a Profession: Driver is going to have some different starting gear and desires than a Farmer.

Then rules for guns, radiation, drugs, figuring out high-tech, and vehicles getting wrecked - an Out of the Action table for vehicles. There's a 2-page wastelands bestiary, 7 sample vehicles (and stats for the trailer part of a semi-trailer) and high-tech gear. A hex map and a beautiful non-hex map end the PDF and make me want to grab this, a bunch of random tables, and run some irradiated PCs through a vibrant, insane apocalyptic wasteland.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OSR Character Sheet
by Wind L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2017 10:10:40

Great character sheet--clean and simple and all the way metal! Plus, nice visuals that can be useful for newer players. This is going to be my go-to for sure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OSR Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Rad-Hack
by Dave I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2016 17:25:38

This is a great little game. The illustrations are a blast. If you like The Black Hack you will love this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Rad-Hack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Rad-Hack
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2016 13:30:29

Great fun. Minimalist rule set. Excellent illustrations. I hope it gets expanded just a bit! Too much would ruin it's "less is more" approach.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Rad-Hack
by Ben P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2016 19:34:24

I've been following the author of this title on google+ since he previewed some of the artwork for this hack on The Black Hack google+ community and I'd been sold on this product ever since.

Now that I've been able to purchase it and giev the whole thing a look over, I'm glad I bought it.

The artwork is amazing and really helps to set the tone for gonzo gamma world-style adventures. I'm already a fan of The Black Hack and this hack builds on it fantastically without taking away any of it's charm.

I'm looking forward to seeing a print copy of this title!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates