Wargame Vault
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!










Back
Other comments left by this customer:
d6 Magazine Issue 6
Publisher: Wicked North Games
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2014 12:30:02
Obviously a labor of love, and a very well done at that.
Nifty art scattered throughout, but the cover, with its tatters and wrinkles and fantastic action scene is the best.
The adventures within are fun and evocative of both the system and the various settings.

A fun read and a good download.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d6 Magazine Issue 6
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Publisher: DwD Studios
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2014 23:27:05
If you have read the other reviews, you have a pretty good picture of what this game is. It is a simple, easily understandable system. The rules are basically percentage based, so you know exactly what your odds going into any task. The game states one of the best things ever said to a novice role playing gamer: Go to a local shop, find a group, and learn there how to play rpgs, then come back and play BareBones Fantasy. With an awesome beginners' game right here on my desk, And every other game I have ever downloaded or bought, clear back to the red and blue boxes of yore have all the chapters about what a role playing game is and how you play, so the choice to omit these obligatory chapters is a bold, but sensible one.

Rules light, with an old school feel in the right places, tis is a really great game.

The touches about the setting are light enough that you could use them or drop them as you see fit. The races are limited to the basic four of every fantasy game, but like the setting, have an expansion to cover much more information. There are also new rules and new ideas in the free Decahedron magazine which is slated as a quarterly release support. Play by the core book or expand it with the Flesh and Blood and Kerenak Kingdoms books, either or both or neither one, and you will be fine.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Covert Ops - GMs Screen Print & Play
Publisher: DwD Studios
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2014 23:09:15
Very nicely laid out, the tables grouped sensibly, and in the landscape format. What more could you ask for.

A great accessory to a great looking game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Covert Ops - GMs Screen Print & Play
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Mermaid Adventures Coloring Book
Publisher: Third Eye Games
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2014 01:51:33
My seven year old really enjoys having the pictures from the game book to color. The art is well suited to coloring. Definitely worth a couple bucks if any coloring book is.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mermaid Adventures Coloring Book
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Star Frontiersman #24
Publisher: DwD Studios
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2014 18:52:45
A really neat magazine for a really neat blast from the past.
There is a lot to love in this issue. The crazy awesome architecture on the cover is a taste, but the stuff inside is great!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Frontiersman #24
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Pixel Mini: Base Station
Publisher: Octopus Apocalypse
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2014 01:13:20
Brilliant concept and utilization. The bases' textures are great for their intended 8 bit figures, and the way the whole thing works is great. I would like to see the same idea reiterated with more complex textures to work with other more complex art, too, but these are great regardless. they make it so you don't need a lot of extra space because your bases are part of the model. Take down for storage is great idea.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pixel Mini: Base Station
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2013 19:29:52
As a setting, Shadowrun has been top notch for me since 1988 or 1989. The mixture of cyberpunk and D&D was just the right kind of chocolate and peanut butter for my taste at the time and since. In this latest edition, the game setting is as it ever was, extremely rich and fascinating, made so by a nice assortment of excellent fiction pieces throughout the work, and the general tone of the writing.
As a Rule set, this latest iteration is the most clear and easiest to understand yet. Skills and stats are simple numbers of six sided dice that you add together, looking for fives and sixes and fearing too many ones (more than half is a Glitch, More than half ones with no fives or sixes is a critical glitch.) I really like how this will all come together at the table to make the game faster while retaining the storms of d6 aspect loved by so many.
As a book this looks like it would be very pretty as well. However the layout makes you have to flip back and forth through the book constantly during character creation, and may require a lot of that with out strenuous note taking during game play. It can take three or four page flips to find the item, the skill and the rules in question, and while the index is pretty robust there is at least one term I have not found the definition of, and I have had the book open pretty constantly these two weeks.
The PDF of the book really could use some work. For a book about the far advanced technological future of sixty years hence, it is really kind of backward. Apart from the table of contents, there is no hyperlinking, so the page turning mentioned before is that much more excruciating. And the very pretty layout has no layering whatever, so any prints will drink a ton of ink, the most expensive fluid on the planet apart from horse seed. The last problem with the pdf is the several very pretty pages at the end of panoramic views of several cities and several past covers, all of which show the feel of shadowrun so well, but they are laid out in such a fashion that the default page width on my pdf reader is 23%, which is far too small to read. This last is very trying indeed, and I hope they fix this sooner than later.

In most respects this is a five star book, but for the pdf, it is no more than a three, and more likely a two. On the other hand, it is a twenty dollar pdf of a sixty dollar book, and I suspect most of the difference is spent on dark red ink.

Seriously, buy it. It looks fun, it will be fun. Just be warned it will make you want the hardcopy done by the company and not on your own machine.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Legends of Steel - Barbarians of Lemuria Edition
Publisher: Evil DM Productions
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2013 01:29:42
With all the great background of the Savage Worlds edition that I already have, but ported into the wonderful Barbarians of Lemuria rules. I was very eager to learn more of these rules, but had to forebear till I could find them in a product that did not have pictures I found objectionable. While I fully understand that such is commonplace in the Swords and Sorcery genre, I still cannot accept it into my home. I was absolutely delighted to get this book.

The BoL rules are light and look faster and easier than those of my old flame, Savage Worlds. I look forward to testing this assumption. A simple 2d6 mechanic drives everything, so there is no wondering which dice to use or anything like that.

Characters are simple but elegant with a dozen or so important things to note on the character sheet, which it seems should be pyrographed into rabbit skins in old nordic runes or something to keep up with the amazing setting.

There is still the great discussion of the genre, and the world presented with its gazeteer will work to one degree or another anywhere along the spectrum.

In short, pick it up if you want a great setting for the S&S genre and concise fast rules.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legends of Steel - Barbarians of Lemuria Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Hobomancer First Session Actual Play
Publisher: Hex Games
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2013 20:03:56
I'm really glad I got this and listened to it. It was like being in the room for that amazing inaugural game of Hobomancer. It was even more fun to listen to it while reading the preview of Hobomancer available on this site.
Vengeance is sweet, but poetic justice is so much better!
Our heroes find their way to a perfectly clean town, and they instinctively know that something is desperately wrong.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hobomancer First Session Actual Play
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #1 (PDF)
Publisher: Small Niche Games
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2013 13:02:20
A very nice effort, easy to read and to use.
The magazine is something I think any Labyrinth Lord will find useful, and I look forward to future editions.
My favorite is the map, because they are always handy to have around.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #1 (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Quick-Start Rules
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2013 12:59:19
A good look at how the game will run.
The quick start contains enough to get the flavor of Shadowrun and shows how the changes in the rules help everything go along. It would be possible to play quite a bit with just these rules.

And free is a very good price, chummer!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Quick-Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Hobomancer Preview
Publisher: Hex Games
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2013 00:07:22
A really neat preview you could just almost run the game with! The notes on the cultural significance of the Hobos of the 1930s and their place in the American psyche alongside Pirates, Cowboys, Knights and Ninjas is a really insightful look at the whole idea of the traveling independent and the American dream. I love the way this was written, and I think it just might sneak its way unobtrusively on my table.

The Qags system is not complicated beyond a couple more stat words to bring the men of the rails to life, and a bit of a magic system. The background fluff fits together well and holds up to my tired scrutiny anyway. The opening comic sets up the whole feel of the book, and the story in bits and pieces throughout of a Hobomancer's introduction and initiation makes me want to read the novel.

I can really see why this got an Ennie nomination!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hobomancer Preview
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Introduction to the Star Fleet Universe: Prime Directive and Roleplaying
Publisher: Amarillo Design Bureau
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2013 13:56:22
I think I like this version of Trek better than where they took it over at Paramount. The book is a great intro into the setting and makes me rather eager to delve into the games attached.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Introduction to the Star Fleet Universe: Prime Directive and Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Michtim Hero Sheet
Publisher: GrimOgre Laboratory
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2013 12:18:52
It is always good to have a nice character sheet for your game. This one has the most basic moves right on it, as well as the xp requirements to gain new powers for experienced Michtim. As Michtim can only carry three items of equipment, there are places for them on the sheet. Graphically strong. Even pretty.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Michtim Hero Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Michtim Calling Cards
Publisher: GrimOgre Laboratory
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2013 12:13:50
I simple and easy way to have the callings at your paws' ends. No more forgetting your powers.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Michtim Calling Cards
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 32 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Dave Graffam Models
Dave Graffam Models
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (198)
 Reviews
Patrol Boat Paper Model
As with all Dave Graffam products, this is beautifully rende ..
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate