Wargame Vault
Close
Close
Browse







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Mini Six: Bare Bones Edition
Publisher: AntiPaladin Games
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2016 21:53:18

Taking an existing system and boiling it down to the bare essentials, adding in some varient rules to aid ease and speed of play, Mini Six is a great game engine product. Obviously not as detailed as other generic rpgs, but therein is the charm. The title including the phrase "Bare Bones Edition" is a tempting teaser that has me looking for a more comprehensive product, but really this book and a couple notebooks for whatever I add on would be perfectly sufficient for most sorts of games.

I like the book enough that I bought it here even though I already have the pdf just to fling a couple bucks at the producers and to be able to write this short review.

Also of note, the d6 system as boiled here is also used in a couple of other neat projects which will be easy to see on a search of Mini Six. The licensing terms are quite favorable for those who want to publish their own games using this engine, which is pretty cool.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mini Six: Bare Bones Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Anime Hack
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2016 12:35:14

New to the Black Hack family of games, I bought this as my first choice. The Anime/Manga type of game is covered well in other books, but most often with a bewildering array of options and choices for both gms and other players. The Anime Hack avoids this trap rather nicely by boiling down the tropes and ideas just as the game engine is boiled down by the rule set the author used. D20 roll-under is not a new concept, but it is nice to see it handled effectively and clearly written as well. I particularly like the classes used for this game, and I am not disapointed that one of those posted on Facebook got me to buy the book. I even found myself dreaming up scenarios for the game that made me write them down before being able to sleep.

To sum up my review: Buy it. Plan it. Play it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Anime Hack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Oath of the Dead (fiction)
Publisher: DwD Studios
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2016 19:47:30

The short story takes a brief glance into the world of BareBones Fantasy's 'Karanak Kingdoms' setting. In its 24 pages gives me nothing I did not enjoy. The writing style is accessable and fun, without the kind of shorthand jargon that so easily can be taken for granted in the fantasy gaming community. The only thing really wrong with it is that I now want to know the rest of the adventure and just what happens to the people in the story, which is really quite easy to imagine just how to run in a game of my own. I am prone to leaving a lot of five star reviews, as when I like something well enough to review it, I am usually that pleased wirth it. This story stands well in that esteemable company.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Oath of the Dead (fiction)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Stargate d6 Unofficial Character Sheet
Publisher: Wicked North Games
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2015 16:05:57

A pretty ordinary character sheet. Perfectly adequate but not flashy or particularly cool. It is free, so not bad that way. Not really worth keeping on my hard drive unless I am currently playing the game related.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Stargate d6 Unofficial Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

d6 Magazine Issue 2
Publisher: Wicked North Games
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2015 00:22:28

The second installment of the D6 Magazine continues to impress with its community submitted content. Not going to live up to the quality of a Dragon or a White Wolf, of course, but then free is a pretty good price.

I have a feeling that even when things seem all quiet, D6 is going to always be one of those systems that is going to be quietly simmering in the background while it is not flaring brightly out on the scene.

My favorite bit is in the second article. I cannot decide between the oversensitive torch or the razor. I can think of comedy routines lasting hours or days at any one of my game tables over those.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
d6 Magazine Issue 2
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heaven's Shadow
Publisher: Bedroom Wall Press
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2014 21:15:54

A chilling world where evil walks in human form and it is up to the assassins of Heaven's Shadow to take out the demon spawn before they taint the world so much that the final curtain is called. The author has come up with a world in which the profession of a murderer is, instead of a deadly sin, a good thing for humanity. There is a lot of room here for the kind of gallant wetwork found in so many games, and there is ample room in this world to explore the existential horror of the life of a killer. All this and using the amazingly fast and simple rules of Mini Six version of the OpenD6 system from our old WEG games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heaven's Shadow
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Keranak Kingdoms Fantasy Setting
Publisher: DwD Studios
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2014 01:12:02

I really like this book. Whether on its own to use with another game system, where its rules free run down on the places of the world allows easy prtage into any game you wanted to use the rules for, or in conjunction with the BareBones Fantasy game, with or without the third volume Flesh and Blood (which provides stats for the various other sapient species of the setting), this book does what it is supposed to do, providing a armature to refine into your very own world to play in. I reckon you could even use the ideas for larger scale battle and conquest games, if you had a mind to. Point is, it gives sparks to light off your own imagination rather than having everything just so and all the dots on the map and labeled and all. It might seem more convenient to have everything done for you already, but this way if you misremember something and it is not just like the book says, well, that merchant guy you were hearing stories of the place from was either wrong or joking, because I don't see no magic horses 'round here.

Yeah. Especially for the price, this one is a must-own among the many various world books you could have. I'd love to see more like it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Keranak Kingdoms Fantasy Setting
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Decahedron Magazine #1
Publisher: DwD Studios
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2014 12:32:56

For a free zine, and even for a zine in general, this is so good. It is obviously a labor of love. I plan to follow the series and keep on downloading as long as they let me. The concentration is on the BareBones Fantasy game, but I hope future issues will have material for all of the D 00 Lite games. What is in there is pretty awesome, and there is plenty. A new power, a new PC race, and an adventure complete with the monster stats as far as you can need them.

Thanks for a good game and terrific support.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Decahedron Magazine #1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

d6 Magazine Issue 6
Publisher: Wicked North Games
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2014 12:30:02

Obviously a labor of love, and a very well done at that. Nifty art scattered throughout, but the cover, with its tatters and wrinkles and fantastic action scene is the best. The adventures within are fun and evocative of both the system and the various settings.

A fun read and a good download.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d6 Magazine Issue 6
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Publisher: DwD Studios
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2014 23:27:05

If you have read the other reviews, you have a pretty good picture of what this game is. It is a simple, easily understandable system. The rules are basically percentage based, so you know exactly what your odds going into any task. The game states one of the best things ever said to a novice role playing gamer: Go to a local shop, find a group, and learn there how to play rpgs, then come back and play BareBones Fantasy. With an awesome beginners' game right here on my desk, And every other game I have ever downloaded or bought, clear back to the red and blue boxes of yore have all the chapters about what a role playing game is and how you play, so the choice to omit these obligatory chapters is a bold, but sensible one.

Rules light, with an old school feel in the right places, tis is a really great game.

The touches about the setting are light enough that you could use them or drop them as you see fit. The races are limited to the basic four of every fantasy game, but like the setting, have an expansion to cover much more information. There are also new rules and new ideas in the free Decahedron magazine which is slated as a quarterly release support. Play by the core book or expand it with the Flesh and Blood and Kerenak Kingdoms books, either or both or neither one, and you will be fine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Covert Ops - GMs Screen Print & Play
Publisher: DwD Studios
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2014 23:09:15

Very nicely laid out, the tables grouped sensibly, and in the landscape format. What more could you ask for.

A great accessory to a great looking game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Covert Ops - GMs Screen Print & Play
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Mermaid Adventures Coloring Book
Publisher: Third Eye Games
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2014 01:51:33

My seven year old really enjoys having the pictures from the game book to color. The art is well suited to coloring. Definitely worth a couple bucks if any coloring book is.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mermaid Adventures Coloring Book
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Star Frontiersman #24
Publisher: Frontier Explorer
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2014 18:52:45

A really neat magazine for a really neat blast from the past. There is a lot to love in this issue. The crazy awesome architecture on the cover is a taste, but the stuff inside is great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Frontiersman #24
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Pixel Mini: Base Station
Publisher: Octopus Apocalypse
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2014 01:13:20

Brilliant concept and utilization. The bases' textures are great for their intended 8 bit figures, and the way the whole thing works is great. I would like to see the same idea reiterated with more complex textures to work with other more complex art, too, but these are great regardless. they make it so you don't need a lot of extra space because your bases are part of the model. Take down for storage is great idea.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pixel Mini: Base Station
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook (Master Index Edition)
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2013 19:29:52

As a setting, Shadowrun has been top notch for me since 1988 or 1989. The mixture of cyberpunk and D&D was just the right kind of chocolate and peanut butter for my taste at the time and since. In this latest edition, the game setting is as it ever was, extremely rich and fascinating, made so by a nice assortment of excellent fiction pieces throughout the work, and the general tone of the writing. As a Rule set, this latest iteration is the most clear and easiest to understand yet. Skills and stats are simple numbers of six sided dice that you add together, looking for fives and sixes and fearing too many ones (more than half is a Glitch, More than half ones with no fives or sixes is a critical glitch.) I really like how this will all come together at the table to make the game faster while retaining the storms of d6 aspect loved by so many. As a book this looks like it would be very pretty as well. However the layout makes you have to flip back and forth through the book constantly during character creation, and may require a lot of that with out strenuous note taking during game play. It can take three or four page flips to find the item, the skill and the rules in question, and while the index is pretty robust there is at least one term I have not found the definition of, and I have had the book open pretty constantly these two weeks. The PDF of the book really could use some work. For a book about the far advanced technological future of sixty years hence, it is really kind of backward. Apart from the table of contents, there is no hyperlinking, so the page turning mentioned before is that much more excruciating. And the very pretty layout has no layering whatever, so any prints will drink a ton of ink, the most expensive fluid on the planet apart from horse seed. The last problem with the pdf is the several very pretty pages at the end of panoramic views of several cities and several past covers, all of which show the feel of shadowrun so well, but they are laid out in such a fashion that the default page width on my pdf reader is 23%, which is far too small to read. This last is very trying indeed, and I hope they fix this sooner than later.

In most respects this is a five star book, but for the pdf, it is no more than a three, and more likely a two. On the other hand, it is a twenty dollar pdf of a sixty dollar book, and I suspect most of the difference is spent on dark red ink.

Seriously, buy it. It looks fun, it will be fun. Just be warned it will make you want the hardcopy done by the company and not on your own machine.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook (Master Index Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 40 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates