Wargame Vault
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Elemental Enemies: Paper Miniatures
Publisher: Trash Mob Minis
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2018 06:22:25

Ful disclosure: I received a sample pack of 4 miniatures from this pack for review purposes. That said, I would not be able to leave this review on DTRPG if I had not gone on to purchase the full product.

The TL;DR of this review is that Trash Mob Minis are awesome and you should be using them in your games.

Pros: Cheap; beautiful, fun artwork; print as many miniatures as you need; huge variety of enemies to choose from; easy to make.

Cons: Potentially time consuming to put together; not useful if you don’t have access to a printer.

Verdict: Highly recommended.

Elemental Enemies is the latest pack of paper miniatures at the 25-30mm scale from Trash Mob Minis, a companion pack to Ultimate Elementals that expands the lineup of elemental creatures that Trash Mobs has to offer. Where the first pack covered the standard bases, with earth, fire, water, and air elementals (plus some cool summoner miniatures), this new pack offers four different flavours of armoured elementals, cultists, cult leaders, and a new creature for each element in the form of fire dwarves, water serpents, dust devils, and gravel-duhr. Of particular interest are the water serpent and the air cult leader, which are some of Trash Mob’s signature 2.5D minis (more on that shortly).

The preview pack that I was supplied with was a stripped down sample pack that included armoured earth and water cultists, an earth myrmidon, and the 2.5D water weird. I’ve been using Trash Mobs for a while, so it’s hard to say whether that preview pack would have convinced me to buy the full set or not, but I honestly think it would have done – and that’s down to the inclusion of the 2.5D water weird.

The 2.5D models are, I think, the thing that make Trash Mobs stand out over most of the competition. The first Trash Mob mini I ever used was the displacer beast from the Dungeon Dwellers 2.5D Model Kit, and I still clearly remember the reaction from my players when that thing hit the table. The art on all the minis is clear, colourful, and stylish as hell; when all of that also has actual physical arms (or tentacles, or whatever) as well, it almost seems like it could jump off the paper it’s printed on and start devouring your players’ minis right there on the table.

Actually making these things is fairly straightforward, if a little time consuming. It took me about 45 minutes to put together the 4 minis in the sample pack I was sent (with pauses to take photos for Twitter, obviously).

these things look fantastic. The art is really evocative, and they look unlike any other minis on the market. Putting them together was also incredibly satisfying, and made me feel quite child-like in a good way. It took me back to being about 5 years old, cutting and sticking things in school, with no responsibilities and no worries. That may be an odd thing to say, but it was really nice to just sit and cut out colourful monsters for the best part of an hour.

The coloured bases also make it easy to keep track of large groups of these at the table; all Trash Mob packs come with a selection of different coloured bases, and I tend to print off a few sheets of different colours at a time so that when I’m planning a big combat I can group sets of enemies in different colours.

Honestly it’s hard to be critical of a product like this. If you use minis, you’re going to get use out of these; the only reason not to use them would be if you don’t like the art style (which I do), or if you happen to have the perfect metal or plastic mini for the monster you need. The time spent putting them together is absolutely a consideration – if your game is starting now and you realise you don’t have minis, you probably won’t have time to construct a ton of these. But it also doesn’t seem particularly fair to criticise a product for my own lack of pre-planning.

Outside of this specific pack, Trash Mobs produce a huge variety of different minis, with some unusual/less common monster choices that are really helpful for GMs who are looking to add some variety to their encounters. There are so many to choose from now that I often find myself planning games around which enemies Trash Mobs has produced rather than planning an encounter and then hunting for minis to fit afterwards. Plus, the individual packs come with a fairly large selection of miniatures – Elemental Enemies contains 16 unique minis – so one purchase could potentially fuel a couple of sessions’ worth of encounters.

If there’s one thing I’d like to see Trash Mobs do differently, it would be to take a cue from some of the other producers of paper minis. I’m thinking specifically of Printable Heroes, who offer a variety of different ‘costumes’ for their minis in interactive PDFs, allowing you to dress the same mini in different coloured armour (for example) to help differentiate large groups and introduce some additional variety to you mobs. Still, the coloured bases help a lot with identifying the minis (as already mentioned), and really this is something that would improve an already quality set of products (rather than a could do better kind of criticism).

All in all, Elemental Enemies is another solid release from Trash Mobs. 16 beautifully illustrated miniatures for $3.95 is an absolute bargain, and if you use minis at your table you should absolutely give these a go.

For more reviews head to www.loottheroom.uk



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Enemies: Paper Miniatures
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Treasure Hunter - 5E Background
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2018 06:01:02

A really flavourful background that does a great job of channeling the Indiana Jones archetype that very obviously inspired it. My only quibble is that the Feature provides an in-game mechanical advantage – something that the backgrounds in the PHB avoid doing – but it works so well thematically that I’d be more than happy to allow it as a DM. Really well written, and a great-looking book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Treasure Hunter - 5E Background
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Targeted Point Build & Back-story
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2018 03:31:49

This is an interesting product that retools the point buy system of character generation to facilitate building a specific character concept. Rather than determining stats, then building the rest of the character, Blanchard has built a system that uses the proficincies granted by class and background to determine ability scores, helping to build a character whose abilities match their origins. If you're someone who really gets into the backstory of their character, you'll get a lot out of this.

-Loot The Room



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Targeted Point Build & Back-story
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

From Dungeon to Dinner
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2018 03:31:13

This is one of those things that I didn't know I needed until I got it. My players are always asking to carve up monsters that they've killed, leading to me having to come up with random monster bits that they might recover and having to arbitrate potential uses for said monster bits. 'From Dungeon to Dinner' provides not only a host of different monster parts, but also new uses for them - namely, in the form of food. My only criticism is that I feel the ability check to butcher monsters should be a Dexterity check rather than Wisdom, just to vary things a little, but that's nitpicky as hell. I like this a lot and intend to put it to use ASAP.

-loottheroom.uk



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
From Dungeon to Dinner
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Spells from Kara-Tur
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2018 03:29:42

I was always a fan of AD&D's Oriental Adventures book back in the day, and I've run a ton of games in Kara-Tur. This provides a 5e update to some of the classic spells from that book, allowing you to bring a taste of Kara-Tur to your game (or some Wire Fu, depending on your tastes and how often you let people cast Air Walk). The only thing I wish this did would be to provide guidance for which spell lists these should be added to, rather than suggesting that DMs do it themselves, but I understand why that decision was made. All in all this is a great product with a ton of new spells that I'll definitely get a lot of use out of.

-loottheroom.uk



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spells from Kara-Tur
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Codex of the Infinite Planes Vol 2 Plane of Water
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2018 03:29:13

Another great planar guide by Dave Coulson (his first being the Plane of Fire), providing a ton of information and resources for running adventures on the plane of water. There are some nice new monsters here, as well as a host of interesting locations and adventure hooks. It's also very well written, which is great, and it looks good too. If you're planning to take your game onto the planes you could do a lot worse than to check this out.

-loottheroom.uk



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Codex of the Infinite Planes Vol 2 Plane of Water
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Warrior Skald
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2018 03:28:14

This is a nicely designed prestige class designed for bard/barbarian builds (one of which I'm currently playing). The abilities are nice and flavourful, fitting the theme of viking skalds really well, and seem to be decently balanced (though I haven't playtested it). The only thing it's missing is an explanation of what prestige classes are and how they work, for those who don't know. Definitely recommended.

-loottheroom.uk



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warrior Skald
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Realistic Shields
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2017 15:01:00

I really like this idea and I think it has a lot of potential. My only complaint is that I don't think it's quite there yet. The addition of Bash attacks is a nice touch, but this product needs a small explanation of when and how you can use them; is it its own Action? Is it something you can do as part of an Attack action (so can a character with multiple attacks hit something with a sword and then perform a shield bash, for example?). Similarly, I'd like to know how you intend this to work in conjunction with some of the shielf-specific feats in the Players Handbook.

This is a good product and with a little work an experienced GM will be able to make use of this, but I'd like to see the author revisit it and flesh out what is a great initial idea a little more.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Realistic Shields
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your review, it's given me a lot to think about! I am always keen to improve my material and hone my creative GM skills. I will see if I can gather a few more points of feedback and lock myself in a study and revise it over the weekend. Many thanks, James
Prehistoric Panic: Pack 1
Publisher: Trash Mob Minis
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2017 16:31:01

I'm the world's most biased reviewer, because I love Trash Mob Minis and I'll pretty much buy anything they release. There's no denying that the artwork is incredible, and the reaction from your players when you drop any of these minis on the table is always amazing. And feathery undead dinosaurs are just plain awesome.

Buy it. It's less than a cup of coffee. Plan your next game around it.

Trash mobs are love. Trash mobs are life.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prehistoric Panic: Pack 1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

5e Feats: Revisited
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2017 16:52:54

This is only a small product, but it's a valuable one - taking some of the less useful feats from 5e and updating them to bring them more in line with the power and versatility offered by the other standard feats. I haven't had a chance to use all of these in play, but it looks well balanced and it's nice to see some of the feats that my players and I have brushed off as being useless being given an upgrade.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5e Feats: Revisited
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Divine Mind
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2017 16:52:28

This is what happens when you combine psionics with clerics; I've been planning an all-Mystic game for some time, but having seen this I may have to include this option for characters as well. It's a really well put together product and it's clear that a lot of careful balancing has gone into it. Very impressive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Divine Mind
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Forgotten Realms Archetypes II: Champions of Mystery
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2017 16:51:34

Champions of Mystery provides a wealth of options for players and GMs who want to explore more options for magic users - 11 subclasses, new feats, and a ton of lore to expand what you know about magic in your world (including new factions and NPCs). Very well written and clearly extensively playtested. I'm interested to see how the "living document" method of releasing things works. This is well worth the asking price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Realms Archetypes II: Champions of Mystery
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gifted Ones; Aliens, Mutants and Psychics
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2017 16:50:27

There have bee a lot of psionics-related releases on DMs Guild since the Mystic was properly released. Out of all of them, this is by far one of my favourites. Gifted Ones opens up the new psionic rules to provide a class that feels both alien and powerful, while still being balanced. There are a host of new psionic talents to choose from, and a really handy section providing psionic NPC stats. I can't wait to use this in my game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gifted Ones; Aliens, Mutants and Psychics
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Order in Chaos
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2017 16:49:11

Some gorgeous cover art and a really nice looking layout to present a very well-written adventure. The mystery here is a good one, and the setting is well executed. I haven't had a chance to playtest this myself, but the new monsters look great and reading through the adventure was a joy. The fact that it's scalable from 5th to 10th levels is nice, too. I'm definitely planning to run my players through this soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Order in Chaos
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Uncommon Devotion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2017 16:47:58

This is an expansive collection of domains, pacts, paths, etc for a whole host of character classes, intended to provide options to play characters who have a relationship with the divine but who channel that relationship through non traditional means. It's an interesting concept that's been executed very well, and the character options in this PDF provide a wealth of inspiration and tools to build some really interesting characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncommon Devotion
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 41 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates