Wargame Vault
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info







Back
Carthaginians Set $3.00
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 9
3 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Carthaginians Set
Click to view
Carthaginians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Jerri C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2014 12:55:05

I love all of these historical figures. As a history teacher, it helps me make the history come 'alive' for my students. I appreciate the research that has gone into them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carthaginians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Christopher K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/25/2011 18:38:53

I can't say enough good things about the Arion paper figures. The artwork is glorious, and the inclusion of bi-fold and tri-old figures is a great plus. I wish I could give them more than 5 stars. A stellar effort, which is all I'd ever expect from Arion Games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carthaginians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2008 12:43:05

If you have'nt got the money or time to paint and collect miniatures(like me), or are not very good at painting (again, like me), then the Arion Games paper mini's are just the thing. I have purchased the Ancients and Medievel bundle sets and they all have fantastic artwork and a good variety in both figure types and poses, and for the price of these sets, they beat plastic/metal miniatures every time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carthaginians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Douglas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2007 00:00:00

Great utility for Punic War campaigns land battles. Arion just makes great figures.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The project was well executed. Despite what I felt the set was missing, I was still pleased with my purchase.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I would have liked to have seen some war galleys. The sailor and marine figures made could have been far more useful if there had been some galleys. Looking forward to a Carthaginians II to fill in the holes.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carthaginians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Andrea F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2006 00:00:00

Very good set with beautiful images. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: the quality<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carthaginians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Peter I. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/28/2006 00:00:00

Carthaginians Set is a 6 page pdf product containing paper miniatures from Arion Games. This is the 35th set in their miniatures line of products, and forms parts of the Ancients Miniatures series along with sets such as Biblicals Set and Romans I and Romans II Sets. Each product in the set provides a series of paper miniatures that can be printed out and folded in a variety of different ways to provide an endless supply of foes and allies for a campaign set in Roman times. This particular set is suitable for the era in Roman history around the Punic Wars made infamous by Hannibal and his elephants, but can be used in other eras as well.

This product comes as a single pdf file, and for those not familiar with Arion Games' miniatures, an instruction document is required which can be downloaded from their website. The instructions provide all the details on how to fold the various miniatures, including A-frame, flat, or triagonal miniatures. The latter are pseudo-3D miniatures, containing three sides rather than the usual two for paper miniatures. Five pages of miniatures are included in the pdf, containing the artwork for the flat or A-frame miniatures, and the triagonal miniatures. A total of 22 different miniatures are included in this set. Artwork and general rendering as usual are of a very high standard.

Carthaginians Set is one of the more impressive sets I've seen from Arion Games. The set includes a good variety of miniatures with great rendering, particularly for the elephants. Included in this set are the following: Carthaginian General, two Carthaginian Marines (both armed with short swords but with different stances), an Iberian Scutari (heavy infantry - well armored with a spear), two Iberian Slingers, a Carthaginian Elephant Handler, two Libyan Spearmen (in different stances), a Carthaginian Merchant (in blue robes and carrying a pot/vase), a Numidian Archer, three Sacred Band of Ba'al (spearmen in different stances, well armored in general), a Carthaginian Sailor, two cavalry Sacred Band of Astartes (my wish remains to see the horses appear more 'combat-ready), two Numidian Light Cavalry. Two great looking Armored War Elephants and one Elephant.

Apart from the fantastic work that has gone into the rendering of this set, one of the other aspects of the set is that it has almost universal appeal. By this I mean that the miniatures can easily be used outside the scope of the Carthaginian era. While most contain elements of the time and the country of origin, they make for excellent miniatures in a more generic manner within this time-setting. Given the proportion of mounted warriors, both on elephants and horses, this is also a very useful set for generating your own fearsome cavalry charges. Overall this is a wonderful set, and highlights Arion Games' quality products and capabilities very well.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Great artwork and rendering, as well as a good variety of different miniatures to use. The elephants are particularly impressive, and I liked the fact that numerous mounted warriors were included in this set. The triagonal miniatures were wonderful once assembled and those elephants make for great charges.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The Carthaginian General was not great, particularly with that pink shirt and what looks like a headband. It looks more 'ballerina' than general. The horses are well done, but I'd have like to see more armor or battle-readiness in the horses.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carthaginians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by James H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/18/2006 00:00:00

Chock full of the quality that I've come to expect from Arion Games, Carthaginians deviates slightly in format from other Arion printable miniature sets that I've reviewed in the past. Specifically, Carthaginians drops the previously standard instructions for folding and assembling the minis in order to make room for more miniatures proper. And it's all good.

While the aforementioned instructions were certainly helpful, the assembly and printing of paper minis is fairly self-explanatory to anybody who has even cursory experience with them (i.e., several different internet sites exist that discuss multiple methods of printing and basing paper minis). This being the case, the absence of assembly instructions is not detrimental to the product quality - quite the contrary, in fact.

Carthaginians makes good use of the extra space therein. Packed with forty-five* full-color miniatures of both the 'a-frame' and 'tri-fold' variety, Carthaginians covers every aspect of said culture for use on your tabletop. Most notable, however, are the elephant riders. That's right - elephant riders. If you're fan of Hannibal's legendary trek, Arion has you covered in spades with 7 different renderings of these unique armored cavalry units (4 of the 'a-frame' variety and 3 of the 'tri-fold' variety).

Finally, reviewing an Arion product without mentioning its extreme attention to detail and beautifully rendered images wouldn't be doing the product justice. As always, the resolution is high; producing clean, crisp, images that print nicely and look just as stunning on the tabletop as they do on my LCD monitor. Further, Arion sets the standard for attention to historical accuracy in presentation of paper minis (history buffs, you won't be disappointed).

I haven't been less than impressed with any of the Arion products that I've so far reviewed, and Carthaginians isn't going to change that trend. Whether you're looking for historical representations to grace your tabletop or something new to spice up your fantasy game, you simply can't go wrong with this extensive and stunning collection of printable miniatures. I've said it before, and I'll say it again - Arion doesn't raise the bar, it is the bar.

*This is the total number of miniatures. Many are rendered twice, once in each of the standard Arion presentation formats (i.e., 'a-frame' and 'tri-fold').

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The attention to detail, the resolution of the graphics, and the quantity of minis in the set. And the elephant riders ;) <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Honestly, I have nothing but love for this product. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carthaginians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Jens H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2006 00:00:00

Very nice Artwork and realistic miniatures. Especially for Gamers , Gamemasters this Set is a very useful tool to get a lot of nice miniatures at a very low price. I use them for GMing or for my tabletop skirmishes:-) <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The graphics are very detailed and the miniatures look very realistic. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: nothing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carthaginians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Rob M. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/17/2006 00:00:00

If you are like this reviewer, you have neither the desire, nor space, nor cash, to ?collect? traditional miniatures. Yet, with the tactical combat systems used in many game systems these days, being able to bust out the battle mat and a set of minis is often necessary. Thus you find yourself looking for a practical and inexpensive option for your miniatures needs. Paper miniatures meet this need. When they are packaged as a PDF, you are provided with a readily available source of minis for your games, being able to print as many of a particular figure as you need, without having to invest too much money in them, or time and effort, in the case of those who paint their minis. In short, paper minis are an attractive option for their low cost and convenience, and are also logical options for ?collectors? needing a particular miniature, or several of them, for their game.

The figures in Arion Games? miniatures sets come in 3 styles, ?A-frame?, ?Flat?, and ?Triagonal?. The ?A-frame? and ?Flat? figures can be constructed from the same sheets, depending on how they are cut out. The ?Triagonal? minis are constructed from a separate sheet. These construction choices provide additional options in preparing your minis for use in the game, major characters or monsters can be constructed as the ?Triagonal? versions to provide a more visual flair, and to emphasize their importance. Other figures can be done as ?A-Frame? or flat versions to make them easier to handle or distinguish them from each other, thus providing a functional use beyond their graphical characteristics. Vehicles done as Triagonal versions of the minis work very well, giving a better impression of their relative size.

The instructions, which are not included in this PDF, but are available on the publisher?s website, are easy to follow and assembling the minis is quick and painless, just requiring a bit of work with scissors and some glue. The minis look good, even when printed on plain paper. Each figure is drawn from a 3D rendering (done in Poser using figures provided by DAZED, according to the credits), providing sharp detail and life-like shading, even when printed.

This 5 page PDF (6 with cover) provides a set of 23 figures. It includes a Carthaginian General figure, two Carthaginian Marines figures, one Carthaginian Merchant figure, one Carthaginian Sailor, and one Elephant Handler figure. The Carthaginian figures feature a more Greek/Roman styled raiment, and look quite good. Among mercenary figures it features one Iberian Scutari (Heavy Infantry), two Iberian Slingers, two Libyan Spearmen, one Numidian Archer, and two Numidian Light Cavalry. The mercernay figures show a Moorish/ Middle Eastern influence in their dress and look quite good as well, with appropriately dark complexions. It also includes two types of elite unit figures, three Sacred Band of Ba?al (Spearmen) figures, and two Sacred Band of Astarte?s (Cavalry) figures, both of which look quite good. Finally it includes two Armored War Elephants figures and one Elephant figure. The texture used for the elephant?s hide looks quite good, as do the other details.

Overall, this is an excellent product from Arion Games. It provides a large selection of interesting figures from a rather interesting people, who were able to, unsuccessfully, challenge the might of Rome. They are interesting for their use of elephants of Hannibal?s famous march. The figures provide a nice selection of figures to use for gaming in this area, or for fantasy ancients. Adding in the fact that you can print as many as you need, and prepare your own figure sheets, this is excellent value as well. If you are looking for some interesting ancient figures with a middle eastern/African influence, these figures will provide some excellent contrast to the usual Greek & Roman style figures. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Elephant figures are sharp and detailed with good textures.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Some female civilian figures would have been nice<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back