Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
This Is Not a Test
by Tim M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2018 21:49:58

An absolute must have for any lover of post-apoc fun and frolic. The love that went into this shows page after page, and you can see why all the acclaim for this game is warranted. Not too crunchy of a rule set, plus not being tied down to any particular brand or scale (although 28mm is best) for minis made this a no brainer of a purchase. I highly recommend TnT to any gamer looking for a Fallout styled wargame.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
This Is Not a Test
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Skull-Deep in the Dead Halloween Scenario
by JD D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2017 13:37:42

This scenario is a halloween special & is very different to the rest of the TNT line. It's designed as horror/survival scenario. It's like the Call of Duty zombies: you know you're going to die, it's only a matter of how long you last. In this scenario you take the role of one of several characters that were part of the story this scenario is re-enacting. If you have TNT already and have a gaming group this is a really fun detachment from a normal campaign. If you are planning on demo-ing TNT this can also be a good way to do so.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Skull-Deep in the Dead Halloween Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Eat Prey Live
by JD D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2017 13:32:05

This is Not a Test: Hard Mode. If you want to really challenge your warband in some very dangerous scenarios this is where it's at. There are some big rewards for succeeding but keep in mind, it's going to be rough to get there.

What does $3 get you? 3 scenarios all about playing TNT in Fallout 4's survival mode. Instead of just fighting, you're actually fighting for vital resources against the enemy AND against unhappy critters that don't want you there. You'll have to fight hunger, chase down giant mutant turkeys, and even weather some havey radiation in this supplement. It's fun and adds interesting twists to TNT campaigns. $3 isn't much to pay for something that adds to the enjoyment of the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eat Prey Live
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Kickstart the Wasteland
by JD D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2017 13:25:25

This supplement is a bit of a hybrid. It really doesn't add anything earth shattering per se in terms of wargaming in general but rather it adds depth to the game by deepening the monster pool & adding a warband of more general feel: the settlers. They don't really feel like much in a vacuum but can easily be tailored to fit pretty much any theme with a lot of rabble. Want to represent the Minute Men from Fallout 4? What about just a bunch of townsfolk fighting off a raider attack? Also adds in a bunch of new funky robots you can hire which is really cool. But, biggest of all in this supplement: 3 new scenarios. One of which is a solo scenario all about surviving a horde of rad zombies. I feel this is an excellent convention scenario actually because it is for large warbands of 600-800 point value. This means if split into 200 point blocks it can allow 3-4 players to work together controlling small groups of a couple of figures each to fend off the zombies & get the feel of the game.

Easily worth the $3 for the settlers, or robots, or even the 2 nromal scenarios alone. The new monsters and solo scenario make it even better. I'm glad Joseph priced this so low but it really does have more content than the $6 suggests.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kickstart the Wasteland
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Wasteland Essentials 1: Paper Miniatures, Templates, and a Brand New Scenario
by JD D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2017 13:11:09

Part 3 of the trifecta of rules that were available when I first bought this game. This supplement doesn't add any new rules specifically like the Mutant Cannibals but it does add new scenarios and tons of printable templates & figures.

Now the paper figures may not seem like much to some, but when there are scenarios in the game specifically for rad zombie hunts whcih requires a good amount of zombies, some people may not have sufficient zombie figures to cover this. I do but then I have way too many miniatures. The nice thing is though if you don't want to or lack the skills to make things like animal nests, zombie spawning pits, etc mentioned in the rules, you don't need to. They're all in here. Just print & you're good to go. Worth it for the added scenario alone if you're playing TNT regularly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wasteland Essentials 1:  Paper Miniatures, Templates, and a Brand New Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Mutant Cannibals
by JD D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2017 13:04:50

I bought this initially with the rulebook thinking it sounded very interesting. I was not disappointed. The new expansion not only adds more scenarios for greater variety of gameplay, it also adds a whole new warband with its own feel very unique to them over any of the other warbands. Especially compared to the traditional mutants in the core rules.

Think Texas Chainsaw Massacre, the Hills Have Eyes, Deliverance, and add in a nuclear war. This will give you the creepy, erie mutant cannibals. They're a disturbing group that kill, eat, and wear other wastelanders. They live in a "family" group which usually consists of a matriarch or patriarch, an old fart or two, and the scary ass kids who are either just slightly abnormal or downright degenerate. Then there's the pretty, normal looking girl whose job is to lure unwitting wastelanders into the dinner pot.

Well worth the cost, this supplement provides the rules, background, and new equipment for this warband that plays differently than all the rest. $5 for a new faction is well worth it, especially when it comes with new scenarios.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Cannibals
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

This Is Not a Test
by JD D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2017 12:55:28

I initially stumbled upon this diamond in the rough thanks to Guerilla Games Nickel City Stories video series. From there I downloaded the free demo rules & played a couple games. We were hooked. The unique activation rules & the Fallout compatible setting were massive draws for me.

The gameplay is quick, gritty, & really requires you to weigh your actions and activations carefully, especially when a model that is hit by ranged fire is still technically "alive" until the end of the turn, more or less. So you have to think "do I want to keep shooting that sniper and make sure she's dead or do I want to risk it & shoot at someone else?". Additionally, the income and exploration is very reminiscent of the best of Necromunda & Mordheim.

The quality of the pdf is very high & professional, you would never know it was such a small operation Joseph has. The artwork in the book is excellent as are the figure spreads. The fact that the game is figure neutral means that even if you don't care for the setting or the fluff you can pretty much adapt the warband and character archetypes to fit any genre or setting. However, Joseph does have some incredidbly detailed and high quality figures designed for TNT. They're a bit reminiscent of the old fun days of gw in terms of the mutants while the humans are very cool and look a lot like NCR Rangers or some badass post-apocalyptic mounties. Also the templates are "universal size" so odds are you may alredy have them anyway.

The fluff is also quite well thought out with the author setting it in & around his home area in order to create a narrative that is unique & interesting. Admittedly myself being a huge fallout junkie I chose to go with that universe for the backstory but even still it does not actually change much about the warbands. Indeed the warbands structures fit extremely well into Fallout as it is.

But, best of all about this: I originally bought the pdf early last year & the rules were updated in Fall/Winter. World's End provided the updated pdf for free. We have all been burned by getting into a game then 6 months later a brand new rulebook comes out & we have to buy everything all over again. Not so with This is Not a Test. In fact, none of the pdfs I bought before the updated rules were even remotely invalidated. I've become a TNT junkie & have everything out for the game yet.

The expansions actually add depth and quality to the game while not unbalancing it. There have been new warbands and characters introduced in the expansions and there isn't the usual "codex creep" that tends to occur with many games where the new stuff is more powerful.

Looking for a good skirmish game? Buy TNT. Like Necromunda & Mordheim? TNT. Fallout junkie? TNT. If you're on the fence watch the vides I mentioned & get the free demo rules. You'll be hooked too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
This Is Not a Test
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

This Is Not a Test
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2016 00:19:49

I like the game because the mechanics make for easy to learn game and a very nice campaining experience (even if you join in half-way). The setting can be altered easily to encompass other SF of post modern backgrounds. The quality of the book itself is good, no complains.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates