Wargame Vault
Browse







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Dungeon Scum
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2017 19:16:51

Quite a nice system. Neat mechanics I haven't seen elsewhere, quck to learn, and I like the way it handles schools of magic. The production values are purely amatuer hour in terms of layout, copyediting, etc. (hence the four- instead of five-star rating), but there's enough to like about this ruleset to make me glad I bought it anyway. I work in publishing, and I'm almost tempted to offer my services to clean it up and give it a more proper release. There could be a real audience for this cool wargame-RPG hybrid system if published with more care.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Scum
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Scum of the Earth. Black Powder gaming for the rest of us.
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2017 11:34:24

The game is intended to use just a handful of miniatures so that you can break out some of your figures that have been collecting dust or explore a period without having to invest large amounts of time and money. For example, an infantry unit consists of six individually-based figures.

The rules only take up about 24 of the rule's 67 pages. The rest are optional rules including campaign rules and some tools/inspiration for developing scenarios. The rules are straight forward. It is generally an I-Go-You-Go turn sequence, but there are opportunities for the passive side to interrupt the active side. Shooting and hand-to-hand combat use opposed rolls. The results of these rolls incorporate disorder and units breaking as well as casualties. This makes for a quick game and one that is visually appealing – Shaken units can be shown by a staggered line while broken units are represented by a mob of figures skulking at the rear.

Overall, I enjoyed the game. It was quick to learn the basics, but there are definitely some tactics that will increase your chances of success – like shooting at a unit twice in the same turn. If you don't concentrate your fire, it is hard to drive enemy troops from the field. However, all things being equal, that is probably a realistic result and actually models a black powder firefight pretty well.

Another thing that became clear by the end of the game was that two forces simply marching forward and exchanging volleys until one side breaks would become stale fairly quickly. That is, the rules are so straight forward there is little "rules-gamesmanship" to engage in. But this is a good thing as it encourages players to have the proper historical mindset. Real life soldiers would not have been thing about maximizing modifiers. Moreover, it makes scenarios and campaigns worthwhile – almost a necessity. And to his credit, Ivan has included some nice scenario generating tables and campaign rules.

The only area that seemed a little off to me was that units could move and fire in the same turn without any ill effects (This is probably because I'm so used to that type of mechanic and not because of any particular knowledge of black powder warfare). And I don't think is would break the game to have units give up their movement to "reload." Indeed, I think it might add to the tactical challenge. I will definitely be trying this house rule out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scum of the Earth. Black Powder gaming for the rest of us.
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Scum of the Earth
by Thomas T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2017 17:42:15

Simple, fun, definitely not a game for folks obsessed with uniform details or drill-field maneuvers but that's a strength as far I'm concerned. The only thing on my wishlist is a quick reference sheet and I have faith that Ivan will provide one.

LT



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scum of the Earth
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Publisher Reply:
We'll sort out a reference sheet. Glad you like it! If you enjoy this version, the full version will make you wet yourself :)
Scum of the Earth
by DENNIS S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2017 14:43:55

So far I like it. Spend more time going back to rules than playing, but having fun so that is all that matters. I play a lot of DBA, so working on a 2x2 board is perfect for me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
There's a lot of gamers who either are limited to or enjoy the 2x2 board, I've noticed. Glad you enjoyed it!
Chevauchee. Medieval skirmish campaigns.
by Iván d. l. O. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2016 15:17:17

I bought the Chevauchee after a handful of very successful games with the FiveCore system. The rules are an adaptation, with tables for creating troops, weapons and heroes. Nothing new, except some minimal elements, but very suitable for the period.

Just a momment to comment the review done by Keegan N, I don't know what ruleset has he revied, because:

  • "Weapons rules are scattered about the book, movement and base rules are seperated". This is a lie... the rules for the wepons and armour are located 12 and following. With tables where is explained how works the weapon, not only that, but you can created special rules for the troops, making them something invidual.
  • "Initative comes after the bulk of combat rules".. sorry but they come in the same page after combat, page number 9...
  • "The rules are full of vague statements, and several terms are left undefined, leaving it up to player interpretation".... I don't know where are those vague statements... all is very very similar to FiveCore and is clear.
  • "The most painful thing I ran into is the combination of the Stay Alert order and Guard fire" I am sure that this guy haven't read the same book than me... on page 8 says that a troop only can choose ONE ACTION... so how could you combine them?
  • "Guard fire allows infinite reaction fire" meck! in my book it doesn't happen... you can only react Guard Fire one time per turn, as is logic.

    Paraphrasing Keegan reviews "like this, make me question how much" played he this game... because I am sure that we are not reviewing the same book. And if the book has changed so much from version 1 to 1.1, what currently is available, I think that he should delete or remake the review, becuase it is giving a false image of this ruleset. That, maybe is not perfect... but sure that is not about that he was reviewing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chevauchee. Medieval skirmish campaigns.
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Survey and Explore. A Starport Scum expansion
by Mike B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2016 09:00:47

Short and pretty sweet - the simple production keep the cost down I guess and it is really all about ideas anywy, not the look of the product. For what it cost, exceelnt VFM



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Survey and Explore. A Starport Scum expansion
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Publisher Reply:
Cheers and thank you! Yeah, for stuff like this, the aim is to provide more gaming material while keeping cost down for everyone involved. Glad you liked it!
FiveCore 3rd edition. Skirmish Gaming Evolved
by Andrea G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2016 08:14:02

I had the opportunity to run 3-4 games with Ivan system and let me tell you: it is in my opinion one of the best Sci Fi skirmish ever. First, it is simple to learn, but it is far from being ordinary. Second: game is actually fun and fast! there is a lot of action, tactical thinking and reactions... and all in a smooth, cinematic and fun way. This third edition is very polished and can be used for very different game scenarios (modern, sci fi, horror, pulp...). It has a nice campaign system, rules for vehicles and even random events and options for pick-up games. I strongly suggest to try it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FiveCore 3rd edition. Skirmish Gaming Evolved
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Not Just a Brush War. Brush war campaigns for any war game system
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2016 04:02:42

Published by Nordic Weasel Games, Not Just a Brush War. Brush war campaigns for any war game system is apparently a departure from their usual product range, in that it is system agnostic and not designed to work specifically with one or more of its other products. It is clearly aimed at wargamers, specifically those wargamers focusing on the brush wars of the last century, this century and the near future. The pdf has twos ections. The first section consists of tables for generating "imagi-Nations" for wargaming, these tables cover about 10 pages and are designed to be modularm, so that a player need not use all of the tables if desired. The last section is about 28 pages long and covers campaign rules, designed to overlay your wargames rules, again, they are modular and you need not use them all.

While not aimed at Sci-fi (my favourite genre) I can definitely find a use for this pdf in both my wargaming and roleplaying games. There are even rules for figuring the relative tech level of the imagi-Nation and a table for generating the name of military operations, I rather like this table and will definitely use it a lot.

I'd definitely recommend it.

I deducted one rating point, only because it is not broadly useful across all game genres. Having said that it would still be fairly easy to adapt it to your favourite genre.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Not Just a Brush War. Brush war campaigns for any war game system
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Trench Storm
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2016 02:56:12

Trench Storm is a nice interpretation of company/battion level WW I, subsequent civil wars and disorders. The rules can apply to both trench and open warfare without becoming too detailed or excessively abstract. The author understands the period and provides easy rules for extending the game to playing a campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trench Storm
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Warsaw is burning! Poland 1939
by Malcolm W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2016 20:55:37

This provides the wargamer with a quite innovative way of producing a whole variety of battles across a range of scenery areas, yet it is balanced toward the games ending up with a historical feel. Poland lost and so the scenarios lean toward that, sometimes with an unerring certainty. I would recommend this to wargamers who use almost any rule types, as a means of producing some excellent games.

Mal Wright



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warsaw is burning! Poland 1939
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Publisher Reply:
Glad you enjoyed it!
Starport Scum
by James K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2016 16:24:18

I got these rules with the intention to run small, fast skirmish games. They are, however, so much more than just that. I find now that I am preparing an entire RPG-lite campaign for myself in order to take my miniatures for a ride. I am coming up with stories, back stories, governments, systems all so that I can play little battles between a few of my figures and with that tell a story. These rules are fun.

I don't really know where to begin. You roll a handful of D6s to see if you hit, and if you kill. Your opponent might roll a couple of defence D6s to negate some of your hits. You roll a few D6s to see how far you can move. If you take 1 hit from an attack, you are pinned. 2 hits and you are out of the game. 3 hits and you are killed so horribly that your team will suffer extra negative points to their morale check. That is essentially the rules. How many D6 do I roll? There are 4 class of character ranging from cannon fodder to hero (main player character). Cannon fodder roll fewer D6s BUT you can change that if you want. The beauty of these rules are that you can do what you want with them. As well as having more D6 available to them, heroes and aces have character traits, which can basically, again, be what you want them to be: an extra D6 on attacks, free movement, talk your way past guards, stealthy. They can also have weapons that have abilities: extra D6 on attacks, limited ranges, long ranges, explosive radius, push targets back, only fired once per game, etc.

There is an entire system in place to standardize and create traits and weapons, but you can also just make stuff up. None of my character notes are officially labeled as per the rules. I have a shotgun that grants +1D6 under 8 inches and -1D6 over 12 inches. According to the rules this could have all kinds of "tags" on it, but I feel just writing exactly what the ability does is easier. This is the same with traits, although I should keep better track of combat/non-combat traits.

Where the game gets really interesting, in my opinion, is in the RPG/campaign parts. I hadn't even considered these, but they are so cool. My battles now are not just my heroes fighting gang members over a village and if they win then they save the damsel. There will be people to talk to, things to repair, terminals to hack, messages to broadcast, buildings to search. My skirmish will not just be a skirmish. There will be more to it. Then, after the battle, I can earn money or loot (which I can take from tables provided or just MAKE UP MYSELF!!!).

There are a few pages of just random stuff generators: people, motives, back stories, corporation names, news headlines (WHAT?!?!). There is a section devoted to the outside world moving on while we have out little fight on this planet in the middle of nowhere. There are sample missions to help you get started and randomly create encounters.

Basically, if like me you have no friends and a pregnant wife who goes to bed early at the moment, then I recommend this game. I can play out a little story one evening, spend the next thinking up my next part and then fight that out the following day. However, this game also works if you have friends. You could easily turn it into a proper RPG campaign. If you want small fights in cantinas, or scavenging jobs, or to tell a story then these are rules to get.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starport Scum
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Last Era. Big fantasy skirmishes
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2016 21:30:06

Last era is a solid game. The mechanics are straight-forward, and may seem overly simple at first glance. However, there are 20 special rules which can add a lot of nice character to the game’s simple stat line. And the combat results and morale rules subtlety reward using appropriate ancient/medieval tactics. Indeed, I’m planning to try the rules out for some historical battles as well as fantasy.

As an added bonus, the background/world-building given, while brief, is pretty interesting, and I think it can be great inspiration for scenario building.

The army list included contains a mix of troops from several different factions and aren’t really complete by themselves. But many new troop types have already been published in the expansions with the promise of more. So, this is less of an issue.

Overall, I feel I received a lot of value for the money, and I’m looking forward to the continued support for the game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Last Era. Big fantasy skirmishes
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for sharing and I am glad you found the rules to be of value. Let me know how you get on with a historical variant. In the future, there will be more troop types that can \"double up\" as historical types, but i am not 100% certain where they\'ll fall in the timeline.
Starport Scum Beta rules
by Alexander W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2016 07:16:49

Starport Scum is a great game if you are looking for some space adventures. The rules are very open-ended, giving you lots or freedom when it comes to designing the characters, traits and equipment for them. Using a set of traits that either give you a bonus to a roll or allow you to do something that you normally couldn't, your imagination is the only limit to the characters and creatures you can feature in your games.

The system uses only D6s for all task and combat resolution and a handfull of them will be enough. There isn't a point-system of any sort in this game, it's definitely geared towards narrative play, with or without a game master. If you are looking for a competetive tournament-type game, this isn't it.

It's worth noting that the game is still in beta, and some functions, like mission generation and character growth rules are not in the beta as of yet, however the basic game if fully playable as it stands right now.

This game is for epic adventures of the fantastical kind, and I can't say I've played one that better fits the bill.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starport Scum Beta rules
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

FiveCore 3rd edition. Skirmish Gaming Evolved
by ar e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2016 21:38:35

From a personal standpoint, for my style of gaming, the rules themselves might be slightly much to handle alone. However, objectively, they're well written and pretty concise as far as miniatures rules go. The core rules aren't the reason I gave it a 4; the main reason is the lack of a bookmark sidebar, which would be extremely helpful in referencing certain nuances mid-game.

From a more biased standpoint, I'd like to note that once again, Nordic Weasel Games has delivered a rather useful tool within a game that, even though I may not end up getting much use out of the core book, will be extremely helpful to me in other endeavors. In this case I refer to the solo play rules and the tables occupying the last third or so of the PDF.

There are comprehensive rollable tables for campaign attributes such as random forces (WW2, Modern, Irregular, Gang and SWAT), fireteam generation, vehicle presence, a war generator for both earth and spacefaring settings, and even some goodies in character creation that help you define the background and personality of a character you don't already have down in your head.

Perhaps most intriguingly, the campaign rules give you rules and rollable tables for such things as the nature of injuries that befall those taken out in combat (from light wounds and dramatic scars to permanent injuries and death), replacements and recruits, campaign events (reassignment of soldiers, arrival of a new recruit, and so on), and of course, full-on mission generation.

For me, the strength of Nordic Weasel titles has always been the robust random generation, and these are things I feel like I could transplant into any game. In fact... I was going to give it a 4 for the lack of a bookmark index, but the more I look over these bonuses at the end of the book, the better I feel about this purchase. Five stars, for depth of utility alone!

Short Version: (And mind, this is from a very individualized standpoint.) If you've been searching for a game that lets you take control of a squad or platoon and follow them throughout a procedural military campaign, as I so long have, this is your train. Get on and ride this baby to glory. (Or... horrific defeat, as circumstances may dictate. May the dice treat your boys well!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FiveCore 3rd edition. Skirmish Gaming Evolved
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Last Era. Big fantasy skirmishes
by Greg H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2016 21:49:15

A simple, clean set of mass skirmish rules with some subtle tweaks on the conventional mechanics. It fulfills its stated goal, which is to be an easy, minimal-prep game, with room for future expansion. There is enough going on to make it a viable and worthwhile (and cheaper?) alternative to the many other rulesets out there. A solid 4.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Last Era. Big fantasy skirmishes
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 41 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates