Wargame Vault
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Pulp Alley - PDF
by Alex L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2017 02:58:57

A very nicely designed set of rules, designed to be simple enough to play with minimal referring back to the book. The key premise is that to succeed at at an activity, be it hitting, shooting or solving an objective, you need to roll 4 or above. The variables are how many dice you roll and how many sides they have, and the modifiers on those factors are minimal and pretty easy to remember.

I highly recommend getting the basic rules book in conjunction with Pulp Alley Leagues - that book provides the flavour to this book's mechanics. If cost is an issue, I'd advocate getting the free rules download first with Pulp Alley Leagues - pretty much the only thing you'd be missing at that point are basic scenarios.

The author of the rules has also started putting up demo games on YouTube, which are well worth a watch for getting an understanding of the game:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VmtmuMH4iz8&t=157s



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Alley - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Pulp Alley: Denizens of Lemuria
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 13:21:32

Exact same cards as in expansion, the only difference is that here you get them in color. Quite useless IMO... To bad that there is no refund :/



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Alley: Denizens of Lemuria
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Pulp Alley: Explorers of Lemuria
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 13:18:45

Exact same cards as in expansion, the only difference is that here you get them in color. Quite useless IMO...



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Alley: Explorers of Lemuria
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Pulp Alley: Perilous Island Campaign
by Nathaniel W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2015 12:40:55

I like that this book provides both scenarios and a campaign, and the bunch of extra abilities and perks to use in games. I plan to use many of them for doing Lovecraftian horror games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Alley: Perilous Island Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Pulp Alley - PDF
by Tim P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2015 13:46:35

One of the most interesting and well developed systems I have read in the past few years. This game features on non combat challenges as much as combat in a quick but interesting way. Don't let the theme fool you, many people are also using this for anything from fantasy to star wars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Alley - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Pulp Alley - Quick Start PDF
by Thomas R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2014 22:10:23

Just an excellent game.

Pulp Alley has been thoroughly play-tested and carefully developed. It is clearly written, features easy to read layout and best of all, the game is brilliantly supported by the author and an enthusiastic community of players.

A super combination of elegant dice mechanics, card-play and no-nonsense minis action deliver a truly fun game. Pulp Alley is all about the over-the-top antics of the classic pulp novels, films and radio-plays of the 20's, 30's and 40's, but the system will adapt well to any setting as long as you are looking for a strong narrative element in your game play.

Pulp Alley is different from the usual 'measure, move and roll dice' sort of game. Sure, you do all those things, but the action in Pulp Alley really is cinematic. Focus is on characters, not equipment. Control of initiative allows a player to direct the action. Opposed roll dice-matching ensures that characters and players remain involved at all times. The 'Fortune Deck' provides challenges and opportunities to drive the story. Clever design ensures replayability.

The basic game has been enhanced with two high-quality expansions; the Perilous Island campaign book and the Pulp Guns Gadgets and Vehicles book.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Alley - Quick Start PDF
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Pulp Alley: Perilous Island Campaign
by Dan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2013 15:08:51

This seems to be very well produced although I have not had a chance to print it out yet. The rules seem to be good on a quick read through.

On a personal note I'd like to thank David and Mila for including photos of some of my mini's in this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Alley: Perilous Island Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Pulp Alley - PDF
by Dan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2013 15:04:59

The rule book seems to be very well produced, but I have not had a chance to print it out yet. On a quick read through the rules seem good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Alley - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Pulp Alley - Quick Start PDF
by Matthew F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2013 13:15:08

Having been moving toward smaller scale skirmish games for a while, it was great to get the opportunity to try the Pulp Alley rules out before jumping in. I'd been enjoying Strange Aeons for some time & was looking for something in a similar line but with a little more depth. As both games are discussed on the Lead Adventure Forum, (where I found out that some free QS rules were available) I decided to try PA out and I have to say that it's an excellent ruleset with enough detail to give real flavour to your encounters - I can't recommend it enough & look forward to much pulp gaming goodness in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Alley - Quick Start PDF
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates