Wargame Vault
Find Category







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Shedload o' sheds
by Chuck S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2015 13:59:27

This a great set from Stoelzel's Structures. Easy to use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shedload o' sheds
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Trailer Town Playset
by Chuck S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2015 13:54:58

This is another great set by Stoelzel's structures. If you are looking to get into card-stock scenery, this is a great one to start with. Each trailer takes only an hour or two once you have the techniques learned.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trailer Town Playset
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Hospital
by Chuck S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2015 09:43:20

I have slowly been collecting all of Stoelzel's Structures Buildings. This is an exceptional model. He even gives two sizes of beds and two different wall designs for the exterior walls. I visualize this as a rural medical centre. This will probably be the most complicated building I make; having three floors with small rooms.

I made all windows out of transparencies. Definitely make your windows out of transparencies, they are pricey to buy, but one pack will last for many building projects. Once you get used to it, it does does not add a lot of build time. I cut out the windows and doors out of the card-stock (except the "hinge" of the door where I want it to open), then glue the transparencies to the doors and windows of the card-stock, then glue them to the card-stock which already has the foambaord with the the other piece glued to it and the windows and doors cut out.

This building took me around 8 hours plus a couple of hour for interior furniture etc. It was my first big building, so now I could probably create it in half that time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hospital
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Big Box
by Chuck S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2015 09:32:05

I have been picking up virtually all of Stoelzel's Structures buildings. I find them very easy to build, each one is easier and quicker than the last as I determine a process that works. I do not find the rabbeting difficult at all, I cut with an exacto-knife then scrape off and unwanted paper and foam board with one end of my scissors. Definitely use a glue gun, and definitely make sure your pieces fit before attempting to glue. You will also need a spray craft glue.

I was very happy with this set but modified it to make it look more like a Wal-Mart. Thought the height was accurate for 28mm, an actual department store would be enormously wide on the table, which means I found it looked too tall compared to its width. This was easily remedied by trimming an inch off the top of each wall. I also extended mine to the right by 7 inches instead of to the back. The shelves were great, though too tall. They are about 10 or 12 feet in 28mm, I turned mine sideways which makes them about 8 feet. You could also just print them out at 75% or so.

Including modifications this took me about 3 hours for the main structure and 4 or 5 for the inner structure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Big Box
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Fire Station
by Larry J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2015 14:06:10

Great model, build was easy and intuitive. My only complaint/criticism would be the main door to the fire engine bay is on the small side other than that it is an amazing model that blends in well with the rest of the line. Easily customizable if you have any of the MUCK series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fire Station
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the reviews Larry
Colossus Cineplex
by Larry J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2015 12:22:04

Another amazing model from Stoezels. The artwork and images are really well done, the building aligns perfectly and it was a joy to build. Including the parking lot for the movie theatre was a brilliant idea and finally gives me a proper parking area for large buildings :)

So far I have pretty much bought and built the majority of his buildings and I can't rave enough about them, also even though they are designed for 28-30mm miniatures you can easily build them for other scales by adjusting the print %.. If you do a lot of modern gaming then I can't recommend these highly enough.

Larry



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Colossus Cineplex
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Barn
by Scott C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2014 17:53:05

Finally learned how to do rabbet joints properly - not as hard as I thought. The walls are fine although I think if inside and outside were conjoined by a 5 mm spacer on the same page it would make alignment easier. A little disappointed there was no ground (floor) for the barn (not required for my use though). Needs fill and some painting on the foamboard edges to finish but otherwise an easy build.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Barn
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Historic District: Olde Towne
by graham l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2014 14:58:52

I too have been looking for cheap Victorian London buildings to create a claustrophobic setting for the Empire of the Dead kickstarter figures I got at the end of last year. This is exactly what I was looking for.

Similar to the review by Iain I currently only want the external building components but who knows about the future. Some of the buildings I want to construct need to have flat roofs so it would be excellent if flat roofed buildings could be considered for the future. Also I will need to make some lower two storey buildings rather than the three storey ones because even the Empire of the Dead Vampires cant climb that high - so I'll need some lower ones to initially get people up high from which they can jump or climb to the dizzy heights of three storeys.

Anyway, this evening I printed out a 4.5 x 8 inch building, raided the kitchen for some cardboard from various boxes and and armed with a glue stick, a stanley knife blade, a cutting matt and some elastic bands (used to hold the full height chimney together) I have made my first building and it looks fantastic!! All I need to do to finish it off is some edging with a black marker pen.

Next I need some fencing and walling to go around it to finish it off properly- is there anything like that available?. Maybe cobbled road and footways and a few manhole covers (this may then give access to sewers below..........sewer system possibilities?????)

Anyway I am happy, I can start to construct complete rows of terraced houses and those spooky arches!

Congratulations to everyone involved in producing this



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Historic District:  Olde Towne
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Fatal Frontier Playset
by richard m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2014 23:16:13

Incredible, These are what I have been waiting for old west. interior walls and furniture. Easy to build.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fatal Frontier Playset
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Modular Shopping Mall
by kim d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2013 04:51:31

An awesome mall for all modern gaming if your looking for a good place to infest with zombies look no further



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modular Shopping Mall
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Modular Urban Center Kit (M.U.C.K.)
by Colin N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2013 05:36:26

An absolutely splendid product - you get so much, so many different options for your money that it's very hard to believe!

I echo the other reviewer's comments about the service on the Stoelzel's forum. Very approachable and willing to accept suggestions.

A great product from a great designer!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modular Urban Center Kit (M.U.C.K.)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Modular Urban Center Kit (M.U.C.K.)
by robert c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2013 14:42:28

This is easily my favorite pdf 3d kit I've yet purchased. The amount of different buildings you can get out of this are vast, even before you start hacking and modifying your own way. Allowed me to build up an entire city for Prohbition Era Gangster gaming and Pulp gaming with a single purchase. The buidings are easy to assemble and designed around using foam core, making for buildings very nearly as solid as anything made out of plastic or resin when you're done, and at a fraction of th price with no painting involved! I am very much happy with this, and have purchased several other Stoelzel's models as a result of my positive experience with this kit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modular Urban Center Kit (M.U.C.K.)
by Archibald L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2012 18:51:01

This is an awesome value for the money. The set is awesome for kitbashing,it's essentially 6 wall textures with a gazillion of worthy extras, like roof toppings (chimneys, air ducts,etc.), sidewalks, trash bins, wooden palettes. However some things just stop me from giving it 5 stars. First, it's a 300+ pdf, without bookmarks. Second, no page is labeled. you have to wonder just what something is supposed to be. Because of this, it's really not an entry level set. There are no instructions for the extras, and no cutting, folding, scoring instructions on the plates themselves. There is nothing really complex when you know what you're doing however. The geometry is sound, and the end results are very pleasing. My kids love their houses, and are constantly asking for new ones. Making a house takes about an hour and the end result is incredibly sturdy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
First off, I want to thank you for your suggestions, I hope you will find all your concerns addressed in the most recent update to this product. These are changes I also hope to implement in my other products as well, so thanks. p.s the note about the kids made my day.
Modular Urban Center Kit (M.U.C.K.)
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2012 19:43:01

This is a great set, and an extremely good value. The set includes enough pieces to populate an urban area very effectively with six different building styles, each with different color and size options. I had a minor issue during the construction of my second piece, so I posted to the publisher's forum, and received the information I needed in less than an hour. Great service, great product, outstanding value. Also, the dice tower building topper is very effective and gives me a great way to have a dice tower on the table without it looking out of place.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Historic District: Olde Towne
by Iain M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2012 13:48:53

I'd been looking for a solution to modelling 19th century London in order to run steam punk/hunt the ripper type games for a while; I'd resigned myself to scratch building out of embossed plastic card and having something ready in the next five years when I saw this: EXCELSIOR!!

Good points:

  • Even with the coast of foam board / printer costs etc it's still dirt cheap Three lighting styles means I can get that murky / pea-souper look without having to tint Good variety of parts / additions make it easy to customise *Nice looking interiors (I won't be using them but they are a grand touch none-the-less)

Not so good points: and these are picky rather than serious-

  • some different door styles / wharehouse doors would be nice
  • Always a big double window on the ground floor- not so good for modelling the 'rookeries' where the n'er do wells live! *Chimney stacks are VERY big

The above are nothing I can't remodel myself and with all the time saved I certainly will be. Very, very happy with this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Historic District:  Olde Towne
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the kind words Iain, I just wanted to note that I have updated the file to include much smaller chimneys for the roof. You can find these on page 347 of the updated file. I hope they help. Given the success of this product (and my own interests) I am likely to expand upon this project at some point in the next few months. If you have any other suggestions, feel free to drop by the new forum found on phpbbplanet (sorry I can't direct link according to WV policy). Cheers, Carl.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates