Wargame Vault
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Kings of War 2nd Edition Rulebook
by Stephen N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2015 18:17:50

I absolutely LOVE this game and I think Mantic has done a fantastic job on this latest edition rule book. Great artwork, pics of miniatures, lore, rules and army lists. It really offers a lot of content at a high level of quality. Very much worth it for any mini wargamer!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kings of War 2nd Edition Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Kings of War 2nd Edition Rulebook
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2015 09:00:07

Pros:

  • Full color pictures, drawings, and paintings throughout
  • It contains ALL of the rules you need to play the game
  • The rules are all clear and concise
  • All twelve of the world's army lists (although Mantic are currently points-costing "other" companies armies so they can be used in Kings of War) are in one book AND they are thoroughly play-tested and balanced
  • GREAT PRICE!!!

Cons: -No rules for campaigns or sieges however I've read that they will be forthcoming in a future supplement.

Final Thoughts: BUY THIS NOW if you want to play a fun, easy to understand, yet tactical mass-battles fantasy game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kings of War 2nd Edition Rulebook
by Cameron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2015 19:33:27

Great game!!! Great book!!! good, easy read, full of fluff and backstory for the world of MANTICA. Artwork is excellent and the models used in the pics are superbly painted....glad I bought two!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kings of War 2nd Edition Rulebook
by Bjorn O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2015 09:27:27

45 pages of background (fluf) is great to get a feel of the game. rules are clearly described, with good illustrations.

I'm just missing an index at the end of the book with all the separate rules, references...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kings of War 2nd Edition Rulebook
by Sharad V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2015 01:09:46

I have been playing KoW since it was a little printed booklet that you got free with a big box full of great miniatures from Mantic, so I was waiting in anticipation for this new version - worth the wait? HELL YES! Where to begin? Ok, if you are new to gaming, the pick-up-and-play rules are really easy with fantastic illustrations to help you along. For the veteran gamer, you are in for a real treat, because even thought the mechanics are straight forward, the tactical requirements (especially if you play timed games) is mind blowing. Really easy army construction, great game-play, nice magic system and plenty of flexibility in how you boost your mages with more spells etc.
Combat system is superb if a little brutal. One minute you can have a unit in full strength the next it's either quaking in their boots or off the table and gone home to mummy! The fact that you can build an army with beautiful themed bases (extra architecture such as casualties, scenery etc) means you can stretch your models that bit further and have more units. As long as the unit conforms to a standard foot-print (troop, regiment, horde or legion), then you can go nuts with what you actually field! Army size can go from small skirmishes with a couple of units to huge battles that make the final sequence from Lord of the Rings look like a school play ground scrap! The background fluff is congruent with what has come before and elaborates further which is better than some manufacturers who change the fluff because the writers can't be bothered to read what has gone before (for some, myself included, this is important because we theme our army around a background). I have already played it and cannot wait for my next game! So, if you want a fantasy, mass-combat game, Kings of War 2nd edition is to go-to game in my opinion. Well worth the money, great value, great game and you will not regret getting it as long as you get around to playing!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kings of War 2nd Edition Rulebook
by Matthew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2015 12:28:09

Very clear and concise rules, combined with some imaginative fluff. I'm really looking forward to playing it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DreadBall Xtreme
by Bill R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2014 14:32:03

We'll see how it plays, but it looks good so far. I'm pretty excited to receive all my DBX kickstarter stuff.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DreadBall Xtreme
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Mars Attacks
by Iain M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2014 12:28:30

It works well, just marred by Mantic's duff up over delivery of Kickstarter- far, far too many people left waiting far, far too long by a company that appears to be adopting a moving target approach to production :(



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mars Attacks
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Mars Attacks
by Iain M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2014 13:46:12

Would appear to be useful and provided by Mantic as part of Kickstarter. Not been able to use due to the ongoing movement of the delivery goalpost by Mantic whereby backers wait longer and longer whilst the game goes retail. Really losing any love for the Mantic.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mars Attacks
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Dwarf King's Hold: Dead Rising Rulebook
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2014 02:15:41

Points to note:

1) This is B&W only 2) It does not give you the tile set but does give you the layout for each scenario 3) The pictures are quiet hard to read due to the lack of colour

Save your money for the boxed set.

Mantic - this should be F.O.C. as you cannot really play it without the game box.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dwarf King's Hold: Dead Rising Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Basilean Legacy - A Kings of War Supplement
by Andrea C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2014 16:51:20

A must for kings Of War players. it allows you to field an army of "good boys", use different magics and add some useful magic artifact. I think the Basilean army is for really tactical players. You don't field many units, so you must be careful about deployment and losses, but those units are really strong and if well lead ( and this is YOUR duty, my General :-) ) you can smite the evil-ones!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Basilean Legacy - A Kings of War Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Basilean Legacy - A Kings of War Supplement
by Timmy D. C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/31/2014 12:05:47

This supplement is great-value for your money as it includes everything you need to field the newer factions such as the Basileans, Forces of Nature and Forces of the Abyss. The supplement also includes new magical items and above all some great background information about the new Basilean faction. On my blog Wargame News and Terrain I have written a short review of the content of this particular supplement so if you're interested in checking the content! Take a look here:

http://wargameterrain.blogspot.be/2014/02/mantic-games-basilean-legacy-kings-of.html

Kind regards



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadzone - Nexus Psi Campaign Book
by Teemu H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2014 16:06:00

Some spelling errors and the short story in the last few pages was weirdly divided with other short stories. Otherwise I'm satisfied with the product and can't wait to create my own tales on the Nexus Psi!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadzone - Nexus Psi Campaign Book
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Deadzone - Nexus Psi Campaign Book
by Adrian R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2014 14:09:14

It is a great addition to the deadzone rules. It provides additional rules and a campaign. The history behind several mercenaries provides interesting reading.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DreadBall - The Futuristic Sports Game
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2014 12:43:26

Great game and easy to play easy to learn too highly recommend



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DreadBall - The Futuristic Sports Game
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 45 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates