Wargame Vault
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
-- To Cry a Joust -- Rules for Jousting with Knights
by Pat T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2017 19:31:55

Excellent, quick game. I play it with my six year old at home. She loves the pagentry of knights, and now she is honing her math skills while letting them joust.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
-- To Cry a Joust -- Rules for Jousting with Knights
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gentlemen Generals 18th Century Warfare Rules
by PANTELIS K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2016 17:16:58

Simple, good rules for the Horse and Musket period.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gentlemen Generals 18th Century Warfare Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

It is Warm Work Age of Sail Naval Rules 2nd Edition
by Claus P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2015 00:52:04

I have now played this at three conventions and am still amazed at how simple the rules are to understand while at the same time giving me the proper feel of naval battles in the age of sail. At the latest convention I had almost forgot how the rules played, but within 15 minutes I was back on track and so were the new players.

I highly recommend these rules!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
It is Warm Work  Age of Sail Naval Rules 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

-- To Cry a Joust -- Rules for Jousting with Knights
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2013 16:39:35

This is an excellent beer-and-pretzels game of jousting. Highly recommended. I'll definitely be using it for a miniature game. The only thing missing is any particular method of one knight being better than another, but that's easily house-ruled. Feels very authentic without being overly complicated. Each 'run' a player picks one of three cards to determine which tactic they use. This is kind of like rock-scissors-paper in terms of the benefit its provides (and I might be expanding the selection of cards myself, but it looks like it will work pretty well). Each cards can give a benefit depending on the card that opposes it. Very well thought out (something RARELY true of games in this price range!).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
-- To Cry a Joust -- Rules for Jousting with Knights
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

-- To Cry a Joust -- Rules for Jousting with Knights
by Morten C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2013 07:28:54

It is a very easy to learn and very funny. We tried it with some Lego Knights. Now we have ordered some 28 mm knights



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
It is Warm Work Age of Sail Naval Rules 2nd Edition
by Anthony W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2013 11:38:13

An excellent game with simple rules that offers a good tactical challenge on the table top. Highly recommended!

My review here: http://wattswargames.blogspot.ca/2013/03/it-is-warm-work-review.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
It is Warm Work  Age of Sail Naval Rules 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

It is Warm Work Age of Sail Naval Rules 2nd Edition
by Jordan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2012 21:48:10

This is one of the best games I've played in over a decade of gaming. Everything you need to play, except dice and a ruler, is provided in this print and play product. There is a scenario and counters representing the ships are included. The rules are very easy to play and give very gripping and flavorful games. There are rules for everything from sloops to enormous 110 gun sailing "death star" ships. The rules also cover static elements like forts and gun emplacements. There are points values given for those wanting to build fleet lists but, you can just as well look up historical battles and create fleets based on real events. The rules handle large battles well and the battle my gaming group played with ten ships a side was a great way to test the waters for battles with larger fleets. One of the best games I have played, of anything, to date in terms of action, flow and player involvement. But, it is not just the fleet actions which shine. The game also gives a system for dropping down a level and re creating the duels between single ships which you might have seen in pirate movies or recall from the history of the war of 1812. You can use 1/2400 scale models on bases, as the rules suggest, or dust off some Wizkids pirate ship models. Whatever you use, you will have a great game. BUY THIS GAME.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
-- To Cry a Joust -- Rules for Jousting with Knights
by Blue T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2012 06:37:37

It’s a fast and easy game to learn, and play. My grandson and I play it all the time with his Schleich knights.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
-- To Cry a Joust -- Rules for Jousting with Knights
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

It is Warm Work Age of Sail Naval Rules 2nd Edition
by Matt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2012 05:47:42

This is an excellent set of Age of Sail rules that I and my friends (even those barely interested in naval gaming) thoroughly enjoyed. It has the right fuzzy level of detail to not get bogged down while keeping tension and allowing for period tactics by all concerned. The only niggle I have is that it is a chore printing-wise, since there is a lot of watermarking on the pdf.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
It is Warm Work  Age of Sail Naval Rules 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

-- To Cry a Joust -- Rules for Jousting with Knights
by Andrew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2011 12:22:00

These rules are easy,simple and very enjoyable to play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
-- To Cry a Joust -- Rules for Jousting with Knights
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

It is Warm Work Age of Sail Naval Rules 2nd Edition
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2011 18:01:40

I'm a newbie to naval miniature games but I found this easy to understand and fast to play. The rulebook goes straight to the point so, if you're a newbie like me, you might have to look for some terms in Wikipedia to better understand them. On the other hand, the rules are clearly written. As the product description says, this will shine in large battles with many ships where the simplified rules pay off.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
It is Warm Work  Age of Sail Naval Rules 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

It is Warm Work Age of Sail Naval Rules 2nd Edition
by Jean K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2011 15:35:44

Easy to play, interesting and fun ! Ce jeu est vraiment excellent. Simple à jouer, il conserve pourtant ce qui fait le charme des batailles navales d'antan ! Il permet de jouer de manière relativement réaliste en conservant la notion de vent, mais pourtant il n'est à aucun moment "lourd" à gérer. Tout se fait naturellement et au bout de 2/3 tours de jeu on a assimilé les règles pour se concentrer sur le placement des bateaux et l'anticipation nécessaire à ce genre de bataille. Non vraiment un jeu superbe, à tester absolument, il est idéal pour recycler les bateaux de "Pirates" (le jeu Wizkid) par exemple :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gentlemen Generals 18th Century Warfare Rules
by Andrew F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2011 12:02:01

Excellent set of rules for the horse and musket period. The focus is more on generalship than mechanics. I found the ease of play and the complexity of strategy a perfect blend. I would recommend this to anyone from the novice to the the expert. It is a perfect set of rules to introduce someone to the period.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gentlemen Generals 18th Century Warfare Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

It is Warm Work Age of Sail Naval Rules 2nd Edition
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2011 13:23:44

Great set of rules that is fun, easy to play and easy to follow. Some of the cumbersome details of age of sail games are abstracted out, but it still feels realistic.

I particularly like the measurements which allow for an involving game and are fairly realistic. The ships turn properly too - unlike many naval games that make ships behave like cars!!

It's easy to add more complex house rules if you want to, or play at different scales. I've played 1:600, 1:1200 & 1:2400.

You can just stick to the book rules for one on one battles or play out fleet engagements using either variation.

Only criticism is that there are a few typos and some of the graphics could be more "polished", but the yahoo group updates and adds bits and pieces. Definitely well worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
It is Warm Work  Age of Sail Naval Rules 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

It is Warm Work Age of Sail Naval Rules 2nd Edition
by Warren S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2010 19:05:54

I've finally found my favorite Age of Sail rules!!! "It is Warm Work" is excellent and is money well spent!!! Thank you!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates