Wargame Vault
Browse
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Book of Ruins (1981)
by Elizabeth R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2017 14:28:50

Great resource for legacy role-players. These ruins are perfect for off-the-cuff sessions, or to demonstrate to a newbie--yes, they still exist--what the game is all about before joining a full campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Ruins (1981)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Wilderlands of High Adventure Map 9: Western Karak
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2016 07:56:08

This map provide a bit more detail on the Western Karak than the Rhadamanthia Continental map, but nowhere near as much as the level found in the original Wilderlands sets. It does provide a geographical framework for the GM to extend the wilderlands world to the east of Tranatnis and the maps to the sout on the eastern edge of the original widlerland series. Be advised this is a map and only a map, there is no description (villages, lurid lairs, islands, etc.) like is propvided in the orognal Wilderland series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Adventure Map 9: Western Karak
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Wilderlands of High Adventure: Rhadamanthia Continental Map
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2016 07:48:42

This provides a great deal of information on the overall world layout, and how the better known maps of the wilderlands fit into the rest of the world. Due to the scale, there is a diminished level of detail. That being said the map still provided an excellent contect for the main Wilderland maps. It also allows the GM to handle the situation where the player travel off the edge of the known world!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Adventure: Rhadamanthia Continental Map
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Wilderlands of High Adventure Player’s Guide #1: Tharbrian Horse-Lords
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2016 07:40:56

This is a very detailed view of the Tharbian culture. It is a must for anyone intendng to play characters in the Wilderlands and within that culture. I could see this adapting easily to any nomadic horse based culture as well. I don;t see this as a game aid in the sense of an adventure, unless you were to have your players encounter a tribe of Tharbians in the wilderness, and ther eit would probably take some special circumstances to prevent a brawl to the death. Being a huge fan of the Wilderlands series I found this added depth to Tharbian race and I am now applying some of this even to the city dwellers of Tharbian decent.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Adventure Player’s Guide #1: Tharbrian Horse-Lords
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Castle Book I (1978)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2016 10:36:07

Honestly, if you're thinking of getting this book, get "Village Book 1" instead. Most of what is covered in here is covered there, but more in depth. I will be honest, I was tempted to rate 1 star.

If you want a bunch of castle maps then maybe this might be useful for you, but they honestly aren't that detailed.

The only real redeeming feature for me was the "Random Follower Chart" which is interesting, but you probably have a usable table for this already anyway.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Castle Book I (1978)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Tarantis (1983)
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2016 14:04:17

This is the last of the City States by Bob Bledsaw. Judges Guild retreated from the hexagon system used by The City-State of the World Emporer, returning to the City-State of the Invincible Overlord's style of mapping. It comes off a bit more rigid and more mechanical looking than CSotIO, but seems to have retained much the same high-fantasy vibe.

If you are wondering why it didn't do as well or have as much fan-fare as the previous entries, it could be that most JG fans would have recognized TARANTIS as a campaign region and perhaps thought that this detailed a wilderness map. It was also a time when the RPG publishing industry was getting more glossy, more professional, and there was no matching change in quality or quality control at Judges Guild.

However, there is a solid City State effort here, and it is more satisfying than CSotWE and perhaps a bit less inspired than CSotIO. If you need or collect RPG cities, this is a good one and well worth a look.

The scan quality is not that great, with a fair amount of grey-scale greys in the text. The text itself is readable, but if it is has an OCR element, it is locked from use - you cannot copy text. All in all, passable, but annoyingly limited.

The map is, well, functional. I recalled how these maps were printed - brown ink on tan paper - and the quality is what it is, which is usable, but not very pretty, with vast areas around the city being a blight.

Me, I am quite happy to have it and give it 4 of 5 stars. However, if I were not a Judges Guild fan, it would be at least 1 star lower.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tarantis (1983)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

City State of the Invincible Overlord
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2016 14:11:28

A very respectful and detailed treatment of the City-State of the Invincible Overlord. The maps have been cleaned up while remaining faithful to the original. The writing is good, drawing upon the original (same locations, same shop owners) often expanding an idea into something a bit more coherent and readable. For instance, the menu at THE SILVER GOBLET remains the same, but the business is better described and the 9th level Fighter that owns the Inn now has some magic gear available (should you choose to use it).

The product also includes a remake of WRAITH OVERLORD, which details many of the regions beneath the city. I had not expected this and was very happy to discover the extra value added to an already loaded product.

This helps to explain the almost 300 pages of text and maps. The CSIO descriptive text of the town is still fairly brief, but adding a large expansion did, of course, increase the page count by a great deal.

The only downside that I can see is that the maps are all inside a PDF. You will have to have a tool to extract them if you wish to use the maps with VTT software, but once extracted and assembled, they range from large to massive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City State of the Invincible Overlord
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Map 2: Barbarian Altanis
by Julian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2016 12:01:39

Poor scans, scanned in black and white mode so they lost a lot of the detail. Whoever did the scans had no idea what they were doing. There are considerable sections of this that are barely readable. The hex numbers are completely unreadable in several spots.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Map 2: Barbarian Altanis
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Wilderlands of High Fantasy
by Julian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2016 11:46:13

This has some extremely poor scans. The pages were not touched up to remove the dark spots left by the reflection of the paper type by the scanner, nor were the black spots removed from scanning the product in book form. This isn't exactly a rare title, and for $4 a copy they could have afforded to unstaple a copy and run it through a sheet feeder so that the pages are straight.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Map 6: City State of the World Emperor (Viridistan)
by Annette T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2015 23:07:30

I need the city map, not the area map. I would not have purchased this if there were at least a little bit of a preview!!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Map 6: City State of the World Emperor (Viridistan)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Citadel of Fire (1980)
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2015 20:30:32

This isn't the best Judges Guild product. Although for relatively high level parties, this adventure has an entire level of low (1-1 Hit Die) creatures for some reason that I can't fathom. Other areas contain creatures that would make high level parties shudder.

This adventure isn't near as imaginative as other Judges Guild products (i.e. Caverns of Thracia and the Dark Tower) and lacks, in my mind at least, any clear cohesiveness other than the obvious (connecting passageways and rooms, etc).

I think that with some work on the DM's part, this adventure could be very good.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Citadel of Fire (1980)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Initial Guidelines Booklet J - Thunderhold (1976)
by Charles M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2015 21:31:45

This product includes all the maps for Thunderhold and the caverns. Scan quality is good. Brings back memories!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initial Guidelines Booklet J - Thunderhold (1976)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Initial Guidelines Booklet M (1977)
by Charles M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2015 21:27:08

Important: This product does NOT include the maps. Compare J, which does include maps. This is an incomplete product. Scan quality is good.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Initial Guidelines Booklet M (1977)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Tarantis (1983)
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2015 00:18:18

Every party needs a home place of safety and comfort, a rich city state to call their own home where they may have to watch their step. Tarantis has been my go to corner of the Wilderlands. This was a product where not every square inch of the map has been coloured in and there's still a chance for fortune in glory for adventurers if their willing to watch their step and take some risks in the blood soaked streets of Bledsawian adventure! Tarantis from Judge's Guild stirs up so many memories from the depths of my mind. I came upon this gem way back in the mists of time around 1990 something in a small side corner book shop in Boston. It was laying in the bottom of a box of comic books from the 1980's and there were some newspapers inside. Tarantis was not well received when it came out by Dragon or many of the folks who were used to the regular output of Judge's Guild products. That being said I loved it. And I've been searching for a copy of it ever since I cracked open the spine of the product. See Tarantis different from most of the JG Wilderlands campaigns. This place be came my piece of the Wilderlands in Boston where I ran it back to back for years. There are a few reasons why Tarantis is a perfect campaign city for adventurers. Its located on the Eastern subcontinent in the Wilderlands; Tarantis is a port city and home to a people reminiscent of the Turks,with bits of Pakistan, and India thrown into the background. Like many of the Wilderland governments Tarantis has a Lawful Evil or Neutral evil back beat for its political structure. The place has to with its location as a marine and trade status as a port city. The place has a strange Mongol feel about it and its a perfect sword and sorcery location because of its lack of the high fantasy feel of the other City State products. One of my all time favorite pieces of setting flavor is d100 rumor table that evokes the rest of the setting. The maps are very well done as always but there's also a sense that this was a product that was looking for a much more DYI flavor then some of the other Judge's Guild products. Sure there are plenty of details about the military forces, the army, the history, etc. and all of the details but this is a city state with blank spots that you as the DM could fill in and make this a customized setting right out of the gate and that's exactly what I did. If your looking for a good solid sword and sorcery or low fantasy setting then Tarantis might be a good fit for you. This was one of the latter pieces of Judge's Guild material and its after JG lost the AD&D licences. This means that its built along a far more generic feel then other products in the line but this also means that it has a far more system neutral appeal. Many have thought it inferior to other products that came out earlier. Maybe its partially nostalgia or perhaps its that I spent many a weekend mapping out encounter after encounter in this sword and sorcery city but I'm very fond of the Tarantis. To make up for the lack of fantasy elements I combined it with the Bloody,bloody, Arduin and given its feel it made a very nice adventurer friendly location for my home campaigns. The PC's had many a deadly time dealing with the locations that were detailed in this product. They also cover the shops and courts of Tarantis, The Tarantine Palace, Bard or Fighter Citadel, Ho Chi's Castle, The Azurerain Pirates and their stronghold. This scanned 1983 product includes the large Tarantis Area map, but does not contain the maps for Judges or Players. There is a strong sense of location, history, and strength of adventure just waiting around the corner that Tarantis has always been one of my orderly and incredible home bases for my PC's while pirates and the scum of the Wilderland's seas were just around the corner waiting with blood soaked cutlasses for my PC's to screw up and they'd have their heads on a lance or worse as part of a slave auction just down the coast somewhere. Personally I've always felt that Tarantis doesn't get its due at all. And it just might be worth your attention. A place where adventure is just around the corner. I ran Tarantis as if it was someplace that had jumped out of the imagination of HP Lovecraft and had tumbled out of the Arabian Knights via Ray Harryhausen's Sinbad pictures. This was a city that would have been visited by Sinbad and crew. A place where Conan and his crew of blood thirsty pirates would have fit right at home. And here Elves were an exotic sight sure to stir bewildered glances from the city guard and more then a bit of concern from the rest of the citizens. This was the city state where pillage and plunder from a thousand adventures was unloaded and traded for. Every stripe of race and humanity came through the ports of Tarantis in my campaigns and this was my Tarantis. Very few folks had heard of it but every DM seemed to know the Wilderlands. This was also my perfect excuse to expose PC's too all kinds of exotic and interesting peoples from across history and given analogues in the Wilderlands. History is full of various peoples and races from across the world that never get used. With the spicing of various peoples throughout history Tarantis was the perfect Lawful evil ruled melting pot. All in all Tarantis remains one of my favorite go to places for exotic adventure in the Wilderlands and one of the most unsung places of intrigue and adventure to put into action. If you haven't got it then wait till it goes on sale and grab it. I'm still looking into getting a physical copy of one of my favorite under appreciated sets from Judge's Guild.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tarantis (1983)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Temple of Ra Accursed by Set (1979)
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2015 12:02:11

Do you need a one shot adventure with a solid Egyptian style flavor? A place of mystery and challenge where your adventurers might be challenged by a pool of mystery, horror, and pulp adventure in the old school tradition? Welcome to the Temple of Set Accursed By Ra and welcome to a new oasis of adventure. Bring extra character sheets. The Temple of Ra Accursed By Set was one of those old school adventure romps that I've been trying to put into a blog post for the last day or so. This is a sixteen page adventure that can easily be inserted into any fantasy campaign that has an Egyptian style desert location. This module makes an excellent addition to any old school sword and sorcery campaign. Seriously this sucker can easily be dropped in and it will challenge the hell out of the players. The blurb according to Drivethrurpg: Temple of Ra Accursed by Set By Thomas and Edward McCloud A grand adventure through an Egyptian-style temple, desecrated long ago by evil forces. Adventuring parties now wander it, searching for loot, and the forces of good have also entered to protect the ancient relics and restore the balance. Several new monsters are prominently featured in this 16-page booklet. The temple was originally set up for play in three-dimensional form for use with 25mm lead miniatures; instructions are provided to the Judge so that it can be set up that way. This is a nice quick adventure for a single evening, but is capable of being worked into a larger campaign as the Judge desires. And that's exactly what it is, a single evening sixteen page dungeon set within a framework that can easily work as a touch stone or campaign set piece for the PC's to wander through. Everything about this screams drop this one right into the background of your campaigns. There are enough challenges to take the grins off of some of your high level PC's as well. There are some really nice bits and pieces in this adventure that can be easily adapted into any sword and sorcery campaign that uses a pseudo Egyptian flavor. Do I think that that the Temple of Ra Accursed By Set is worth the download? If your into Judge's Guild products like me? Then yes but there's more to this one then simply a quick sixteen page old school adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Temple of Ra Accursed by Set (1979)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 163 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates