Wargame Vault
Find Category
 Publisher Info







Back
Song of Blades and Heroes $15.00 $8.00
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
15 8
0 0
2 1
0 0
0 0
Song of Blades and Heroes
Click to view
Song of Blades and Heroes
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by thomas l. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 13:43:38

Song of Blades and Heroes has an excellent premise and good basic mechanics. Unfortunately some parts of the rules are poorly worded so they are difficult to understand. For example, I didn't realize a defending miniature can knock down or kill its opponent when it is attacked on my first reading. The other frustrating part of the book is its constant references to supplements and other publications by the author. It tells you you can give a unit an ability like illusionist, tower shield, or music, but doesn't explain what those abilities do. This is annoying and makes the game feel unfinished.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades and Heroes
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by Benjamin N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2014 19:37:50

I bought this game hoping to use my warhammer figures and I was definitely not let down. I have an army of goblins and an army of dwarfs I dusted off and have had an awesome time. I really like that there are missions within in the book that are much more than kill all the other guys. As far as balance horde versus elite small armies its been pretty good. My goblins were rolling through our last campaign and our next one will be based off of those results. Also a friend of mine brought along his digimon figures which we made a warband around and had a great time with.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades and Heroes
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by Steven S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2014 23:01:58

This is a great set of very simple rules with a fluid initiative system that really feels like a good skirmish. It is a simple, under-one-hour play time with solo-game playability was great. I tested it with one of my kids, and the others wanted to play too!

Definitely a recommended game system. It's easy to learn, easy to teach, and you can use your entire minis collection if you want to do so.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades and Heroes
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by Tiago H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2013 13:50:22

This game is one of my favorites, perfect to waste an hour or an afternoon with every miniature you have!

The most remarkable feature of this game and its greatest quality is it's emerging complexity. By that I mean: The game is very simple, every unit has two stats that you use during the game, and some special rules, very easy to remember that modify the unit in some situations. With just that the game manages to be very strategic and new at each play. No two combats play the same, whenever you expect the tide of the battle may turn and you have to be prepared for that! The combat is easy to roll, fast and very engaging!

Simple rules, challenging gameplay, what's not to like?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades and Heroes
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by Mauricio P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2012 21:10:26

Great little gem! If you're a fan of small skirmish games but hate to stop the game to look rules up, this is for you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades and Heroes
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2011 21:05:18

This is a really good set of rules for fantasy miniature skirmish battles. The rules are simple to understand and apply, and the "activation" mechanic adds another tactical element to the game.

Even though there is a point-based system to create new units -- check the download section of the publisher's site for a calculator -- the authors note that it is possible to abuse it and create unbalanced units. Personally, I like the freedom to create my own troops (even if they need some sanity checks) rather than being limited to "official army lists" from other games.

Overall, I was very satisfied with this purchase. The simple rules and unit creation allow the use of pretty much any miniatures (or paper figures, which I tend to use) to play. Games I've played have taken about 30-60 minutes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades and Heroes
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2010 05:51:02

I've been looking for a long time for a good miniatures skirmish game that didn't require massive purchases or incredibly detailed rulebooks. Something like a combination miniatures game and board game -- easy to learn, quick to play, and accessible to anyone.

Song of Blades and Heroes has become the primary miniatures game played around here. The rules are detailed enough to feel realistic (particularly with regard to morale) but flow easily and smoothly. Troops are distinguished from one another primarily by their special abilities, and new troop types can be created or customized quickly.

The only minor problem is that the system doesn't scale up to full battles. The standard size for a side is about eight to ten models, which is itself nice, but you can't really get much above double that before the game gets unbalanced. This makes it hard to use some of the costlier monster troops.

It's also a little annoying that the new troop creation rules are provided in the Yahoo fan group. It's not very convenient. A .PDF download directly from Ganesha's website would be okay; having the rules directly in the rulebook would be ideal. The Yahoo group's troop cost calculator is also badly out of date, and is missing the special abilities from the supplement Song of the Splintered Lands.

All that aside, this is one of the best miniatures games I've ever played -- especially at this absurdly low price point. A brand-new player can learn it in a half-hour and then play a full, satisfying campaign in a single evening without skipping supper. That's just classic.

I consider this game to be one of DriveThruRPG's very few "must haves."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades and Heroes
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2009 13:25:58

Very pleased with the fantasy miniature skirmish rules. It keeps everything simple without stripping the game down to something so generic there isn't really a difference between monsters or individuals.

PDF was good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades and Heroes
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by Steven P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2009 08:55:19

Do you want a fantasy miniatures game limited only by your imagination? "Song of Blades and Heroes " is it! This mechanically simple, concisely written ruleset will allow you to use almost any miniature you may own to play fast enjoyable games in a limited playing area. A very clever initiative system allows you to play cautiously and take fewer actions, or boldly, with the chance to do more, or lose the initiative to the other player. a great series of supplements adds to the value of this fine game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates