Wargame Vault
Browse
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Advanced Song of Blades and Heroes
by Baris K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2017 16:51:47

Still very easy rules but this time enahnced with all the goodies for newbies and hardcore gamers alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Song of Blades and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Furies of the Barrens RPG
by James R M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2017 08:00:37

Love this! The imagination for the world and the playable races/classes and monsters, etc. is pure. Its like Jack Kirby dropped acid and was told to elaborate on Thundarr the Barbarian. If there was a fund to have this printed in physical form (I'm old school like that), I would plunk down a load of cash for that. Buy this folks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Furies of the Barrens RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Blood, Sweat and Cheers
by David K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2017 15:45:09

This game is both fun and addictive. The basics are easy to learn, allowing you to build strategy for each gladiator type. The combination of card play skill versus dice roll and card draw luck insure no two matches will turn out the same. I introduced this game to a “non-gamer” friend and he is now hooked. Simple game mechanics are quick to learn and open enough to allow you to add your own narrative flourish to the game. Would love for the author to add a supplemental pack with female and dwarf gladiators and alternate special action cards. Very good game, highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood, Sweat and Cheers
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Song of Blades and Heroes
by thomas l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2017 13:43:38

Song of Blades and Heroes has an excellent premise and good basic mechanics. Unfortunately some parts of the rules are poorly worded so they are difficult to understand. For example, I didn't realize a defending miniature can knock down or kill its opponent when it is attacked on my first reading. The other frustrating part of the book is its constant references to supplements and other publications by the author. It tells you you can give a unit an ability like illusionist, tower shield, or music, but doesn't explain what those abilities do. This is annoying and makes the game feel unfinished.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Furies of the Barrens RPG
by sean m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2017 07:49:34

Art is really old school black and white,sets a great tone where in combination with the text really makes me want to run a game.Nice job.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Furies of the Barrens RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Advanced Song of Blades and Heroes
by Geoffrey S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2017 04:14:50

Advanced Song of Blades and Heroes is good product for wargaming with a warband, with a few flaws. For this review, I skipped playing with the rules for Magic. It is almost a 5 star review, I gave a 4 star critic to aknowledge the room for improvement.

Pros :

  • the Turn Over AND the Reaction mecanisms, which are quite good, and gives everyone a thrilling feeling of uncertainty
  • the Fight resolution system, which is simple and yet allow for many possibilities on the battlefield. It is quite easy to figure out what is going on
  • The Traits list is complete and will cover must of Fantasy Warband wargaming, though if you use too much of them, you may have some extra complexity and slow down your game

Cons :

  • a lack of polishing in the final product. Some Traits mentioned in the document are not described in it (ex : Headbutt)
  • the Cost for Traits is not mentioned in the document, yet it is available, in a separate document, and in a html warband calculator
    • the separate html calculator IS available and useful, but it mentions several traits as present in ASOBH which are not indeed

I played with a 7 years old kid, keeping only a few Traits and no Magic, and it went smoothly. We had a good play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Song of Blades and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Four Against Darkness
by Stephan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2017 17:00:36

For me, 4AD's magic is in its elegant simplicity and its tweakability.

The elegant simplicity gets and keeps the player in the game. The first few sessions will require a bit of page-flipping (and/or appropriate judgement-calling), but it nonetheless flows quickly, with neither fuss nor muss.

Tweakability: after your first couple of delves you'll be adding your own classes, creating rules for managing the party outside of the dungeon (e.g. the "party stash" and whatnot), creating your own encounter charts, and possibly even your own dungeon map generators. There's nothing in the game which hinders players in this regard, and there's enough material in the system to provide a good basis of "what's really intended to fit" within the framework.

In the long term, i suspect that 4AD will be known not so much for what it is itself, but as a catalyst which will spawn many other similar systems, each tweaked for variable levels of complexity, depth, and play styles, but ultimately having roots which lead back to this game.

One play tip: stone or aluminum tiles used for flooring and walls, preferably in the size range 2cm to 1 inch or so, can be bought cheaply in large sheets at most hardware stores and make an excellent component for this game. See this photo album for examples of 4AD play using such tiles instead of drawn-on-paper dungeons: https://goo.gl/photos/ACpGecKRRvbpx2mJ7

(Pedantic note: the backslash-escaping of quotes in this review is not from me, but is a bug in the review tool.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Flying Lead
by Paul F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2016 22:31:08

This rule set will be an excellent purchase for some gamers, but not for all.

It contains very clever ideas that build long range projectile weapons into the Song of Blades and Heroes engine beautifully.

However, Flying Lead is a tool kit you might take bits and pieces from, rather than a fully-defined game, and as a result it requires some interpretation. It works very well if one person sets up a scenario and squad lists ahead of time for a friendly, but it would never work competatively, or even in a pick-up game against a 'gamey' opponent. If you want something more clearly developed, other rule sets exist with the same scope.

This flexibility in Flying Lead, conversely, makes it well worth purchasing if you have time to tinker with it. Beyond writing scenarios with these rules alone, you can replace the shooting rules from Drums and Shakos (the nearest equivalent) with those from Flying Lead, allowing you to play American Civil War skirmishes very nicely. Doing the same with Song of Blades and Heroes allows for sci-fi games with guns and alien beasties.

Even when considering it as a tool-kit, though, Flying Lead doesn't feel as finished a product as other titles from Ganesha, as there are several ideas which are casually mentioned but never properly developed. For instance, rules for flamethrowers mention defence provided by "asbestos suit or other material with similar properties", but there are no rules or points values for such suits in the book or the 'builder' webpages (available at the Ganesha website). The 'better weapon' rules for melee combat include a long listing of weapons, but again with no further rules or points values, and in their place a reference to suppliments that never came (bar one). The inclusion of 'improvised weapons' on the list makes the enterprise seem RPG lite rather than wargame. Drums and Shakos uses the same 'better weapon' idea, but presents it less amorphously and with points values provided in its builder. Some of these loose ends could be fixed by fleshing out the Flying Lead builders, but some of it required more attention to detail or restraint of scope in writing of the book.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Flying Lead
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Four Against Darkness
by Joshua O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2016 22:09:27

I've played this game with two groups of people. We split up the four characters, use dungeon tiles instead of drawing the map, and use minis and gold coins for the money. Paizo Gamemastery Item Cards for the items. It's a blast! This is the beer and pretzels dungeon crawl miniatures dice fest I've been waiting for for years. Temple of Elemental Evil was too grueling and predictable, Descent was too heavy, D&D 4e was waaay too heavy, this is just perfect. I want to try it with non-gamers. I also want to make my own versions of the character pages and the tables, and put all the important rules on a few pieces of nicely printed cardstock to make this look like a board game. Tales of Blades and Heroes is there if you want something heavier, but when a player doesn't show up, or if you're tired, if no one wants to GM, or if you just want to play a dungeon crawl board game that lets you roleplay and has fast, fun and scary combat (I love the exploding dice!) Then this is the game to play. The published adventures are great too, I've tried Caves of the Kobold King -- you'll want variation in the random tables to keep the game fresh. I would like to make up my own random tables, then trade them with other players so we have constant surprises. For 8 bucks? This game delivers $60 worth of gameplay. Just add your own toys and make it a big box game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Caves of the Kobold Slave-Masters
by Joshua O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2016 23:51:55

UNBELIEVABLY GREAT DEAL FOR TWO BUCKS. Just played the first act cooperatively with a friend. like a classic dungeon crawl, well matched challenges, and some tense moments! PLEASE keep published adventures coming, this game is my FROSTGRAVE killer and my goto system for dungeon crawling mow, replacing all the silly board games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Caves of the Kobold Slave-Masters
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Four Against Darkness
by Ovy O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2016 22:00:23

I hope I can change this review, I just wanted to come back here after my first run and simply say this game is solo-player's dream- everything you could ask for. Progressive dungeon, simple combat, wonderful details throughout. If you are solo-player this is a must have!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Dark Waters
by Steve B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2016 11:04:36

Great addition to a great game. The structure of the module provides a fun experience. Also, the addition of a new character class and new monster/treasure tables expands upon the base game. Well worth the low price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Waters
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Four Against Darkness
by Victor F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2016 14:32:07

Four against darkness is nice, dungeon generation solo game. Fun to play it and in the meantime you can generate template dungeon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Faustus Furius
by Tom G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2016 21:02:24

I don't normally write reviews, but for this game I will. Faustus Furius is an absolute blast of a game. We are playing it with 1:72 chariots, but it could be played in many scales. We have also started building pod racers and will use the same rules.

The game is very fast-play. The rules are easily grasped, my youngest player is 8. And yet there is plenty of depth and tactical choices so that even I, the jaded gamer, don't get bored. There is an interesting twist to the basic "Songs of" dice mechanic that works well to represent fatigue as the race extends.

Cannot recommend this game highly enough. If you are interested in racing games, this is for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faustus Furius
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Four Against Darkness
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2016 08:50:24

Love this game. A nice little solo dungeon crawl experience that plays quickly once you get the hang of it. The game gives you just what you want from such an experience. You get a choice of different characters, battle against several interesting minion or boss monsters, treasure, leveling up. It even saves room for story. There are chances for side quests and events that add flavor to your adventure. There are also, at this time, three prewritten adventure modules out for the system that offer their own stories, treasure, character classes and monsters to encounter. A lot of adventure here for just a few dollars. Can't recommend it, or Ganesha Games other games, enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 58 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates