Wargame Vault
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Monster Pack 1 - Epic Isometric
by Sarah R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2018 04:39:17

This is a pretty great follow-up to the bundle. The monsters in this pack are really creative and unique yet still eclectic enough to be used in a variety of settings and systems. One minor niggle I have is that it would be much more comfortable for users if these tokens, along with the main bundle, was sold directly in the Roll20 marketplace. Overall, this is a pretty great pack and I can't wait for further releases from WarDrum.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Pack 1 - Epic Isometric
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Epic Isometric Digital tabletop core set Advanced
by Casey S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2018 15:43:33

Overall, I am very happy with this purchase. The artwork is very well done and the separate pieces mesh together very well. I use Photoshop to create custom maps and have found that it doesn't take a whole lot of time to create a nice map. My only complaint is there aren't that many props to use in tavern or city settings, which is where most of my campaigns take place for most of the time. This has stopped me from giving it a full 5 out of 5. If the author were to release just a pack of props to add some diversity, I would buy it instantly. Also, more NPC type characters would be amazing as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Epic Isometric Digital tabletop core set Advanced
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Monster Pack 1 - Epic Isometric
by BRIAN M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2018 09:26:16

I'm generally not one to write reviews, but I am inclined to make an exception here. Simply put, I am utterly and thoroughly impressed with Alex's work and am now becoming a patron going forward. The only thing that I could say that isn't necessarily glowing praise is that I wish there was more variety in terms of hero miniatures, but I would not be surprised if Alex eventually addresses that. All things being said, I cannot recommend this product or any of Alex's work highly enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Pack 1 - Epic Isometric
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Epic Isometric Bundle
by BRIAN M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2018 09:25:31

I'm generally not one to write reviews, but I am inclined to make an exception here. Simply put, I am utterly and thoroughly impressed with Alex's work and am now becoming a patron going forward. The only thing that I could say that isn't necessarily glowing praise is that I wish there was more variety in terms of hero miniatures, but I would not be surprised if Alex eventually addresses that. All things being said, I cannot recommend this product or any of Alex's work highly enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Epic Isometric Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Monster Pack 1 - Epic Isometric
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2018 08:25:04

Great expansion pack! Lots of new monsters to round out the bundle.

The trees in the jungle bonus pack are perfect for the desert oasis encounter I'm making, and the naga's will also fit in nicely for that campaign. Would love to see more desert themed map elements and monsters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Pack 1 - Epic Isometric
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks Tom, Desert oasis theme, I like it. ok I'll add it to the schedule. -Alex
Epic Isometric Bundle
by Allen D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2018 08:49:23

So I took the plunge and purchased this bundle yesterday. I am NOT disappointed! Really cool old school feel to everything. When I say old school I do not mean simple by any means! All the work is incredibly detailed. It just brings me back to my old school AD&D days.... I will be using these for Fantasy Grounds. I see myself having to make a few adjustments as some of the maps are extremely large! One is 7000 x 5000 pixels (or therabouts) and some are 4.8+ MB. For those of you that use Fantasy Grounds you will understand that is problematic. Given the maps all come with a grid (which is important as the FG grid would not be isometric), I need to keep the scale, but reduce the size of the maps. I decided I would use a screencapture program (I use snippet), to take out sections of the mega-maps to get them to say 1500 x 1500 pixels or less.

Once I have the maps the right size, the tokens can be added to NPC's (monsters), dragged to the combat tracker and then from the combat tracker to the map and they work just fine! Just lock the token scale and you are good to go! Keep in mind that some things won't work like distance. Typically if you click on an NPC an arrow will pop up showing you the distance to the target. Given there is no FG grid, distance targeting won't work (although of course you can target the NPC just like any other "flat" token type, it just want show the actual distance to the target). For me, I'm going to try these out first for a Shadow of the Demon Lord Game where distance isn't as important. I still might use them for my 5E games as well.

Anyway, I LOVE the quality of these maps and I'm anxious to play around with the tools you get in the bundle to create my own! You get a few blank maps and over 300+ props (dungeon tiles, cave tiles, buildings, etc) to create your own!

I'm really anxious to start using these and can't wait for his next product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Epic Isometric Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Epic Isometric Bundle
by Sarah R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2018 07:00:05

My first reaction when I saw this bundle in action on Roll20 was "that's not Roll20!" because everything felt entirely new. This made me think that the creator has essentially redefined the limits of graphical representation on VTTs ( Virtual Tabletops like Roll20, Fantasy Grounds or D20pro). The artwork is brilliant and maintains an authentic feel because its drawn by hand and then digitized. It takes very little effort to set it up and get it working flawlessly. The neat and crisp style makes visualizing the enviroment really easy and aesthetically pleasing, especially for new players and DMs. The best thing is the speed at which you can create encounter areas, even big ones, and have them look hand-drawn and pretty. The magic effects and the loot cards are an added bonus.

This is a must-have bundle, especially for VTT users.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Epic Isometric Bundle
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2018 17:22:55

Buy this. Everything is beautiful and easy to use. For me, at least, it made Roll20 finally worth using.

The creator also was kind enough to provide some tips in setting it up on Roll20, which I will reproduce here:

"Ok here is what I use for page setup:

  • set page size to 100 x 100 units
  • set unit size to 3ft per unit
  • Hide grid
  • I drop a blank background into the map layer, then build in the token layer, I start building in the top left and work my way down. Once I get a good layout i drop everything into the map layer. if parts appear to vanish select the background layer right click and send to back.

here is an example of it all working for you to check out https://app.roll20.net/join/2461812/SVsmRQ"



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Epic Isometric Digital tabletop core set Advanced
by David D. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2017 23:14:36

Overall, totally awesome!

I cannot say enough great stuff about these pieces! They have served as a spark, and set fire to my imagination.

-1 for learning curve. I'm relatively new to isometric dungeons, and I got this set with the hopes of using it in my Roll20 campaigns, which meet every other week. However, getting the pieces to line up in GIMP and then convert over into a map has eaten up ALL of my prep time.

A Read Me file with info on how to adapt to Roll20 would have been fantastic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Epic Isometric Digital tabletop core set Advanced
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the feedback David, I will definitely take it onboard and make some tutorial vids showing the set in use. I'm so happy you dig the set overall.
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates