Wargame Vault
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Elemental Enemies: Paper Miniatures
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2018 06:22:25

Ful disclosure: I received a sample pack of 4 miniatures from this pack for review purposes. That said, I would not be able to leave this review on DTRPG if I had not gone on to purchase the full product.

The TL;DR of this review is that Trash Mob Minis are awesome and you should be using them in your games.

Pros: Cheap; beautiful, fun artwork; print as many miniatures as you need; huge variety of enemies to choose from; easy to make.

Cons: Potentially time consuming to put together; not useful if you don’t have access to a printer.

Verdict: Highly recommended.

Elemental Enemies is the latest pack of paper miniatures at the 25-30mm scale from Trash Mob Minis, a companion pack to Ultimate Elementals that expands the lineup of elemental creatures that Trash Mobs has to offer. Where the first pack covered the standard bases, with earth, fire, water, and air elementals (plus some cool summoner miniatures), this new pack offers four different flavours of armoured elementals, cultists, cult leaders, and a new creature for each element in the form of fire dwarves, water serpents, dust devils, and gravel-duhr. Of particular interest are the water serpent and the air cult leader, which are some of Trash Mob’s signature 2.5D minis (more on that shortly).

The preview pack that I was supplied with was a stripped down sample pack that included armoured earth and water cultists, an earth myrmidon, and the 2.5D water weird. I’ve been using Trash Mobs for a while, so it’s hard to say whether that preview pack would have convinced me to buy the full set or not, but I honestly think it would have done – and that’s down to the inclusion of the 2.5D water weird.

The 2.5D models are, I think, the thing that make Trash Mobs stand out over most of the competition. The first Trash Mob mini I ever used was the displacer beast from the Dungeon Dwellers 2.5D Model Kit, and I still clearly remember the reaction from my players when that thing hit the table. The art on all the minis is clear, colourful, and stylish as hell; when all of that also has actual physical arms (or tentacles, or whatever) as well, it almost seems like it could jump off the paper it’s printed on and start devouring your players’ minis right there on the table.

Actually making these things is fairly straightforward, if a little time consuming. It took me about 45 minutes to put together the 4 minis in the sample pack I was sent (with pauses to take photos for Twitter, obviously).

these things look fantastic. The art is really evocative, and they look unlike any other minis on the market. Putting them together was also incredibly satisfying, and made me feel quite child-like in a good way. It took me back to being about 5 years old, cutting and sticking things in school, with no responsibilities and no worries. That may be an odd thing to say, but it was really nice to just sit and cut out colourful monsters for the best part of an hour.

The coloured bases also make it easy to keep track of large groups of these at the table; all Trash Mob packs come with a selection of different coloured bases, and I tend to print off a few sheets of different colours at a time so that when I’m planning a big combat I can group sets of enemies in different colours.

Honestly it’s hard to be critical of a product like this. If you use minis, you’re going to get use out of these; the only reason not to use them would be if you don’t like the art style (which I do), or if you happen to have the perfect metal or plastic mini for the monster you need. The time spent putting them together is absolutely a consideration – if your game is starting now and you realise you don’t have minis, you probably won’t have time to construct a ton of these. But it also doesn’t seem particularly fair to criticise a product for my own lack of pre-planning.

Outside of this specific pack, Trash Mobs produce a huge variety of different minis, with some unusual/less common monster choices that are really helpful for GMs who are looking to add some variety to their encounters. There are so many to choose from now that I often find myself planning games around which enemies Trash Mobs has produced rather than planning an encounter and then hunting for minis to fit afterwards. Plus, the individual packs come with a fairly large selection of miniatures – Elemental Enemies contains 16 unique minis – so one purchase could potentially fuel a couple of sessions’ worth of encounters.

If there’s one thing I’d like to see Trash Mobs do differently, it would be to take a cue from some of the other producers of paper minis. I’m thinking specifically of Printable Heroes, who offer a variety of different ‘costumes’ for their minis in interactive PDFs, allowing you to dress the same mini in different coloured armour (for example) to help differentiate large groups and introduce some additional variety to you mobs. Still, the coloured bases help a lot with identifying the minis (as already mentioned), and really this is something that would improve an already quality set of products (rather than a could do better kind of criticism).

All in all, Elemental Enemies is another solid release from Trash Mobs. 16 beautifully illustrated miniatures for $3.95 is an absolute bargain, and if you use minis at your table you should absolutely give these a go.

For more reviews head to www.loottheroom.uk



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Enemies: Paper Miniatures
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Elemental Enemies: Paper Miniatures
by Ben D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2017 13:55:13

Elemental Enemies provides 4 size Large elementals in an intereting style - These elementals have armor and weapons, which make them stand out more than your average bonefire-sized elemental. Additionally, each elemental has several Medium-sized elementals (or races using the elements). The thick black boarders around the figures gives you room to manuver while cutting them out, but some of the figures have tiny nook and crannies to get around. Thankfully, anbot half the set also have wide, round shapes that are easier to trim. I feel like this set could have used more Large bases than the standard 8 included in Trash Can Minis, but, I can always print more copies at work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Turtle Tyrants: Army Pack
by Ben D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2017 10:13:52

I picked up the Turtle Tyrants paper minis. Even with regular paper, once folded and glued, they seem sturdy enough. I think that on card stock, they'll be even better. Trash Mob Minis does good art. It's a little on the cartoony side, but, thats what I like about it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Turtle Tyrants: Army Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Goblins: Army Pack
by Anna K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2017 21:20:43

I used many of these little dudes in my most recent game. The colors are vibrant for such small tokens and the sheets come with a LOT of goblins on each page, which made printing and cutting them out much easier. They were fun to play with and the players got a kick out of the art style!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Goblins: Army Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Orcs: Army Pack
by Tim H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 16:33:23

Why have you not purchased this already? Seriously these Mini's are beyond amazing, they have huge personality and you can print and assemble as many as you want. The art is amazing, and because each mini can have its own color on the base you can tell them apart in your notes and tracking.There are even left/right variations if you need more variety - you could theoretically have 78 individually tracked orcs from the one pack!

You get Green and Blue/Grey skinned orcs in the one pack, and a great variety between them - Axe's, Bows, Spell Casters, Leaders - even some undead Orcs to round out the pain. Plus some boars to hang out as pets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orcs: Army Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Dragons: 2.5D Model Kit
by Anna K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 10:14:19

This was the first 2.5D kit I grabbed and I'm glad I did. The wings on the dragons look amazing and it brings a new look to paper minis. I'm also in love with Trash Mob's art style - the dragons are bright and creative!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragons: 2.5D Model Kit
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Prehistoric Panic: Pack 1
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2017 16:17:09

Bright and vibrant art. The live dinos are scaly and fluffy with feathers so they are historicly acurate! The zombie skins are brutal with plenty of torn flesh and even a touch of eviseration. The skeletons are reminscent of a museum displays, except if it's the necromancers museum then someones getting ate.... I love the Titan rex, not sure how often I would use it, but it looks great on my shelf, and it will probably get added to my random hook table to just ruin someone day eventualy.

If you plan on hitting Chult at any point as refferenced in the Tomb of Annihilation than you need this set. The dinosaurs look amazing at the table and will give you advantage on your immersion saves!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prehistoric Panic: Pack 1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Skeletons: Army Pack
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2017 18:34:26

Sooo many skeletons. My favorite is the skeletal giant and t-rex, though I did edit mine slightly to make those two a bit bigger and more grandious. A requirement for any necromancer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Skeletons: Army Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Orcs: Army Pack
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2017 18:30:42

Love the Trash Mobs art, the Orcs have an adorable look, which reads great on the table. Being cute hasn't saved any of them from being ruthlessly murdered by groups of murder hobos though. Poor dead orcs. At least there is also a design for a skeleton orc for that inevitibility.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orcs: Army Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Bone Thrower: Model Kit
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2017 18:13:29

Colorful and detailed art along with a cool 2.5D design. Really spices up my undead army while giving them some extra fire power. If you print extra arrows the front hooks on the balista work great for holding them - that way you can grab one and set it to where it was shot to. Highly recomended for anyone who wants awesome undead.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bone Thrower: Model Kit
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Prehistoric Panic: Pack 1
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2017 16:31:01

I'm the world's most biased reviewer, because I love Trash Mob Minis and I'll pretty much buy anything they release. There's no denying that the artwork is incredible, and the reaction from your players when you drop any of these minis on the table is always amazing. And feathery undead dinosaurs are just plain awesome.

Buy it. It's less than a cup of coffee. Plan your next game around it.

Trash mobs are love. Trash mobs are life.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prehistoric Panic: Pack 1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Prehistoric Panic: Pack 1
by Steve N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2017 00:14:08

Once again you've batted it outta the park. We never know what you are going to do next and we are always pleasantly surprised! I actually don't have a fantasy use for this set but I have two pulp era adventures that I needed dinos for. Living ones for a mysterious valley deep in Africa, and skeletal ones for a natural history museum. These guys really stand out and are characters unto themselves. Great poses, great colors.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes: Pack 3
by Steve N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2017 23:22:53

I really love these figures! The artwork is whimsical and wonderful and the selection of characters unique. I notice that there are duplicates of the figures but they are mirror images, so any of you out there wanting to play "lefties" can do so!

(I think I'll make a group of left-handed cultists!)

Steve



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes: Pack 3
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Random Encounters: Pack 1
by Anna K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2017 11:51:27

These minis (and the Heroes Pack 1) were a huge hit with my players. The BBEGs are scaled perfectly and truly give an imposing presence on the battle map - even if they are cute and colorful!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Random Encounters: Pack 1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Big Trouble: Theme Pack
by Patrick E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2017 12:32:22

These guys are awesome and evocative. First time I dropped the oni and the ogre on my party they gulped. Support this great artist and you'll be rewarded, guys!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Trouble: Theme Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 50 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates